We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab eggs benedict” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Shack

The Shack
19 Bow Street, Raglan, New Zealand
+64 7-825 0027
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 14 Restaurants in Raglan
Cuisines: Pacific Rim
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Description: Cafe Restaurant open 7 days, excellent food and table service.
Surbiton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Fab eggs benedict”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

Cute quirky cafe with modern interior. Eggs Benedict is delicious and well priced - as are the counter cakes and muffins!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    46
    3
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Auckland New Zealand
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Best tapas outside the Basque Country”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

We were fortunate in having been advised to try The Shack for our Raglan getaway weekend and were we delighted we did! The coffee and brunch of eggs, mushrooms and tomatoes was excellent but it was the tapas for dinner that really impressed. Try the calamari, the blackened cauliflower, the salmon, the barley risotto, the pork belly, the Brussels sprouts - they were all superbly cooked with interesting, varied and both subtle and robust flavors depending on the dish. The desserts of deconstructed Eton mess and ginger steamed pudding were just right to finish (2 desserts, four spoons...) and the wine list is just right. The French chef was on that night, the waitstaff were French and Czech and so very charming and competent. The décor is rustic (burlap upholstery) but the food is as good as the best cafés in Auckland.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
Top Contributor
276 reviews 276 reviews
152 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
“Good for breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

As the tripadvisor no.1 in Ragland, I was expecting excellent coffee.. The coffee is good, organic like much of the menu which is a plus ! It's a nice, warm place to hang out in a handy spot in town. The menu offers a good selection promising lots of taste. Although my toast was underdone, the citris curd was yummy. Prices are reasonable.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havelock North, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Did we ever luck out??”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

When a group of us were recently staying in Raglan for three days to sample the Field Days at Mystery Creek, we decided to venture out one night and see what Raglan had to offer in the way of culinary delights and wine to match. Did we ever luck out?? We had thought of going to the old hotel over the road but after looking at the menu decided that was not to our taste. So we skipped over the road and I happened to see an old friend at "The Shack", so in we went and she recommended the food, so we made a booking and returned at the appointed hour. Fantastic, fantastic, fantastic on every level. Superb imaginative tapas food, great wine at good prices, really good service and buzzy busy atmosphere. Couldn't fault anything. Turned out that owner, who doesn't normally "man the pans" in the kitchen had decided to take the helm for a change and we were so lucky to be there. Thanks Shack Crew - you were/are the best!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orangeville, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great Eats!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

The restaurant was a little pricy, but it was expected at a sit down restaurant. The service and atmosphere was awesome though. I got the seafood soup and it was outstanding! For dessert I got the vanilla bean sundae, which was possibly the best sundae I've had in a long time. Defiantly stop here for some grub if you're in Raglan!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Shack also viewed

Raglan, Waikato Region
Raglan, Waikato Region
 

Been to The Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Shack, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.