We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magical Arctic experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Davvi Arctic Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Davvi Arctic Lodge to your Saves list
Davvi Arctic Lodge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kasivarrentie 3771, Karesuvanto SF-99470, Finland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Karesuvanto
york
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Magical Arctic experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

My husband and I have just returned from a wonderful week in the Arctic Circle travelling with transun and staying at the fantastic Davvi Arctic Lodge. We stayed in a cabin, which was very comfortable and well presented, with our private sauna. The meals were varied and extremely tasty and the head chef, Will Boyce, provided the best selection of dishes we have ever in a hotel. All the staff were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble - they gave the holiday a really relaxed feel but extremely well organised. The activities that were part of our itenary; cross country skiing, snowmobiling, dog sledding to name but a few, were well organised and pushed us to the limits but not over anyones' capabilities.
The highlight though was not organised or scheduled - we saw the Northern Lights every night for 7 days and mid-week were treated to a 2 hour magical display which even the locals commented on! This was a fantastic experience but was a definite bonus and if we hadn't have seen the Lights, the holiday itenary, hotel, staff and the wonderful scenery would have still meant that we would've had an amazing time.

Room Tip: The cabins are ideal for couples and very private in beautiful surroundings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

557 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    255
    181
    68
    26
    27
See reviews for
205
215
18
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fareham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

Just got back from 7 night trip with Transun to the Davvi Arctic Lodge (19th-26th February 2012).
We thought this was a well organised and thoroughly enjoyable trip.
Booking staff were friendly and helpful.
Flight with Jet2.com was on time, good selection of snacks to purchase, flight attendants friendly - even though flight out was 4am and one back at 9pm.
Transfer were in comfortable and spacious coaches.
Accommodation was great (we stayed in a cabin for 4 nights, the igloo for one night and then had 2 nights in the hotel).
I am a really fussy eater but the food was great and offered good variety of choices (and yes there were fresh tomatoes)
Activities were very well organised and great fun.
It was minus 20 most nights and minus 10 most days but the suits and boots provided worked really well over thermals.
All staff and activity reps were very helpful and polite.
We loved the ice fishing experience but its NOT for serious fishermen as you would be VERY lucky to catch anything - its more about the experience and making the hole through the thick ice.

We saw the Northern Lights 4 nights out of 7 so were VERY lucky (HINT:- check the lunar cycle, as its better to go when its a new moon NOT full moon). You do have to be patient and stand around up the hill waiting but there is a sky full of stars to look at!

I would definitely book this trip again.

Good Luck

Room Tip: The cabins aren't very sound proof so you'd be better in the hotel if you are a light sleepe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

We have just come back from a break at the Davvi Lodge and had a very enjoyable time.

The Jet2 flight out was a bit of a nightmare, our 6am take off was delayed because there was NO food and drink on the entire flight, so they had to scratch around for the basic tea, coffee, water and biscuits for 45 minutes whilst we waited on board. However everything was well organised from the time we arrived in Kiruna. We were met by Pete, the Transun rep who told us that lunch was being kept open for us at the Davvi because of the problem with the flight - and that was really appreciated by those of us who had had nothing to eat. We arrived at 3pm, dumped our cases and went straight in for food.

The food throughout our stay was fine - a bit like what you would have in your restaurant at work in my opinion. We had choices like soup, chilli, lasagne, thai chicken, pie and mash, fish and a few finnish dishes to try as well, but there was always fresh salad available too although oddly there was never an option of fresh tomato even though there were always grilled tomatoes at breakfast! We were always offered a dessert at dinner - and the poached pear with winter berries, and the profiteroles were divine! I read in earlier reviews about "portion control" by the staff but saw nothing like this, we all helped ourselves to as little or as much as we wanted.

We stayed in a small cabin which was adjoined to another one. We had no problem with noise from our neighbours and I hope they were able to say the same about us! The cabin was nice enough but basic (but what we expected from a log cabin in Lapland) and beautifully warm throughout - I loved the underfloor heating in the bathroom. It was plenty big enough for two. Only downside was we couldn't get our sauna to work, not sure if it was us or if it was broken - we couldn't be bothered to pursue it.

