We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big Game and Pleasurable Experiences” 5 of 5 stars
Review of IORA - The Retreat,Kaziranga

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added IORA - The Retreat,Kaziranga to your Saves list
IORA - The Retreat,Kaziranga
Bogorjuri, Kaziranga National Park 785109, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Big Game and Pleasurable Experiences”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

We stayed at IORA for 4 nights. The Retreat is a delightful place with many "colonial" features. We had a spacious attractive room and large bathroom, with a balcony overlooking delightful gardens. The restaurant served tasty & spicy Indian food and the service was immaculate. There was also an Assamese restaurant which served the local delicacies, quite different to other Indian food we have tasted. A large pool for cooling off in after a day out on safari was most appreciated. The hotel arranged excellent safaris into Kaziranga NP, where we saw many one-horned Indian rhinoceros and even a tiger: very exciting! We also did a boat trip on the Brahmaputra river. I cannot recommend this establishment highly enough.

Room Tip: Ask for an end room: slightly bigger with double aspect windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    74
    14
    2
    3
See reviews for
83
45
2
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
San Vitaliano, Italy
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Really good rooms. Bathrooms were clean. Spacious. It is the small details that really makes a difference. The courteous staff would go out of their way to make your stay memorable. The waiters were very informative, especially at Bhatban, the hotel's signature Assamese restaurant. The bar menu was quite decent . The safari arrangement made by the hotel for the guest, was like clock work. They also provide a nature guide to show you around the park! Very customer centric services. The drivers were polite and very informative about the animals in the park. You can see the passion for conservation in everyone in the hotel. The entertainment programs organised by the hotel in the evenings were pretty good. I love this place, will come back for more.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calcutta, West Bengal, India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

T HOTEL offered a great complementary buffet BF which was owsome,I highly recomend the other tourists to visite Kajiranga &stay at the Iora Hotel for atleast 2 n8.My friends were enjoyed very much.we enjoyed in the crystal water of pool & got photo shooting inside the bagicha,My openion is to visite again there with my family,who are already not visited kajiranga forest.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms are prefered & the corner one is best
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patna, India
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We along with official family members visited Kaziranga in the year 2012. It was really very fantastic and brilliant experience with IORA and their overall arrangements for us. They are very energetic and positive people, for every and any arrangements they are ready to serve.

It was fantastic.

Room Tip: all rooms were equally good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mumbai
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 2 night in the month of december 2012. As we were travelling with kid in winter were bit scared, but this resort have all the arrangement to keep you warm. As kazirange have limited option for hotel, you can safely select IORA.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

We stayed just for a day here! Had driven down from Dulliajaan & had planned to do both Jeep & Elephant Safari in Kaziranga. But we reached a little late for the Jeep Safari & hotel was kind enough to let us change the booking to next day. We started the next day early, at 5am which was quite a task with my 16 month old daughter... Took the Elephant Safari as planned and returned to the hotel completely beat by 7:45! Jeep safari was to leave at 9, so we were to have a quick bite & rush back but my daughter who had been a complete angel from morning was too tired & decided she had had enough of the animals. We informed the reception immediately & they were kind enough to cancel our booking with a complete refund.

Apart from the above incident we had the most authentic lunch in the Asemese restaurant at the resort! Where the manager took the effort to keep explaining what we were eating... The Spa was clean & hygenic but I thought it cud have been better. Had a fab jhumroo dance performance in the evening & a nice regular dinner at the main restaurant!

It was a really nice experience, one I would recommend to anybody going to Kaziranga! :)

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

The property is located very close to Kaziranga.

What I liked was:
1. Well appointed rooms which were spacious. Included tea coffee arrangement in room. Rooms were very clean
2. The main restaurant had a well laid out a-la-carte menu and the chef did justice to the same, service was good
3. Breakfast menu was different during the two days that I was there. The spread was good. Focused more on Indian breakfast
4. Visit to Kaziranga was arranged by the hotel on request at no extra cost
5. Spa service was nice. My wife tried the Swedish massage and my son a foot massage. Both were happy

What I did not like
1. The restaurant serving Assamese cuisine did not measure up to expectation.

Would recommend to everyone and will come back again .

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to IORA - The Retreat,Kaziranga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about IORA - The Retreat,Kaziranga

Address: Bogorjuri, Kaziranga National Park 785109, India
Location: India > Assam > Kaziranga National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Kaziranga National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelTravel.com so you can book your IORA - The Retreat,Kaziranga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iora - The Retreat,Kaziranga Hotel Kaziranga National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage IORA - The Retreat,Kaziranga, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.