We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice guesthouse in interesting area” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Vieux Relais

Save Saved
You added Le Vieux Relais to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Le Vieux Relais
1 Rue de l'Etang | Aude, 11700 Pepieux, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Pepieux B&B and Inns
London UK
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Nice guesthouse in interesting area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Valerie and Michael are excellent hosts. Their 18th century former coach house has been well restored and our room was comfortable and spacious. They are well informed about the local area and were able to make good suggestions even for a rainy day! This was an area we had not visited before and will certainly consider returning to see all the things we had missed. Hopefully, Valerie's lemon drizzle cake will be as good as her Dutch apple cake!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    55
    6
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
49
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We stayed here for three nights in October. Val and Mike normally would have closed the pool but kept it open knowing my son would have liked to swim. That was lovely. We ended up not swimming,... We had in our previous B&B near Uzes but the weather was a touch colder here. Val had recently had a knee operation and this didn't stop her continuing to work hard to provide great service. Thankyou for the load of washing - it is not normally something that is offered we know. Like some of the other reviewers I find the lack of front door key disconcerting and the security system that means that Val and Mike know where you are in the public araes of the house To Val and Mike they prefer to welcome guests as they return and they will see this as providing a high level of aervice - and it does. but it was different to our French Chambre D'Hote experiences and possibly more English but I felt a little watched. There is a balance here I appreciate and I understand Val and Mike's view. They are very professional hosts.

Their knowledge of the area is good and they referred us to a great boat ride on Canal du Midi that we would not have found without them. Unfortunately the colder weather affected my impression of the area and in retrospect we should have stayed just one night in Carcassone, ticked it off the list and moved to Villefranche de Conflent for ore time. This is not a reflection on this B&B. The village itself has no particular charm but it's not ugly. We knew that also when we booked...I had searched for ages for a value for money B&B with availability and family space close to . At the time I was looking i found this area particularly expensive compared to some other areas we stayed. I found the prices here reasonable.

I haven't mentioned the room. We had the two roomed upstairs family room and it was perfect. The bathroom is in between the two rooms but we knew that when we booked. A separate room allowed our soon to have a good sleep which makes for a pleasant day for everyone. The rooms are spacious. We did not find the church bells annoying...they don't go all night...and this IS France. Breakfasts are great and we enjoyed our evening meal on the first night.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Le Vieux Relais is a beautiful house located in the heart of the languedoc wine region.It is owned by an English couple who were very welcoming and catered for our every need. The rooms were big and spacious with very nice decor. We also had the option of an evening meal which was served in the enclosed walled garden and was very relaxing and delicious. They have a great knowledge of the area and their recommendations re places of interest, wine chateaux and restaurants to visit were invaluable. The nearby lake is an excellent amenity for swimming, sunbathing and windsurfing. We were very impressed with the guest house and the area and will definitely be making a return visit.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

We stayed here in Aug 2012 for 2 weeks with our 5-year-old and 19-month-old. We had such an amazing time. Everyday, we did something different. Somedays we went back and did the same thing because, we enjoyed it so much, like cycling along Canal du Midi. Val and Mike were so helpful, I really think that we couldn't have had as much fun if it weren't for them. For example, when we went cycling, Val called the bike shop ahead of time so, the bikes were ready for us when we got there. She told us which way to go from the bike shop so that we'll be cycling under the trees in the shade and where to find a playground. These were valuable information to us because, neither of us speak French and the woman who runs the bike shop doesn't speak any English. and it always helps to be well prepared when traveling with young children. We went to 3 different lakes nearby and a beach near Bezier which was about an hour away. Val and Mike packed a picnic for us which was tasty and convenient.
We stayed in the big suite downstairs which was perfect for us. It fit the 4 of us comfortably with lots of space leftover. Our kids loved splashing in the pool with the giant inflatable turtle and Orca. It was so nice to come back to a clean and comfortable room after a fun filled day.
It was also nice to have dinner with Val and Mike and the other guests. Mike's lamb and Val's tarte tatin are to die for!!
Traveling with young children are never easy, but Val and Mike made it a lot easier for us. They were wonderful with out kids. So much so that our 5-year-old still asks about them. They really care about helping the guests have a wonderful holiday. I would recommend this B&B to any family.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012 via mobile

A warm welcome and a very authentic and personal approach to hospitality. We spent a very enjoyable evening having a delicious dinner with Val and Mike. They have converted the Relais with quiet style which has preserved the character of the old house, but provides excellent comfort. We loved the terra cotta (and C19th painted) floor tiles; Mike's sparkling conversation at breakfast; Val's delicious lemon drizzle cake with afternoon tea, eaten in the garden; the excellent recommendations for restaurant dinners; and their relaxed friendliness and care for their guests. Thank you both!

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Four of us, two couples, have recently returned from a week's holiday at Le Vieux Relais. The owners, Val and Mike Slowther, hail from the UK and set up this Chambre d'Hotes in the Languedoc some seven years ago, really putting their heart and soul into running the place.

Although there are five rooms available, we happened to be the only guests for this particular week but we had an opportunity to look into all the rooms. They are all good-sized rooms with equally large en-suite bathrooms and the beds were very comfortable. There was also plenty of hot water.

Val and Mike are accomplished cooks and offer evening meals on a regular basis to their guests. Apart from the excellent food, they were very adept at meeting our particular dietary requirements and personal tastes and, what with pre-prandial drinks in their pretty courtyard and the meal in their loggia, the four times we ate with them were amongst the highlights of our stay. We really felt that we were more than house guests.

There is also a small swimming pool and loungers to enjoy after a day's touring.

Amongst other things, we selected Le Vieux Relais as our base because Pepieux is reasonably central for touring round the Languedoc, being around one to one and half hours' driving time from the main cities, Carcassonne, Narbonne, Beziers, Perpignan and others. Val and Mike were very helpful regarding routes, restaurants and other tips, such as the best place to get the cheapest fuel. We also spent a day at the beach at Narbonne Plage, about 45 minutes away, and they provided us with chairs and a parasol for the day.

We would highly recommend Le Vieux Relais - you shouldn't be disappointed - and we would not hesitate to stay there again if we returned to the region.

Lewis and Sheila Osborne
Bill and Geraldine Gardner

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We were so impressed with every aspect of our weeks stay at Le Vieux Relais.The room was very spacious and spotlessly clean and a dip in the pool was very welcome after a days sightseeing. Val and Mike couldn't do enough to ensure that we got the most from our holiday, whether it was providing information about places to visit or ensuring we got the very best food and service available in the area. This enabled us to relax totally and enjoy the beautiful countryside in this lovely part of France.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Le Vieux Relais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Vieux Relais

Address: 1 Rue de l'Etang | Aude, 11700 Pepieux, France
Location: France > Languedoc-Roussillon > Aude > Pepieux
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Pepieux
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Vieux Relais as seen from the village square. In the 18th century Le Vieux Relais was a coaching station situated on the corner of the village square. Today it is a well situated relaxing oasis that affords a unique insight into French village life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Le Vieux Relais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Vieux Relais, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.