We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location- Value for money” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Aranya Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kaziranga National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Aranya Lodge
Save
You added Aranya Lodge to your Saves list
Kaziranga National Park 785612, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent Location- Value for money”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We stayed at this hotel on 6th & 7th April. We had booked 2 rooms.The location of the hotel is excellent. First they showed us cottages. These cottages look very attractive from outside. However from inside,they are dated,with old tiles & furniture. We opted for delux rooms which have excellent view of jungle and some what renovated bathroom & tiles in rooms. The rooms are spacious. Being a govt. hotel, do not expect great service, then you will enjoy your stay for the very reasonable room rent.They will show you a hand written menu card which have very few items. You need to tell them to show printed menu card and items you need. Must order your food in advance or else you will not get the food. They also do not arrange elephant safari, which you need to do yourself. However the office is very closeby. Overall experience was good.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    16
    8
    1
    0
See reviews for
19
5
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Yverdon-les-Bains, Switzerland
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

we have booked a room on this hotel but when we discovered the room we immediatly change.
we have paid 2 différents hotel for one night but it was better to not stay on this place who had a perfume of moisture.
a éviter. hôtel de fonctionnaires flemmards et pas sympas. odeur de moisi dans les chambres, propreté douteuse etc.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
delhi
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We stayed here in 2011. The location is great and is close to the highway. The staff is very helpful and the service is good. They also arrange trips to the forest. We were very happy to stay here and would highly recommend anybody to this place.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We traveled to Kaziranga on March '11. The location of this hotel is excellent since the starting point of the elephant safari for Western sector of the National Park is close by while the entry point for central sector is just at the opposite side of the road. Moreover, the approach road to this hotel from the highway is through a tea garden which adds to the beauty.

Inside the property there are sprawling lawns and trees. The main lawn has different play facilities for small children, though most of them aren't maintained well. The rooms are OK with basic amenities. We didn't expect a very good condition of room or service so our frustrations were much less. Very limited menu of foods and service befitting to any Govt. organisation. Barring one or two instances, never saw any smiling face among the staffs. Though basic, the foods were well cooked. This hotel has got very good parking facility.

However, at that price range the stay was OK. And, if one considers the benefit of staying close to the national park ....... its definitely good.

Room Tip: Ask for the cottages, if they are available. They are better than the rooms in the main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

We took the Calcutta - Guwahati - Jorhat Jetkonnect flight. Drove down from Jorhat to Kaziranga.

We took 4 cottages here. The cottages, rooms, surroundings and decor are nice. However the food and service was pathetic.

We had small children with us but we were not expecting any extraordinary service. Simple things like having dinner at 9 pm were a difficulty. I don't know what seems to be the problem. Maybe they are understaffed. Maybe they don't work on shift system. Or maybe they are simply not interested. But everyone from the the people at the reception to the waiters to the dining room manager wore long faces. Kept cribbing that we were eating very late. Kept one plate of vegetable in front of us and when we asked that we had asked for 2 they said 'this is it....we serve it like this. It includes two platefuls'. Very strange behaviour.

In the morning also, despite telling that we were going to go for the 5:30 am safari, the staff was still sleeping when we went to the dining hall.

The walk down to the curio shop and the souvenir shop is pleasant and safe. Step out of the Aranya lodge gate, take a right and walk 200 mtrs, you will find a curio shop. It is ok. Not so great. But take a right from that shop, go 200 mtrs right and take a left. You will see a better souvenir shop. If you do a lot of shopping they might throw in a free gift as well. Well finished products. Bamboo hairclips and bamboo jug keyrings are nice to buy in bulk. Very reasonable. T shirts are Rs 480 each. I picked up one but totally avoidable. The rubber print wears off fast.

There is a big playground with swings and slides for children right in front of the rooms. It is secured and withing a walled compound. Good people people with young children who like to run around a lot.

Parking - You can either park near the reception or park close to the cottages in the front. Both options are available.

Room Tip: All rooms are nice. If you have young children pick up the rooms named 'Bison', 'Rhino...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2011

This is a fairly big lodge and has big lawns and play area for children.
Though this is a state Government owned property and I have guessed that services might not be very good, I had been wrong. The staff is very good and services had been par excellance. The Manager had been very courteous and arranged meal for us at a short notice considering the fact that a travel firm had booked the dining rooms for a very large travel group and the restaurant chef and attendants were busy attending them.

In the night, the place has been filled with various insects and it needs attention by the staff because there was no insect or mosquito repellant available in the rooms. The bedsheets and blankets were also in dilapidated state.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Navi Mumbai (New Mumbai), Maharashtra, India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

the cottages have exquisite view but not maintained very well during our stay in May 12.
Food and hospitality is good

Room Tip: go for cottages... cheap and good value for money....
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aranya Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aranya Lodge

Address: Kaziranga National Park 785612, India
Location: India > Assam > Kaziranga National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Kaziranga National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aranya Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.