We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good price. Friendly staff. Dated hotel.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Coastal Inn Moncton

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Coastal Inn Moncton to your Saves list
Coastal Inn Moncton
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   502 Kennedy Street, Dieppe, New Brunswick E1A 5Y7, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Dieppe
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good price. Friendly staff. Dated hotel.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

Was greeted by super friendly and helpful front desk staff which lead to an awesome first impression. Went down the older looking hallway to our noticeably older but updated room. Climate control for the room worked excellent, lighting and space were adequate. Bathroom was a bit small but overall a comfortable stay. TV was up to date which is always a good sign for me! Great fitness room and pool facilities. Everything was very clean and quiet. Conference was perfect for our small meeting the next day. Breakfast was carb heavy but had a good variety.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoastalInns, General Manager at Coastal Inn Moncton, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Thank you for your comments and we appreciate the good score. The hotel is not new, but we take a lot of pride in keeping it up and providing outstanding service. We look forward to your return soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    35
    17
    8
    9
See reviews for
34
15
6
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We booked this hotel as it was significantly cheaper than hotels we would normally stay at. We only needed a quick stop over and so we were not too fussy about the usual amenities/ratings. We feel that we got what we paid for.
Positives: The hotel is conveniently located near shopping and restaurants and is easily accessible. The front desk staff is extremely friendly and helpful.
Drawbacks: The hotel is showing it's age. The bathroom in our room had an old sink, faucets and appeared to need a complete renovation. There was a recycling bin strategically place under the sink to catch drips. There was some rust and black stains in the tile grout. The room itself was in a bit better condition, albeit very basic and dated.
The free "Coastal" breakfast turned out to be in a restaurant across the parking lot. It included cereal, muffins, toast, bagels. We were disappointed that it was not the standard free hot breakfast that competing hotels offer nowadays.
All in all, this hotel would suit for a quick stop over, but in our opinion, not for much longer. Next time, we will pay an extra $30 to stay in a newer hotel with more amenities.

Room Tip: I would avoid a room near the pool. Pool noise crept out into the hallways.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoastalInns, General Manager at Coastal Inn Moncton, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
We are sorry that our property did not meet your expectations. We are a budget-friendly hotel that strives to exceed our guests expectations. I am truly disappointed that you did not like your guestroom after the extensive cost and effort we have made to update the room that you stayed in. Over the past two years, the room you stayed in has been completely painted including the bathroom, brand new furniture, new carpeting, new lighting package, new box spring and mattress, new pillows, new window treatments and a new flat-screen tv. We are now in the process of planning our bathroom renovations. The blue recycle bin in the bathroom is used for our recycling program and was not put there to catch drips from the sink. We are a highly rated eco-friendly hotel in the greater Moncton area. We do have a preventative maintenance program that regularly goes through each guestroom to identify and fix any leaks, squeaks, or breaks!

We are currently evaluating our breakfast offering to look for ways to make it better, we will announce this on our facebook page before the end of the year. We truly appreciate your feedback and hope that you will give us another try in the future. Our team is highly motivated to give each guest a GREAT Maritime experience when they stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottetown, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

We had a great time here...Nothing fancy but worth the stay!Walking distance to Crystal Palace,Champlain Mall and other stores(liquor store).
Restaurant was great also we upgraded our breakfast which was a better choice I think!!Pool is not that big but it was wet and the kids loved so thats what count..Would definitely go back .

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoastalInns, General Manager at Coastal Inn Moncton, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We LOVE having families stay with us and enjoy our pool. You are right - we are not fancy, but we do offer a great value to our guests with extra amenities that you would not expect at a budget hotel. We do look forward to have you and your family stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Carlisle, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

The location was perfect.. walking distance to the mall , theater etc. As a family we look for cleanliness and affordability. The service was excellent and very accomadating. We were there for a Wedding so, we had lots of family and friends at the same motel, everyone commented on how friendly the staff was.

Room Tip: The family suite by the pool, was awesome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoastalInns, General Manager at Coastal Inn Moncton, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Cora-Lee,

Our "perfect" location is certainly one of our greatest assets. We thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to provide us with these nice comments. I am glad to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay and had a great time at the wedding. We do hope that you can come back again sometime in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elmsdale, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Always feel very welcomed at this place. The staff are very courteous and friendly. The proximity for us was perfect.Walking distance to everything you need including the mall, the theater,Crystal Palace, NBLC, and many restaurants. As a family we look for convenience, cleanliness and affordable accomodations, all of which we get here. And the indoor pool is always a great way to have extra fun with the kiddies after a busy day of shopping and playing. Also, the restaurant is a downhome Mom and Pop home cooked dinner place. Everytime we have eaten there it was excellent as well as very cost effective.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoastalInns, General Manager at Coastal Inn Moncton, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Leisa O,


We really appreciate the comments you have posted. It is especially nice to hear that you feel welcomed as this is what we strive to do with every guest that comes through our doors. We value your business and look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbellton, Canada
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

To make sure we would get a nice room, one month in advance , we pre-booked a 2 night stay weekend in July 2013 and needless to say it was a very hot weekend without air conditioning in our room, no refrigerator and to make matters worse we were in an older part of the hotel(basement area like), it was very humid and musty smelling. The morning we left , we woke up not well rested and feeling nauseated.
Never again at this place!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoastalInns, General Manager at Coastal Inn Moncton, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Rony M,

We are truly sorry that your stay with us was less than satisfactory. I am sure that I know which area of the hotel you were in, which does have AC but unfortunately no fridge. I will be in touch with you personally to offer my apologies to you and to discuss how we can make this better for you. We try to ensure that every guest that stay with us enjoy their stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tillsonburg, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

The 6 nights at the hotel were satisfactory. The lack of an in room refrigerator was a negative for this length of stay. Room was small but clean and adequate. Upon return to the room one afternoon, the message light on the phone was flashing, but we were informed that there were no messages. Again the following day the light was flashing and this time we learned of an urgent message. The caller advised that a call had been made the previous day. Otherwise, the front desk staff were very accommodating.
Proximity to restaurants and shopping was very good.

Room Tip: Request a fridge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoastalInns, General Manager at Coastal Inn Moncton, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Max T,

Thank you for your feedback! The next time you stay with us please request a fridge to be placed in your room as we do have a supply of small fridges to give to guests that require them. Also, we have around 23 units that have a kitchenettes in them that are fully stocked with dishes, pots & pans, glassware and utensils. I am sorry that your stay was not totally acceptable to you and I do hope that you will give us another opportunity to exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Coastal Inn Moncton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coastal Inn Moncton

Address: 502 Kennedy Street, Dieppe, New Brunswick E1A 5Y7, Canada
Location: Canada > New Brunswick > Dieppe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Dieppe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Coastal Inn Moncton 2*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your place to stay in Greater Moncton. The location you want, the service you expect, the comfort you desire. You will find it all here! Stay right across the street from Champlain Place Shopping Centre & Crystal Palace Indoor Amusement Park. Indoor saltwater pool & exercise room. Free "Coastal Plus" breakfast. Free WiFi.Come see us on your next trip to Greater Moncton and experience our down-home hospitality first-hand! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Coastal Inn Moncton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coastal Inn Moncton Hotel Dieppe
Coastal Hotel Moncton
Coastal Inn Moncton Dieppe, New Brunswick

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coastal Inn Moncton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.