We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“True wild life lodge” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Diphlu River Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Diphlu River Lodge to your Saves list
Diphlu River Lodge
4.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Kaziranga National Park, Kuthuri, | Near Bagori Police Outpost,, Kaziranga National Park 782136, India   |  
Hotel amenities
New Delhi
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“True wild life lodge”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2010

The Diphlu River Lodge reminds you of a typical lodge in the African parks with independent thatched roof cottages on stilts arranged around a paddy field . This aspect is something that the owners need to be commended for , since it really gives the place a unique and memorable character . It is on the banks of a Brahmaputra tributary , the Diphlu River and the staff told us that its common to sight game on the opposite bank .
The rooms are very comfortable and the design and the structure retain the jungle touch . The common area , which includes the bar and the restaurant , has a stunning view of the river and one can spend some quality time there soaking in nature when not visiting the sanctuary .
The staff is attentive and courteous without being obtrusive .
Easily the best place in Kaziranga , and by a wide margin .

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    15
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
18
29
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Europe
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2010

We arrived in late july and stayed a few days. The personel was ever so nice and friendly and took the best care of us as our stomacks adjusted to the climate. The kitchen is just under the restaurant and every day we had different dishes, impressive! For breakfast every morning we had the best omelette. This is a place to rest in and to look at the wildlife around. Here you find peace and quiet. You have to think a bit about how you behave as you share the place with wild animals (sometimes). So there are e.g. no strong lights that will scare the animals off at night. All of our family liked Diphlu River Lodge very much and would very much recommend it to others.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2010

I disagree with the previous reviewer because I had a great time at the Diphlu River Lodge around late December! Assam is a great place to visit around the end of December, the temperatures being quite "mild" for us foreigners (10-15 C or so). I was traveling en solo but there were others from the Charaidew Brahmaputra Cruise as well, which is owned by the same company - Assam Bengal Navigation.

In essence, the place is heaven on earth. You're in the midst of lush greenery, surrounded by the exotic Assamese flora (and fauna - I did spot an occasional rhino or two at around midnight from the room's balcony, mostly around late afternoon and midnight), savouring great food from friendly persons, and relaxing in quiet bliss.

Here I must highlight, it would be the excellent service at this lodge. Young, aspiring, ever-smiling, local youths are at your beck and call. Although their grasp of English is not spectacular, the genuine cheerfulness of the staff at the lodge makes this place wonderful (especially if you're traveling alone, like I did!).

If there's one thing that did not meet my high expectations of this lodge, it would be the absence of a swimming pool. Even though in December, one does not feel the need to go for a swim, I imagine that the swimming pool would be of great help in the summers!

All in all, I had a great time at the Diphlu River Lodge! I definitely recommend it!

p.s - unfortunately, I can't post any pictures as I lost my camera in the airport :(

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall England
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
80 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
151 helpful votes 151 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2009

We visited this lodge after a 7 night cruise on the Brahmaputra River with Assam Bengal Navigation who also own the lodge. They cut short our cruise by 2 nights due to their bad planning and moved us to the, empty, lodge with the rest of our group from the boat. The lodge cost less than the boat and it has taken me 5 months to recover the difference. We had also intended to stay there two nights after the 7 night cruise and had paid up front for the whole thing. We also stayed at their Basnabari Lodge in Manas NP before the cruise for two nights, a big mistake, I will review this seperatly.

The owners of Assam Bengal Navigation set themselves up as high end holiday providers but fail dismally in service, customer relations, value for money and communication. They are happy to charge top dollar and when they do not provide the service paid for and refuse to refund. They still owe us in the region of US$800
( for the two nights accommodation we did not take, we gave them 96 hours notice of our decision to leave) and have point blank refused to refund it.

Now to the lodge - It is quite new and has been designed to look authentic with huts on stilts. It is near a busy road and not in Kaziranga NP. You can hear a lot of road noise. The river runs behind it. An idiot has decided to make the central area of the lodge into a paddy field. Assam is an area of high risk for malaria and even in January there were lots of mosquitos. I can not imagine what the risk will be in the warmer months. Madness!!

The restaurant and bar are in a seperate area. They cooked our food elsewhere and brought it up to the restaurant. It was then left on platters warmed by night lights which kept it somewhere between warm and luke warm. Most of our group developed sickness and diarrohea within 12 hours of arriving and we stopped eating except for bread and omlettes as the ones that were not ill were terrified the rest of their holiday would be ruined. Many were touring other areas of India. Noone at the lodge was prepared to discuss the problems as the staff are all young, poorly trained and with no back up from the owners.

Do not travel with Assam Bengal Navigation. You will be ripped off and will probably become ill. We paid over £3500 in total for our experience.Our fellow passengers comments ranged from a mild 'I would not let any of my friends or family come on this holiday', 'best to put it behind us and move on' to 'this company should be sued by us all'.

India is a wonderful country and its people, including those we met in Assam welcomed us with friendship and charm. Assam Bengal Navigation has let them all down.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Diphlu River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diphlu River Lodge

Address: Kaziranga National Park, Kuthuri, | Near Bagori Police Outpost,, Kaziranga National Park 782136, India
Location: India > Assam > Kaziranga National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Kaziranga National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Diphlu River Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Diphlu River Lodge is the only lodge at Kaziranga N.P. that is situated right at the border of the park. We offer all-inclusive stays from three to ten days. Or well-trained naturalists take you out into the park by jeep, elephant or even on foot. We also offer jungle and river walks, village visits and boat rides on the Brahamaputra on which you may see the rare Ganges Dolphin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Diphlu River Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Diphlu River Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.