We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still the best Chinese take-away and delivery service in the town ....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Unicorn

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Unicorn
372 High Street, Berkhamsted HP4 1HU, England
01442862369
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 44 restaurants in Berkhamsted
Restaurant details
Berkhamsted, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Still the best Chinese take-away and delivery service in the town ....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Having lived in Berkhamsted for more than 25 years, we have been using the Unicorn for nearly as long. There are four other Chinese outlets in the town, one a restaurant and take-away and quite expensive, and the one near the Unicorn has recently had a makeover. So we tried it, but it was not as good as the Unicorn. Their crispy duck and pancakes are orgasmic, as is the crispy beef with chilli and their grease-less chicken balls. Their food is always fresh tasting, with crunchy bean sprouts and and the chicken used is top quality. Plus they are a cheery bunch who run it and they even recognise my wife's voice and address when we order. Friday night is take-away night for us, and we tend to use the Unicorn every fortnight, having Indian and Thai in between. Lastly, no skimpy portions and very good value for money.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

81% Recommend
    13
    0
    0
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

Great food, the best Chinese in Berkhamsted IMO. Beware they get very busy on weekends so order well in advance!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkhamsted, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful chinese carry out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

Always good, quality chinese take away, with easy parking

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
donegal
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“FANTASTIC”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

We have just recently moved to Berkhamsted from Ireland and had a fantastic local chinese at home. Had friends over at the weekend so opted for a takeaway instead of going out for food. Fantastic food, service and price. So glad we found this one on our first go....we will be regulars from now on. Cannot wait to try out the extensive menu as everything sounds amazing!!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
“Excellent Takeaway, - I would recommend the Double cooked Pork with Chilli!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2011 via mobile

Really great neighbourhood Chinese takeaway, I have used unicorn many times and the food is delicious and the service is excellent- friendly and efficient.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Unicorn also viewed

Berkhamsted, Hertfordshire
Berkhamsted, Hertfordshire
 
Berkhamsted, Hertfordshire
Berkhamsted, Hertfordshire
 

Been to Unicorn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Unicorn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.