We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular spot” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Solscape

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Solscape to your Saves list
Solscape
611 Wainui Road, Raglan 3297, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Auckland, New Zealand
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Spectacular spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We had a far-too-brief stay at Solscape that left us wanting more.

We stayed in the Overlander, a 17 metre rail carriage converted into a ridiculously cute self-contained cabin. It had everything needed with a few nice little touches, such as the selection of teas offered. The shower was hot and strong, always a bonus in my books, and the bed was very comfortable.

We arrived late at night and found that the nice Solscape people had left the lights on for us, and even put the heater on to warm it through – a nice touch. An early check-out the next day for our caving adventure with Raglan Rock meant that our stay was short, but ticked all the boxes for what we wanted in our accommodation. And the view from Solscape back over Raglan is quite spectacular.

Only downsides - shower was a bit smelly and the birds nesting in the roof woke me up early.But totally in keeping with the quaint nature of staying in a railway carriage.

Would love to go back to Solscape again for a longer stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    39
    9
    9
    5
See reviews for
6
48
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Very low-fi, friendly place with loads of character. My kids were very excited about staying in a converted train carriage and I have to say the reality did live up to their expectation. The service was excellent, very reasonable rates and the kids were 100% welcome - something you don't get everywhere. We brought sleeping bags and were warm enough in July and enjoyed the well-set up communal kitchen and dining area. Not flash but makes for an excellent weekend or holiday escape for the family.

P.S. If it's wet, bring gumboots or hiking boots for the walk to the Tipi area or the beach.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for two wonderful nights. We stayed in the Earth Dome which was awesome, and the summer house. The Earth Dome was so unique and perfect for sleeping, but if you want your own bathroom- go for the summer house. It is SO CUTE and has everything you need.

The whole vision of Solscape is beautiful and I highly recommend staying there, just for the experience. The grounds have breathtaking views of the ocean, and the staff is all very friendly.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

What a place! We arrived for 4 nights, extended our stay to 2 weeks and then ended up WWOOFING here for another 3 weeks. Its in the most beautiful setting with views down to Manu Bay and the beach for a real eyeball surf report. The grounds are lovely and extensive, with chickens and veggie patches all over the place. The 'station house' is great with a lovely log burner to keep you warm. Cabooses (old train carriages) are pretty novel to stay in, and there are plenty of blankets and hot water bottles available if you get cold. Everyone that works here is super friendly. Yoga classes are amazing. The place seems to attract a lot of like minded people, who want to surf and relax so its got a great atmosphere. No parties or obnoxious people. Stay here, its amazing.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jyvaskyla, Finland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Solscape is located on a beautiful hill and you can see the ocean from there. Rooms are scattered around the garden. We slept in an old train, it was lovely. Bad thing about the rooms is that there is no bathroom. Common bathroom is ok though. You can also sleep in a tipi! They have friendly staff and you can buy surfing lessons straight from the hostel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We stayed in the Tipi's for 2 nights. It was wonderful! There are a few tipis scattered around a clearing, most of them are nestled a little into the bush so they are fairly private. Perfect for some quiet time away. The facilities are open-air and basic, but clean and quirky! The pizza oven was great.
The first night at Solscape we camped at the tipi retreat - and weren't entirely prepared for it! The retreat is a 10 minute walk away from the main Solscape grounds, and you need to carry everything in. Would be fine if you were just staying in your tipis, but carrying all our camping gear in was a bit tricky. I would recommend just staying at the main Solscape camping ground if you were wanting to tent!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We spent a child-free Saturday night recently at Solscape in Raglan. The people were great and we loved the location. We stayed in the 'Ivy Cottage'. The bed was great but the rest of the cottage was very ramshackle. We were suitably prepared (they specify on the website it's not flash) and all was OK; the only slightly disconcerting thing was the rustling/scurrying noise during the night (from the roof? the ivy outside? Not sure.. but sounded like vermin of some kind).
That aside, we would definitely recommend Solscape and will stay there again, but maybe not in the Ivy cottage.
We ate dinner there (vege pizza - yum). Service was a little slow but we were OK with that. The breakfast the following morning was delicious and I can't wait to go back and have it again.

Room Tip: Maybe try the earth dome or one of the baches - Ivy Cottage is quite run down, great views but would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SolscapeEcoRetreat, Front Office Manager at Solscape, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Thank you for your honest review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Solscape? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solscape

Address: 611 Wainui Road, Raglan 3297, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Raglan
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Raglan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique budget accommodation for the travelling surfer, backpacker, family or large group. This hostel is situated in Raglan on New Zealand's beautiful west coast, 2 hours south of Auckland and overlooking the world famous surf break Manu Bay and Ocean Beach with magnificent views. With a focus on environmental sustainability, the YHA Raglan hostel has backpacker accommodation in a recycled Railway Carriage or 'off the grid' eco-living in a Tipi Retreat or contemporary Eco Baches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers so you can book your Solscape reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Solscape Hotel Raglan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Solscape, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.