We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Raglan Farmstay

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Raglan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Raglan Farmstay
Save
You added Raglan Farmstay to your Saves list
Te Whare Farm, 39 Main Rd, Raglan 3225, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Northumberland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Paradise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

This was simply the best place to stay. Spotless; relaxed and friendly; fabulous setting; gorgeous, quirky decor; helpful staff; delicious breakfasts around the kitchen table; hot hot tub; quiet, comfortable rooms and cabins.. Raglan itself is a little gem of a town. This was my first time in NZ, and the first place I stayed. I thought I'd come to paradise. Nothing bettered it during the rest of my holiday. Thank you soooo much!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    11
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
7
22
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
California
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

This b&b has a terrific deck overlooking the water, friendly and interesting folks coming through and comfortable beds. However, the farmhouse could be kept a bit tidier, as mosquitos and large bugs could be found in all corners. Simply adding window screens would be a big help. Doors could also be oiled (some are quite creeky) and the hottub could be made a bit hotter, but on the whole it's a good place to stay. 11am checkout is also not so great.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RaglanFarmstay, Owner at Raglan Farmstay, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Sorry about the bugs but with a view like the one we have here I don' think Ill be putting on window screens, and Im also not so into spraying crazy chemicals all around my house either, we use a combination of natural products and candles, sorry again that we did not give you the perfect stay which is my aim for every guest. 11am is the latest I can have check out so I have time to change and clean the rooms before new guests start arriving at 2pm, however guests are always more than welcome to leave there bags in the office during the day while they explore raglan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2012

A very nice stay - loved the deck and the view over the valley, could just sit there forever. Loved the farmstay owners' efforts to keep it really eco and sustainable - plums and other garden fruit were great. Good location, handy to everything, overall highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2012 via mobile

Te Whare is a gem of a place to stay! Situated on the hill at the top of Raglan right where you enter town, about an eight minute walk from cute little downtown Raglan, it overlooks Raglan Harbour and has a magnificent view of Mt. Karioi. There is a large outdoor deck complete with a hot tub and the aforementioned glorious view. There are some nicely appointed cabins on the grounds and the house itself is a lovely farmhouse which has been very tastefully renovated with attention to detail. The beds and bedding are absolutely fantastic! All organic cotton and supremely comfortable. The service is extremely attentive yet casual and very friendly. We only payed $110 for a family of three with a great home cooked breakfast and organic coffee. No downside whatsoever. I couldn't recommend this place any higher!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RaglanFarmstay, Owner at Raglan Farmstay, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Thanks for the detailed review, I really like your line 'The service is extremely attentive yet casual and very friendly' Thanks for the nice personal comment, looking forward to seeing you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2012

We found our Raglan Farmstay to be a brilliant place to spend the evening , the rooms were tidy and tastefully decorated and we had one of the best nights sleep in a long time. The whole place has a beautiful laid back charm and the owners went out of their way to our stay perfect, just to sit on the balcony and watch the sun set over the mountain was awesome. We had access to all the kitchen facilities for dinner and breakfast was set up for us with many choices to be had.Be sure to check out the whole town as it is a beautiful spot with many activities to choice from. We will go back to Raglan and will stay at Farmstay again in the future .. many thanks..

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Raglan Farmstay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raglan Farmstay

Address: Te Whare Farm, 39 Main Rd, Raglan 3225, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Raglan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Raglan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Raglan Farmhouse offers unique accommodation in the relaxed environment of Te Whare Farm, within walking distance of Raglan township, directly in front of the 50km sign as you arrive. Amazing harbour views await you, where the massive out door living area gives you a picture perfect view of the sun setting across the estuary and behind Mt Karioi. Te Whare Farm is a tolerent and creative place, where we invite people from all walks of life to share and enjoy this piece of paradise with us, Sexism Racism or Homophobia will not be tolerated here ! There is space to retreat in our sheltered garden of old fruit trees or socialize with other guests in our family style living areas, where you can cook up a feed on the BBQ followed by a soak in the 8 person hot tub, all while watching the sun set. Raglan Farmstay is also available to be rented entirely for groups and private functions. Te Whare Farm is not really suitable for young children.Unless you have rented the entire location for the exclusive use of your group. However the Flax Cove Cottage is suitable for children if parents agree to full supervision and responsibility. None of our other rooms up at the main Farmhouse are suitable for young children. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Raglan Farmstay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.