We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs Improvement” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Wild Grass Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kaziranga National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wild Grass Lodge
Save
You added Wild Grass Lodge to your Saves list
Bochagaon,Kaziranga, Kaziranga National Park 786009, India   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Needs Improvement”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

Wildgrass Resort brings me memories of my childhood days, when I often used to visit this place with my father. Way back then, this resort was a very charming place, superbly well maintained, great facilities & lots of actvities, bon-fires & barbeques in the evenings, overall exceptional, with an awesome ambiance, infact one of the first luxury resorts in Kaziranga. But that was around 20 years back. Early this year during my visit to Assam, thought of revisiting this place & felt very sad to see this place deteriorate & lose it's old charm. It's no more as well maintained as it used to be, the compound looked shabby, the facilities & activities seemed missing, the swimming pool didn't seem functional, the whole place looked desolate, barren & neglected. This place has a lot of potential for improvement & can still be turned into one of the best resorts in Kaziranga, provided the authorities show some interest to renovate & bring about a difference & attract more tourists. As of now, they seem apathetic & the property seems totally neglected & uncared for. I feel they are letting a very good property go waste. Hope they realize soon & give some genuine effort to bring back it's old charm & past glory.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    73
    10
    6
    3
See reviews for
46
36
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guwahati, India
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

This was the 3rd time that I returned to stay at wild grass and had a great time. The rooms, dinning area and the campus of the place are very warm and welcoming. The food is simple, yet delicious. I will return to check out their cottages some day.

Stayed November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

Really bad approach road to this property and if you come here post sunset, there are high chances that you will miss the turn.
But totally totally worth the search. Fantastic serene place amidst the lovely nature and trees.

They arrange a nice round of Bihu/other traditional dance at night - fun!

As an info: there is no room service, no telephones connecting the rooms to the reception, no TV/internet/radio etc.

Restaurant service amazing food at great prices. They truly know how to service customers - complimentary soups, very polite staff. Amazing :)

The owner seemed to a Botanist fan. Great collection of trees around the property. Its fun to chill in the sun in the cold mornings.

Room Tip: Definitely ask for a top floor. All the floors are wooden, so if you stay on a lower floor, the foot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shillong, India
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

The Wild Grass was one of the better places when it first hit the scene in Kaziranga. It still is a good place to stay while in Kaziranga. The rooms are nice and the food is also great. The swimming pool is not much of use during winters. The cultural programme held in the evenings give you a sense of the local Ahom culture.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guwahati
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Stayed at Wild Grass two days & nights this October.The property encompasses a large area, lots of greenery all around, full of trees of different kinds & bamboo groves. There are 2 multistory residential blocks, well spaced out, each with 9 rooms. The rooms have an old world ambiance, no AC's or TV's & the floors are wooden. Each room is named after a site in the Kaziranga National Park. There are two cottages as well, kept for the elderly & guests travelling with heavy gear. I understand during the peak season, 2-3 fully equipped tents are also installed to accommodate guests. The Dining Room cum restaurant & the administrative office are in a separate Assam type building, located about 100 m from the residential blocks. The Dining Room is spacious, decorated with interesting artifacts & trophies and has the ambiance of a tea planter's club. Nice. While morning & evening tea are served in the rooms, lunch & dinner have to be taken in the Dining Room. The menu is limited but tasty & wholesome. The staff are courteous & friendly. The resort has in-house guides to take guests on bird sighting trips to the nearby tea estate areas & on bird & animal sighting trips to the peripheries of the Kaziranga National Park during the off season & once the Park re-opens on 1st November, to inside the Park as well. One caveat: The property is located about half a kilometer inside from the highway & there is no signboard on the highway, so unless you are alert, you may miss out the narrow dirt road leading to the resort & overshoot it completely!

Room Tip: Since the floors are wooden, it is better to go for rooms at the top to avoid noise, especially if t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mysore, India
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

we were on our first visit to KazIranga National Park, the home for the one horned rhinos. While searching through internet and lonely planet we chanced upon the name of Wild Grass Lodge. The trip was in february 2012. we contacted the wild grass lodge on wildgrasskaziranga@gmail.com. and also through phone. There was immediate response and we received quite bit of information on Kaziranga and also about visit to the National park as also on the travel facility. The proprietor Manju Barua himself and his staff were communicative and assured us of a good stay.

When we were approaching Kazirahga we contacted the staff of wild grass and we were asked to get down at Kohra, and as no local conveyance was available we contacted the wild grass lodge and they sent their jeep and we landed at the lodge around 6-30 p.m. and opted to stay in the old block of the s hotel blocks in wild grass.

Wild Grass lodge has a old world charm and we were charmed by the environment. The flooring and ceiling are of wood and the furniture are of wood and cane and blends beautifully to the enviorns of your room. There is provision for cross ventilation and at any part of the year the stay will be present. In the natural environs the lodge is located there is no need for any air conditioners and the lodge has remained eco friendly by not going for airconditioners. The Wild Grass lodge offers complementary break fast. One can also opt for full board facility. We were delighted to meet interact with former BBC correspondent Mark Tuly, during our stay at Wild Grass and he was one of the guests at the place.

You will hear the sounds of chirping of birds and noises of the forest insects. The dining hall is extremely beautiful and has nice wooden furniture, nice table clothes and other artefacts which add to the decor. There also photographs and paintings of birds and animals.

It is a experience to be experienced. The charm of the place lingers on. The Wild grass people booked for our elephant rides as well as the jeep drives through the national park.The trip to kaziranga, watching the one horned rhinos, wild boars, elephants, water buffalos, deers and host of birds including vulchurs in the kaziranga ranges of western, central and eastern ranges made it very ;meorable. Elephant rides are only in western and central ranges..

Wild grass is situated outside the Kaziranga National Park. Kaziranga's nearest airport is Jorhat. But Guwhati is a convenient international ariport and takes about 5 hours by sumo or Car.. The airport at Guwhathi is named after the first Chief Minister, Gopinath Bardlai, who was an extremely honest man and when he died in office, The great Sardar Patel, happened to arrange for a sum of Rs.4,000/- to Mrs.Bardlai, to take care of the expenses for their living.

Gowhathi is also well connected by train from Calcutta and New Delhi. You can either drive down from the Airport or the Railway Station. You can also reach kaziranga by state road transport bus.. You will have to get down at Kohra and if you contacted they will arrange for your transportation from kohra, opposite to it is the Central Range.. If you are coming by a hired vehicle or own vehicle you will ;have to take a turn at the marker of k.m.373 on national Highway 37. The wild grass experience and the kaziranga national park was out of the world experience and it still lingers on us and we look forward for a visit again..

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

If you are someone who is looking for a typical forest lodge, and a very natural one too, this is the one. its not a luxurious one, but still very nice.

Food is a bit of a problem here, but the basic food which they serve is good.

Overall a very good one.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wild Grass Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wild Grass Lodge

Address: Bochagaon,Kaziranga, Kaziranga National Park 786009, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Assam > Kaziranga National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Kaziranga National Park
Number of rooms: 18
Also Known As:
Wild Grass Hotel Kaziranga National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wild Grass Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.