We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stop Over in Aliwal North” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Conville Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Aliwal North
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Conville Guest House
Save
You added Conville Guest House to your Saves list
Aliwal North, Aliwal North, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 12 Aliwal North B&B and Inns
Ireland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great Stop Over in Aliwal North”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

This beautiful Herbert Baker house is well worth a stop over when travelling through Aliwal North.The rooms are clean and filled with amazing old furniture. The Mackintosh dining room was like visiting a museum. Each bedroom has a double door leading out to a nice garden. The lake and gardens were lovely and we had a great walk to the orange river which boundaries the back of the farm.Linda was away but we were well looked after by her son who cooked us a great breakfast and shared wonderful stories about the history of the house.
Very reasonably priced. Hope to get back there some day.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    5
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
2
5
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012 via mobile

A slightly delapidated but atmospheric victorian farmhouse in peaceful grounds next to a working farm. Breakfast only and of modest quality. Not all rooms en suit. Charming experience overall but service could be better.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2011

We stayed here on our visit to Aliwal North. Our room was large and clean with an attached full bath. Breakfast was served in the dinning room and was very good. The Scottish style house faces toward the pond with fantastic views.
Linda was a terrific host. I would recommend this to anyone traveling to this remote area.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Australia, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2009

Beautiful house, very welcoming and a great breakfast!

Rooms were clean and filled with antique furniture. Very relaxing stay.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lunenburg, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2007

Who wouldn't want to spend the night in a traditional South African country mansion! We did, at Conville, just east of Aliwal North, on the Orange River about 80 miles above the Gariep (Verwoerd) Dam.

Our spacious room was appointed as you might expect a guest room in a chateau, with a bed raised high off the floor, and a fireplace. Next morning, we had coffee on the patio outside the room, and later Madame hosted breakfast in her fancy dining room.

The large pond on which the hotel fronts is home to many southern African aquatic birds. You can watch from the lawn, because they don't seem shy of people.

To get here, you have to drive about a mile away from the town center along a dirt road. I was not displeased, however, because outside the built-up area I could do some Southern Hemisphere star gazing under dark skies!

At under US$50, I consider this the outstanding hotel bargain of our trip!

  • Liked — Genteel, old country atmosphere
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Conville Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Conville Guest House

Address: Aliwal North, Aliwal North, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Aliwal North
Amenities:
Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Aliwal North
Number of rooms: 5

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Conville Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.