As we had booked a snowmobile each we had to go on the night safari at 9.30 on our first night due to availability. As we were tired from travelling we dreaded this, but in fact it was the best thing we could have done. We had a great time and it really woke us up. The sky was so clear and when we stopped for a hot juice drink we were awestruck by the endless sky full of the mot stars we have ever seen. As we came back across the river towards the hotel our lead rider pointed out "activity" in the sky, it looked a bit like a pale, moving mist - and it was the start of the northern lights!

Well, we rushed back to our cabin, then got halfway up the hill to the viewpoint when the sky was suddenly filled with green - the lights had appeared all around us! It was quite emotional as this was our third different holiday trying to view the lights. We stayed out for an hour watching them dance, quite magical :-) We were lucky enough to view them on our last night too.

We enjoyed the other excursions too (the reindeer camp less so due to the extreme cold on this day) - but snowmobiling was our thing and we booked a day safari too. This was longer and a lot more challenging, but everyone with us was quite adept so we were able to cover a fair distance with a few heartstopping jumps as well! If you like snowmobiling then I recommend this.

Outside the Lodge, Karesuando (on both the Finnish and Swedish sides) is pretty uninspiring with nothing much to do and very quiet. There is a garage at the bottom of the Davvi drive which sells snacks and drinks and also has a little coffee shop which is nice for a change of scene. Also a souvenir shop which we didn't visit (the strange reindeer ornaments made out of logs outside put us off!) There is a museum Sweden side which was closed when we went but some other guests visited and said it was interesting - a bit like someone's house and only 2 euros entry.

The Davvi (and Transun) has had its problems over the last few years if you read the reviews and there will always be some people whose holidays do not live up to expectations - however from my experience they have got it right now. All the Davvi, Transun and Santa Safari staff were professional, friendly and dedicated to making sure all the guests have a memorable holiday - and I would like to thank them all (and our fellow guests) for a great time!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

I've just returned from a trip to the Davvi Artic Lodge on a Northern Lights holiday and had an amazing time! The hotel was fantastic, the food great, the hotel staff very friendly and the room spacious and clean. We booked through Transun and the reps were extremely helpful and friendly and would go out their way to make sure you had a great holiday. Pete and Georgina were particularly fantastic - nothing was too much trouble! The trips we went on were fantastic once-in-a lifetime experiences, I absolutely loved the husky sleigh ride and the snowshoeing, along with the night-time forest walk. The tour guides who take you out on the trips are very friendly and knowledgeable, Quincy was our driver and told us lots of interesting facts about the area. The scenery is absolutely incredible and if you don't see the Northern Lights, you will still come back with so many amazing experiences and memories. The hotel is on the border of Finland and Sweden, and it's novel to be able to walk between the 2 countries in a matter of minutes! I have memories that I will never forget and hope to return to the artic circle very soon. Thank you everyone at Transun and the Davvi Artic Lodge for making this holiday so memorable :)

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

We visited for 3 nights from February 9th. The hotel was just right for this kind of trip; food was filling & hot, and all the staff, both hotel staff and those working for Santa Safaris (who arranged all our trips & activities) were excellent - helpful, kind and very friendly. Fellow guests were a very friendly crowd as well.
My bathroom had the oddest layout I think I've ever encountered, but somehow that just added to the charm - if you're less forgiving than I am then avoid room 205! The bed was superb though.

