We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“look forward to coming back again” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Flint in the Vines

Flint in the Vines
at Shaw Vineyard Estate | 34 Isabel Drive, Murrumbateman, New South Wales 2582, Australia
02 62275144
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: European, Winery
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Flint in the Vines is a vineyard restaurant provides more than just a dining experience. There's outdoor movies, live theatre, live music as well as our casual dining. Outdoor dining on the beautiful terraces in summer or open fire places in the winter. There's space for group bookings and weddings or a special event. Flint resides in Canberra Wine country, just 30 minutes out of town. It provides a quick getaway, a destination, and an opportunity to explore the wine region.
Canberra
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“look forward to coming back again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Have been to this lovely restaurant a couple of times and definitely will come back again. Excellent service, beautiful food, nice atmosphere. Menu is being updated regularly and it always has exciting dishes to choose. Definitely would reccomend the restaurant.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vines f, Owner at Flint in the Vines, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Hi AustralianPeople,

thank you for letting us know that you have had multiple enjoyable experiences at our venue. We do get it right, not always, but we do try! We love receiving positive feedback, it means a lot to us and our young local team of staff.

Thank you and we look forward to the next time you visit us

Flint in the Vines Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    38
    16
    12
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Murrumbateman, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“How lucky are we to have Flint so close!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

We love Flint.
The managers are amazing with their welcoming professional manner.
So lucky to have such a top class restaurant so close to home.
Always updating and varying the menus and functions on offer.Fab,love it!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vines f, Owner at Flint in the Vines, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
HI Jennifer D

Thank you for your kind and reassuring words. We work hard as a small family business to keep it real and personal to the best of our abilities. It is wonderful to know that it doesn't go un-noticed and that you have had an enjoyable dining experience with us.

Look forward to the next time you come by. Perhaps you should pop in for one of our summer moonlight movie nights, they are great fun!

Flint in the Vines Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
325 reviews 325 reviews
247 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 122 cities Reviews in 122 cities
171 helpful votes 171 helpful votes
“Excellent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

There weren't many lunch options in Murrumbateman on December 28 and luckily we were able to get into Flint In The Vines. The place was packed inside as well as on the patio. The servers were very busy but friendly and efficient. Everything we had was great - the mushroom tartin ($16), confit duck maryland ($33), and two pizzas - pear and gorgonzola and pulled chicken ($18). Gluten free pizza is available. The bottle of Baby Doll Pinot Noir ($39) went down well. The winery cellar door adjoins the restaurant and they have an amazing range of Italian pottery.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vines f, Owner at Flint in the Vines, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Hi Travelling Tex

thank you so much for your kind words. That time of the year is particularly busy for us as there are many passer-bys in the region so come without bookings. We are excited to hear that your experience was as it should be.

We look forward to welcoming you on your next visit

Flint in the Vines Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Lovely Christmas lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

This was a lovely venue to spend Christmas. It was not too crowded, the service was good, and the food was excellent. Our party of eight included many different personalities with varied tastes, but we all enjoyed it. The five course lunch started with a tasty ham and cranberry canape followed by a delicious seafood platter entree, which included the best oyster I have ever tasted - the accompanying sorbet was devine. The traditional turkey main course with vegetables was a generous portion and enjoyable. A creamy brie then paved the way for lush Christmas pudding and yummy homemade ice-cream. A sweet homemade chocolate finished the occasion. Accompanied by champagne and cherries, this was a very nice luncheon. Our waiters were friendly and efficient. Catering for a full house on a day like Christmas can't be easy, but Flint in the Vines did a terrific job. High compliments to the chef and everyone else involved. I would quite happily go back to experience a 'normal' lunch there. Thank you.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vines f, Manager at Flint in the Vines, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
HI Katie N

Thanks so much for your positive feedback. It was a challenging day but we are pleased to say that everybody seemed to enjoy our Christmas Lunch very much.

I will share the great news of your positive experience with our front of house and kitchen team. It's a great way to boost their morale in an ever challenging industry!

Thanks again, we love to hear the good times had a Flint.

The Flint in the Vines Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Rude and no service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

After being advised when booking that a table on the terrace would be sheltered and the best option, on arrival we were shown to a table in full sun and very windy. When we asked if there was any chance of being moved we were laughed at by the male front of house and the female front of house said we cannot control the weather. We were then offered an alternative table that was even more exposed. Consequently we decided to leave and explained why. However no one seemed the slightest bit concerned. It is a surprise to me that a restaurant that treats customers in this way survives in business.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vines f, Manager at Flint in the Vines, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Hello Phillip W

Thank you for taking the time to report on your experience at Flint in the Vines.

I am sincerely sorry for your experience at our restaurant. On the day that you booked we were fully booked out inside the dining room and at capacity for the outdoor terrace. The terrace is usually sheltered except in the case of a westerly wind. On that day the wind had picked up considerably from when we set up the terrace in the morning to when lunch service begun. Unfortunately, the weather is out of our control, and if we have no other tables available then we are restricted in the alternatives we can offer you.

That is no excuse for the lack of compassion that we provided on the day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Flint in the Vines also viewed

Murrumbateman, New South Wales
 
Murrumbateman, New South Wales
Gundaroo, New South Wales
 

Been to Flint in the Vines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Flint in the Vines, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.