We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Back to The Old Mill” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Old Mill

The Old Mill
London Road, Berkhamsted HP4 2NB, England
01442879590
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Old Mill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #26 of 44 restaurants in Berkhamsted
Price range: $0 - $51
Cuisines: European, British, Pub, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Doing business, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Back to The Old Mill”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

Returned to The Old Mill after a long gap (no reason) and glad to see it still remains a good eatery. The scallops for my starter were cooked to perfection and the accompanying trimmings only added to the taste. I then had the lamb with Indian side dishes whilst my wife had the pork. Both meals were fantastic and staff very attentive throughout our time. Will definitely be returning in the future and would always recommend to others

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

53% Recommend
    53
    77
    46
    43
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Berkhamsted, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Reasonable Place for a nice meal”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

This place can be hit and miss, service and atmosphere are usually good, unless you hit the buggy brigades during the day. Has a decent menu and can be very nice. Staff are usually efficient and enthusiastic. We did have a poor experience with the food recently with dishes sent back twice. But the manager on duty dealt with it well and in the end removed the main courses from the bill without prompting.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great service and decor, good food, fair price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

Presently following a veggie diet, so keen to try those options. Curried cauliflower soup was excellent, and the brown bread some of the best I've had. Main dish was good except that the veggie crumble bowl was more liquid than we expected, and was difficult to handle since the meal was served with roast potatoes and Yorkshire pudding on a wooden board. We got by since the spring vegetables came in a larger bowl and we were able to juggle things round, but there must be a better way to serve it. Rhubarb crumble was excellent, and enough to share. Worked out approx 28 pounds each with a pint or glass of wine and shared sparking mineral water.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London UK
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great for families and couples - cosy and inviting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Love this pub. I've eaten here on numerous occasions and had a lovely meal but more recently met up with friends in the area for drinks. The bar staff are great, efficient and genuinely friendly. They offer some nice bar snacks to go with the drinks too. The atmosphere matches the quality of the food and staff - it is so cosy and inviting - you could easily bring family for lunch or on the other hand catch up with friends or have a romantic meal here. You can really chill out here, there are a few sofas in the bar area where you can relax and chat. Excellent choice of seating outside too - they have a garden at the front and back of the pub - the back garden is by the canal. There is also a small area at the back with seating by what must've been a water mill? Very unique :) Thank you to the management and staff - will be back soon!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic service, so accommodating & fabulous food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

I went to visit a friend in the area & she recommended going here. My first time but Ill definitely be revisiting The Old Mill. A lovely old building sympathetically restored with lots of cosy rooms.
Their blackboard specials showed lots if seasonal fayre on top of their carefully selected menu. We ordered a selection of their steaks which were cooked to perfection accompanied with some of the best onion rings I've tasted in a long time, fries & the usual condiments. Delicious. Sadly time ran out for us so we didn't get enough time to really enjoy our creme brûlée but I will return to sample again!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Old Mill also viewed

Berkhamsted, Hertfordshire
Berkhamsted, Hertfordshire
 
Berkhamsted, Hertfordshire
Berkhamsted, Hertfordshire
 

Been to The Old Mill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Old Mill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.