We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best place to be in Kaziranga” 5 of 5 stars
Review of IORA - The Retreat,Kaziranga

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kaziranga National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
IORA - The Retreat,Kaziranga
Save
You added IORA - The Retreat,Kaziranga to your Saves list
Bogorjuri, Kaziranga National Park 785109, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Mumbai
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“The best place to be in Kaziranga”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

Loved every bit of our stay at the IORA resort in Kaziranga. We stayed here in April for 3 nights - our main purpose being the Kaziranga National Park Safari.

We stayed in the Deluxe Rooms Which were fantastic. High ceilings with great air conditioning and a quiet backyard with trees where you could see squirrels and the varied birds of Kaziranga. It was very relaxing to laze around in the Patio with a book and a cup of coffee. Liked the shower cubicle too although the toiletries provided could have been of better quality.

The service standards across the resort are fantastic - the reception was great in booking for us all the desired elephant and jeep afris. We did a total of 3 jeep and 2 elephant safaris. Babul our Jeep safari driver and guide was fantastic. He was very passionate about the birds and wildlife in Kaziranga and took us to the right spots to obsever these animals. He has this amazing knack of animal behaviour and we maged to catch several rhinos, deer, bufallo and elephants crossing our path. It was because his acute sense that we were the only jeep that day to spot a TIGER in the marshes (very rare for Kazirnaga). We could not have asked for a better safari experience.

The restaurant - We ate all our meals at the in-house restaurant Scarlet flame. The have an extensive menu ranging from continental to Indian. Everything we ate was fantastic. Service was prompt and consistent. They were very child friendly with immense patience. We enjoyed the complimentary breakfast - the spread was wide and the dosas were well done. We did visit the assamese restaurant once but us being vegetarians we had limited options. We tried the Assamese thali and found it to be a diiferent experience. The bar had a great ambience but I though it was overpriced.

Other activities - The resort generally organizes folk dances and bon-fires in winter but this being summer there were no activities arranged by the hotel. There was a small swimming pool and a kids pool but I felt it could have been more cleaner. I did not use this facility as i though the water wasn't the cleanest.

Overall a very satisfying and relaxing stay. I would come back to only IORA if I visit Kaziranga again.

Hats-off to the General manager - you are doing a great job of maintaining consistent service and quality.

Room Tip: Go for the deluxe rooms on the 2nd floor. You get lovely high ceilings with a private patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    88
    16
    4
    3
See reviews for
99
54
3
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
ajmer
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

We stayed here in month of april . It looked a nice place but the dirty the staff could have been more polite. There was no hot water for 2 days and the a.c did not work for 1 night.
Overall a average place.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

We were a family of 5 and stayed a night in Iora on 13th April. It was an awesome experience. Great food. Good service and rooms are good. It was bihu time so had a bihu dance at the hotel in the evening. The services are great compared to the price which i sreasonable.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

Good hotel.Great food.Hospitality at its best.Though evening was a bit dull with no events organised on 31st of March.The jeep safari arranged by the hotel was good.Some indoor games for the kids would have helped,swimming pool was clean.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

We stayed at the IORA for three days in February following two weeks touring in India.

I presume most folks stay here to take advantage of the safari experience in the Kaziranga National Park as we did as well. I will look to review our experience with the safari elsewhere but only to say now that the hotel does a great job in organizing what was for us an amazing opportunity to experience animals in the wild.

Our biggest problem was our attempt to make a reservation in October/13 for our planned February stay. Our online registration and follow-up emails were not answered and we finally gave up by the time November rolled by. While in Guwahati we booked our room just days in advance of our stay and had no problem finding a vacancy. Not sure why this is a problem, but don't worry so much about booking long in advance.

In terms of the hotel, I suspect the IORA is likely one of the best in Assam. I gather it was built in 2007 but the structure/room was showing some signs of need for freshening up. Nevertheless the rooms are clean and comfortable. We took all of our meals in the hotel restaurant which were always excellent. Staff in the hotel and particularly the restaurant were very nice.

We were struck by so many reviews for this hotel which waxed eloquent the facilities' virtues. In our experience the IORA does not offer luxury and appointments fitting to some of these reviews but then the accommodation is super cheap and overall really good value.

Room Tip: Assam is a "red zone" for the risk of contracting malaria. We had malorane pills with us b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

IORA was a beautiful experience for me. It adheres to a complete hospitality expectations, be it, its services or quality and taste of food from its very own restaurant. Situated over a comfortably vast area with a well maintained area all around, with perfect interiors and ample natural light and greenery, its staffs are efficient and extremely warm. If looking for an exclusive "relaxing holiday" in the midst of greenery, IORA is completely a must place in Kaziranga. It has certainly added its charm to my memory lane.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

The room was spacious and comfortable.The room service was speedy and excellent.The hotel premises was clean,neat and picturesque.The complimentary breakfast at Scarlet Flame was scrumptious.The room tariff was counterbalanced by all these amenities.They also arrange for the elephant safari and the jeep safari.It was a pity that my family and I had stayed there for a night only.Would've loved to stay there a bit longer.

Room Tip: Rooms on the first floor have a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to IORA - The Retreat,Kaziranga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about IORA - The Retreat,Kaziranga

Address: Bogorjuri, Kaziranga National Park 785109, India
Location: India > Assam > Kaziranga National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Kaziranga National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 42
Also Known As:
Iora - The Retreat,Kaziranga Hotel Kaziranga National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage IORA - The Retreat,Kaziranga, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.