We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff, excellent value!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bengal Blue

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Bengal Blue
49 Eastwood Road, Rayleigh, England
01268777761
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 45 Restaurants in Rayleigh
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Friendly staff, excellent value!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

This place is becoming a regular of ours... There is a spectacular deal on Sundays - 5 courses for £12.95. Food is hot, sauces interesting and for those who are adventurous there is something slightly different. Waiters are very accommodating - I often request changes to dishes and something which isn't on the menu and it is never a problem for them. I have been to Rayleigh Spicey and it wasn't a patch on Bengal Blue!

Be sure to go on a Sunday and ask about the deal - it's all from the normal menu and no dishes are excluded. They also accept Tastecards - what more could you want!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    9
    3
    0
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Taste-tacstic!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013 via mobile

A totally different Indian dining experience loads of completely new dishes to us and the most amazing selection of fish dishes. Everything we had was delicious and they take taste card too. Come and try for yourself its fantastic.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rayleigh
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Regrets”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

My regret is that we have not tried this restaurant earlier. My wife considers our meal today to be the best Indian meal she has ever tasted and there is no argument from me. The décor is lovely, and the service excellent. It is also handy to know that they have a delivery service. Certainly the best in Rayleigh if not the entire area.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Not worth a visit”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Visited this restaurant on 27/4/13 - 6 people.
Service slow - they couldn't cope and yet restaurant was not completly full.
Food very poor indeed. Tandorri mixed grill - chicken was raw inside (bloody) and was sent back to the kitchen - arrived again on a plate not served off a cast iron hot plate like the original order. Chicken Madras had whole very large uncrushed spices in it - not nice to crunch on. Naan breads were burnt around the edges and tasted of charcoal. Complained about the meal and was told that the mixed grill would be removed from our bill which is wasn't. Complained again and removed this item from our bill ourselves - not good service had to keep asking for our drinks and food which took forever (only ordered a main meal each) - not friendly staff, too busy and couldn't cope with very poor food.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rayleigh
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Fast becoming the best Indian restaurant in Rayleigh!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

We have visited this restaurant quite a few times since its opening and am pleased to say that, apart from one visit in its opening weeks that was disappointing due to teething problems, this restaurant is, in my opinion the best Indian in Rayleigh. The food is always hot, cooked well and nicely presented, with ample sized portions. The menu offers a wide variety of both traditional and special Indian dishes and has a very good choice of vegetarian dishes too. The desert menu is also good, if you have room! On our last visit my husband and I were given complimentary fruit deserts which were delicious! The staff are always friendly and attentive without being obtrusive. The decor is a little plain but this does not take away the ambience of the restaurant. Due to the size and the popularity of Bengal Blue ( always a good sign when a restaurant is full!) it may be advisable to book for a Saturday evening. The drinks menu is good and the prices are reasonable. Bengal Blue is a nice place to visit as a couple as well as with friends and families. On all of our visits we have been offered discount vouchers when leaving the restaurant, which can be used either on takeaways or on our next visit which is always welcome and a nice incentive to return - not that we need one as we will definately be returning again and again. As long as the food and service remains at the high standard that Bengal Blue currently maintains, I can see this restaurant fast becoming our regular favourite Indian! I strongly recommend giving this restaurant a try, I'm sure you will not be disappointed.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bengal Blue also viewed

 

Been to Bengal Blue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bengal Blue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.