We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous time” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Jubilee Arms Hotel

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Dykehead
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Royal Jubilee Arms Hotel
Save Saved
You added Royal Jubilee Arms Hotel to your Saves list
Dykehead DD8 4QN, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dykehead
Leeds
1 review
“Fabulous time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2008

Had a fabulous time Friday to Monday. We booked with National Express and knew it wouldn't be a palace when told it was due for a total refurb. We stayed in the main hotel which was a bonus. Because of poor weather we had to amend the first day trip and go to Perth instead. The 2nd day of the holiday when we got to our destination there was a power cut in the village and everything was closed so the driver took us to a shoppingo outlet instead. HOWEVER - the food, staff and atmosphere made up for everything and the 8 of us had a fabulous time (largely due to Simon - lovely entertainer).
Hope the refurb goes well and doesn't spoil the atmosphere.

  • Liked — Nice bathroom
  • Disliked — Shabby
  • Stayed November 2008
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    2
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
2
5
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2008

We had read the terrible reviews on this hotel and when we arrived on our National Holiday tour , we were pleasantly surprised. The hotel is not the Ritz and yes the place could do with a little refurbishment. However, the food was excellent and the staff were very helpful and pleasant. The entertainer was an X Factor boot camp finalist and he put his heart and soul into ensuring we had a great time. If you take into account what we paid and then what the hotel actually make from the deal, it is exceptionally good value.
The rooms are clean and quiet and the owner is very proud of what he achives on the limited budget.

  • Liked — Staff and owner very friendly
  • Disliked — Could do with a refurb
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
durham
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2008

We have just returned from a National Holidays weekend break at the Royal Jubilee Arms Hotel and it was a fantastic weekend.
The food was excellent and the entertainment was also excellent . Simon who entertained us was exceptional and has a wonderful voice and should of still been on X Factor ! The staff were pleasant and very helpful , the locals using the premises were very freindly as was the owner, nothing was too much much trouble.
The hotel isn't the Ritz but as a budget hotel it is much better than some we have been in. The hotel is being refurbished in the New Year.

As a last word can we just say,
MORE TOAST SIMON!!!!!!!

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2008

We have just returned from a weekend at the Royal Jubilee Arms Hotel, Dykehead

experienced such incredible service, hotel could do with a update but did not spoile my stay at all . We were informed of a refurbisment next year..
i had a great time ,entertainment was great . food was good owner very plesent love the dog , staff was friendly and accomodating to customers requirements .. i travelled with national hoildays .. every pennie it cost was worth the trip .. i would go again ... i stayed on the 29th of august 2008

  • Liked — The staff
  • Disliked — Too hot in the rooms
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2008

We have just returned from a 3 day break at this hotel. I had already read the reviews about the hotel so didn't expect too much when we arrived. As you can see the hotel is being refurbished in January but we found the rooms clean and the staff were the friendliest I have found in a hotel. The food was excellent. From arriving at the hotel we were greeted with coffee and there was no queuing for keys etc, they were in the doors and the manager came round and gave you your room nos whilst having coffee. As for the entertainment it was second to none. Fabulous singer and all round entertainer. He also gave up his own time to come with us on a day trip as the driver didn't know the area. If you are going for Christmas and New Year all we can say is that the staff will go out of their way so you'll have a fab time. All we can say is well done, and good luck when the hotel re-opens. Jean,Terry,Brian,Audrey.

  • Liked — staff
  • Disliked — looks a bit dated but is being refurbished so its unfair to comment.
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2008

I have just got back off holiday from this hotel and can i just say to fellow travellers that dont take any notice of the last few reviews,because i found this hotel to be a warm friendly enviroment we were made to feel like part of the hotel family nothing was ever to much trouble,the food was excellent the evening entertainment who was a man called simon was the best i have ever seen and the hotel owner dean made us very welcome and he looked after me and my wifes every need as we are oaps and can be very fussy but nothing was to much trouble,the room we stayed in was clean and presentable after reading the comments on this page before going on our break me and my wife were quite nervous but can i say never listen to other peoples comments go and look for yourself,this is the best value for money break i have been on and i will be putting this hotel forward to my family and friends as a good holiday to get away and enjoy yourselves.many thanks

  • Liked — Cleanliness
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2008

Went on a coach tour with National holidays staying 4 nights at this hotel. We were in the Annexe, the carpet was supposed to be yellow but so dirty, the stair carpet was worn and threadbare on steps (an accident waiting to happen) The room and en-suite were dirty, carpet in the room had fluff and dust all over. bed linen stained and beds not made one day. Smoke alarm bleeped all night on the wednesday. Breakfast was good but the evening meals leave a lot to be desired, cottage pie was best meal of the week. The hotel is 5/6 miles away from the first main road and about an extra 3 miles to the nearest village, so nowhere to escape to. We were told that the hotel is closing in Jan 09. It should be closed down now!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Stayed July 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Royal Jubilee Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Jubilee Arms Hotel

Address: Dykehead DD8 4QN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Angus > Dykehead
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dykehead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 26
Also Known As:
Royal Jubilee Arms Dykehead

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Jubilee Arms Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.