Room Tip: Give 205 a miss - the shower curtain enclosed the toilet, and also the radiator!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ENGLAND
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

Visted the above hotel from 16-20 Feb mainly in the hope of seeing the Northern Lights. We were not lucky on this occasion so will have to try again. The hotel is well situated for all the activities included in the Transun Holiday. Yes the hotel is basic but you are in the artic circle. If you want something luxurious go to another part of the world. This is all about experiencing the Artic and its conditions. The food was very good all things considered. The Saturday night was the worst meal for us as we don't eat curries or fish, the options available, but the chef kindly whipped up a stir fry that went down well.They did run out of beer but deliveries were due the next day so that didn't become a problem. Hotel rooms are basic and bathrooms are small, but ours was clean and functioning. No hairdryers so bring your own along with an adaptor. They do have a limited supply at the reception. On the whole all guests seemed to be having a agreat time. The staff worked hard to ensure we were happy, Our tours went well with the highlight being the husky trip which was undertaken in near perfect conditions. Snowmobiling was a bit of an ordeal due to the weather turning very bad and was cut short, but that was fine by me from a safety point of view. Would I do it again - most certainly would. I still have to see those northern lights in all their glory!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

I travelled with my grown up family and a friend to the Davvi Artic Lodge on the Northern lights 3 day trip in March 2010. I had read the mixed reviews of the Lodge but decided that the trip and the location were my priority and not the accommodation, So I booked our party of seven into two cabins.We flew into Tromso and our party and an Australian girl continued our journey by minibus to the Lodge. The scenery en route along the fjords and through the mountains was spectacular and I could not close my eyes. A great start to our trip. We arrived at the Lodge as dinner was being served. We were directed to our cabins where we deposited our luggage and returned to the Lodge for dinner. Very welcome and tasty hot soup eaten.and main course just started when a hand bell was rung in the dining room followed by an announcement "The Northern Lights are outside! Well you never saw a dining room empty as quick in all your life and I think I was one of the first ones out!! What a beautiful and moving sight - a truly once in a lifetime magical experience. We even got to see the pinks which are quite rare. A young man in the group actually proposed to his girlfriend in the Lights. What a proposal! This was going to be a marvellous trip and it was. All the other activities were great too. The reindeer sleigh ride, the traditional sami tent experience, snowmobiling. tobogganing and best of all the husky dog ride. The suits and boots provided were more than adequate to keep warm and had to be worn for all outdoor activities. Thin layers of thermals were all that was required under these suits. Snoods, hats, scarves and warm gloves are also a must. The best item of clothing we brought were heat holder socks which were amazingly warm. I would recommend these to anyone going as an essential. No need to double up on socks with these ones. However just going from the cabins to the hotel just required a warm jacket and the boots. The cabins themselves were quite compact but adequate and very warm. The Sauna was a bonus and doubled as a drying room for wet suits.The meals in the Lodge were fine - not haute cuisine, but we weren’t expecting that calibre of food so we were happy enough. There was always plenty of it and it was always hot. Free tea and coffee was also available in the hotel and if the coffee pot was empty it was filled when asked. The staff were extremely polite, helpful welcoming and friendly. Always acknowledged you and asked about your activities. The Lodge itself had a nice ambiance for a relaxing drink at night. Overall this was the trip of a life in comfortable accommodation. in a superb stunning location and filled with memorable and magical experiences which were crowned by seeing "The Northern Lights" We were very blessed and very lucky to have seen the Lights. Would we go back? Definitely Yes! Would we stay in the Davvi Artic Lodge? Definitely Yes! If you are considering this trip and reading reviews by all means do so but my advice is Go and experience this for yourself. You will not regret it. I see that the flight is going into Kiruna now and not Tromso.This will mean a shorter road journey but unfortunately you'll miss the fjords. Would this put me off going back? Definitely Not. Enjoy this experience and I hope the Lights dance for you like they did for us.

Room Tip: The cabins add a magical touch to you stay and just a stones throw from the Lodge. The Fell house is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Davvi Arctic Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Davvi Arctic Lodge

Address: Kasivarrentie 3771, Karesuvanto SF-99470, Finland
Location: Finland > Lapland > Karesuvanto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Karesuvanto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Davvi Arctic Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Davvi Arctic Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Davvi Arctic Hotel Karesuvanto
Davvi Hotel Karesuvanto
Davvi Arctic Lodge Karesuvanto, Finland - Lapland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Davvi Arctic Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.