We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“value for money” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Jubilee Arms Hotel

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Dykehead
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Royal Jubilee Arms Hotel
Save
You added Royal Jubilee Arms Hotel to your Saves list
Dykehead DD8 4QN, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dykehead
York
1 review
“value for money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2008

I have just got back off holiday from this hotel and can i just say to fellow travellers that dont take any notice of the last few reviews,because i found this hotel to be a warm friendly enviroment we were made to feel like part of the hotel family nothing was ever to much trouble,the food was excellent the evening entertainment who was a man called simon was the best i have ever seen and the hotel owner dean made us very welcome and he looked after me and my wifes every need as we are oaps and can be very fussy but nothing was to much trouble,the room we stayed in was clean and presentable after reading the comments on this page before going on our break me and my wife were quite nervous but can i say never listen to other peoples comments go and look for yourself,this is the best value for money break i have been on and i will be putting this hotel forward to my family and friends as a good holiday to get away and enjoy yourselves.many thanks

  • Liked — Cleanliness
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    2
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
2
5
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West Yorkshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2008

Went on a coach tour with National holidays staying 4 nights at this hotel. We were in the Annexe, the carpet was supposed to be yellow but so dirty, the stair carpet was worn and threadbare on steps (an accident waiting to happen) The room and en-suite were dirty, carpet in the room had fluff and dust all over. bed linen stained and beds not made one day. Smoke alarm bleeped all night on the wednesday. Breakfast was good but the evening meals leave a lot to be desired, cottage pie was best meal of the week. The hotel is 5/6 miles away from the first main road and about an extra 3 miles to the nearest village, so nowhere to escape to. We were told that the hotel is closing in Jan 09. It should be closed down now!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Stayed July 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2008

When we pulled up outside the hotel my first reaction was 'What a dump. We were met by the very friendly and helpful hotel staff and invited in for a coffee. My second thought was 'Appearances can be deceiving'. We then received our room number and the third thought was 'Oh I want to go home'. The beds and towels were clean although the bedding was outdated and past there best. More like a very down market B&B. Anyway we ended up with a very enjoyable visit, good company, excellent food and entertainment as well. We were informed that this was the last season of the hotel being as it was as it will close for refurbishment in the new year. Value for money excellent. Staff excellent. Food excellent. Once the refurbishments are completed this would be a loverly relaxing place to stay, although you would need to either go with an organised tour or with your own transport as there is nothing else but a few houses in the vacinity.

  • Liked — Food and Free bar
  • Disliked — Rooms in need or total refurbishment, although clean very shabby
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hull
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2008

Myself and my husband have just spent a long weekend at the Royal Jubilee for our ninth wedding anniversay and we would just like to say that it was the best anniversay getaway in which we have ever been on. We was lucky enough to go on one of the Jubilee Arms/National Holidays all inclusive deals and what can we say, talk about value for money. Our every need was catered for from the moment we arrived at the hotel we were greeted with a warm reception from all staff and even his lovely dog. The resteraunt and food to high standard and enjoyable and the rooms were comfortable, but for myself and my husband we really enjoyed the high level of effort put in by the entertainment staff not only in the evening but throughout our entire stay. We would also like to add that this hotel and staff can accomidate toany age group as we travelled with an older generation {we are in our late twenties} and we did not belive that there were any complaints from our party throughout our entire stay. We definatly enjoyed our ninth anniversary and hope to return for our tenth. Thank you Dean and Simon and all your staff.

Erika and Chris Preston.

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2007

l am determined to write a fair review of this hotel as l sometimes think reviewers are just too fussy/critical.
This was planned as a short break to get away from the upheaval of a new bathroom being fitted at home, but the bathroom at this place was barely useable....no bath,an off-white gloss painted toilet and a rusty-edged metal shower cubicle!
Hot water was only available when no one else was using it so needless to say we just made the best of it!
The TV was ancient, no remote,4 channels and poor picture quality.
The carpets were dirty and the room foisty but, l will say, the beds were clean and the room as warm as you chose to make it.
The disappointment of realising we were assigned to a "cosy" part of the hotel dawned when we were sent out of the hotel...in the dark and drizzle.....across the carpark to a chalet affair with 10/15 of the hotels 26 rooms!
The entrance to it had a large filthy doormat and then a dirty,jaded yellowy carpet along it's hallway.
Getting back to the hotel's main building for dinner was a challenge on the dark,uneven,icy carpark.
However, the restaurant was attractive, the food ample and very good and of a reasonable standard and the staff friendly too.
All the furnishings were a bit dated but the owner endeavoured to make everyone welcome, as did his dog!
The evening entertainer pleased most people and advised "easily offended people" not to stay for the cabaret after a quiz and bingo.
Not really a place to return to as it is so off the beaten track to be worth the effort, but may have proved more attractive in better weather and lighter evenings.

  • Liked — The Restaurant
  • Disliked — The ambience
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Royal Jubilee Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Jubilee Arms Hotel

Address: Dykehead DD8 4QN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Angus > Dykehead
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dykehead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 26
Also Known As:
Royal Jubilee Arms Dykehead

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Jubilee Arms Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.