We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Miniscule Portions” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Old Mill

The Old Mill
London Road, Berkhamsted HP4 2NB, England
01442879590
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Old Mill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #26 of 52 Restaurants in Berkhamsted
Price range: $0 - $51
Cuisines: European, British, Pub, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Doing business, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Miniscule Portions”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

A group of colleagues and I had dinner at The Old Mill recently. The menu choices and service levels were the same very high standards as usual but the portion sizes were tiny !! Several of us ate from the specials menu and the portions were more like starters or children's meals. Such a shame as I recommended the venue and several of my colleagues said they would not rebook

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    91
    59
    49
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Overpriced and terrible service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

We used to come here frequently before children and never had a bad experience. On a rare night off, we arrived to find the bar staff a pleasure as always and decided to stay for dinner. The menu was extremely limited. Apart from our starter (which was a sharing platter for two) the rest of the courses didn't arrive at the same time all night.
The wine tasted as if it had been open for days. The risotto had so much salt in, I actually downed a drink and couldn't finish it. The steak was supposed to be medium-well and at best was rare and cold. The desert was burnt and my husbands didn't even arrive. We spent most of the evening eating at different times. The waitresses spent most of the time larking around with the kitchen. The manager spent most of her time avoiding eye contact with us and didn't even apologise. Poor service, poor quality and poor value for money.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Overpriced & under fed”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We were a large party celebrating a friends birthday, we had given advance notice of our menu choices. Several of us had the same 'sizzling prawn' starter, when this arrived the portion sizes and amount of sauce were to say the least variable. i pointed this out to our waitress who took my portion back to the kitchen, when she returned she said that the chef weighs each portion out the same! He need to get his scales checked. Several of us also had sea bass as the main course, this duly arrived looked nice and we waited for our dish of vegetables to arrive, when this didn't happen we were told that they were on the plate. On further investigation we found small pieces of veg under the fish! we were not offered a sweet, had to ask for bread and generally were unimpressed with the place.
All in all a very unsatisfactory meal and wy wife and I went home for cheese and biscuits.
Will definitely not be going back
And there was a dispute over the bill!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Overpriced and out of its depth”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Very variable. A good hamburger, good creme brulee to finish. But a truly awful duck terrine starter, with no discernible taste. The roast looked as though it had been presliced, and the helpings of vegetables were quite laughable. 'Five a day' does not mean three peas and two tiny florets of broccoli! The same comment can be made about the vegetables served with the hamburger - just not good enough.

While one doesn't want service that's too stiff, the relaxed attitude went too far, almost as though it was designed to disarm potential criticism.Calling guests 'guys' every time you speak to them is unacceptable.

A very disappointing visit, and would have been poor value at half the #30 a head we paid.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Ambience nice, kitchen needs to up it's game”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

I've never been to the Old Mill before. The location is pretty, right on the canal next to the working water mill. There're covered seats by the mill, which is a smoking area, but the mill is pretty noisy! Inside are different rooms, plus one for private dining, pretty spacious, some sofas, some high tables and chairs, all in all a nice ambience. The cloudy Adlestone's cider on tap was nice. My husband ordered and £18.75 "28 Day Dry-aged 8oz Aubrey’s Rump Cap Steak, Chips & Watercress & Bloody Mary Butter"; I ordered "Marinated Golden Beetroot & Ragstone Mousse Salad, Hazlenut Crumb & Port Jelly" for £12.95. Mine was OK, but it was more of a starter size portion very small portion, and the beetroot was vinegary. The hazelnut crumb was a few pieces of hazlenut scattered, and the port jelly was three half centimetre strips. I was going on to order the cheese board, but after my husband had a bite of his steak and couldn't face so much chewing, he didn't want to eat any more and sent it back. The chips were also unpleasant, they may have been fried as was claimed, but tasted like cardboard oven chips. The staff were friendly and my husband was offered another dish, but he didn't want to order something else with the possibility of sending that back too. We'd go there for a pleasant drink, but won't be eating there again. Disappointing.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Old Mill also viewed

Berkhamsted, Hertfordshire
Berkhamsted, Hertfordshire
 
Berkhamsted, Hertfordshire
Berkhamsted, Hertfordshire
 

Been to The Old Mill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Old Mill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.