We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Pichilemu Surf Hostal

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Pichilemu Surf Hostal to your Saves list
Pichilemu Surf Hostal
Calle Eugenio Diaz Lira 167, Pichilemu, Chile   |  
Hotel amenities
Newport, Rhode Island
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great staff”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

We really enjoyed meeting the dutch couple running the hostel in November and the surf is closeby. Good spot to land.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    7
    5
    2
    2
See reviews for
2
11
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tahiti, French Polynesia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2011

I stayed two nights and left when the people hired to clean, never did. The couple that left when I got there, warned me about no cleaning the one toilet shared by ten people. The owner only cares about the restaurant, which charges twice as much as other places and you get half the portions.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2011

Seeing hostals in Argentina, we expected a bit more. Surf hostal was more bare bones than expected, providing a bed with clean sheets and a shower.

We had to ask for towels, and they seem surprised that we were asking. However, we were not the typical tourist-surfer, so many this is why this was the case. Also, no soap or such was provided, so make sure to bring all yourself. (We thought the soap was expected at any lodging where a bathroom was provided.)

However, when searching for accommodations in Pichilemu, this was one of the few. Arriving into town there are quite a few "cabanas", so if you are looking to stay multiple nights you might want to look into those.

However, if you just want to crash for a night with good company and English-speaking guests, this would be a good choice. The lounge was very nice, included a good choice of beers, two restaurants next door and a fire pit off the outside deck.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2010

I stayed at Pichilemu Surf Hostel over Christmas 2009 and I had a great time. It is a unique place. Yes, it is a little rough around the edges and the hot water is somewhat unpredicatable but it is also one of the loveliest hostels I have ever stayed in and the welcome is fantastic. If Pamela is still working there, you will feel welcome right away. I recommend staying in the upstairs dorm as it is nicer and has awesome sea views. Recommended for young, adventurous travellers!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pichilemu Surf Hostal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pichilemu Surf Hostal

Address: Calle Eugenio Diaz Lira 167, Pichilemu, Chile
Location: Chile > O'Higgins Region > Pichilemu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 38 Specialty Lodging in Pichilemu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Surf hostal's situated on the beach in the surf capital of Chile. In January 2007, Dutchman Marcel Janssen, brilliant windsurfer, in love with Pichilemu and living in the village since 94, opens with Natalia and son Martin their Pichilemu Surf Hostel. Now in 2009, they have opened at the end of the road a second hostal for backpackers with dormitories in an ancient building built as a ship directly on the beach. Now you can select either a private room or a shared room. The Restaurant and Hostel located on playa Infiernillo's beach, in front of the Pacific Ocean, at a short 5 minutes from the village center. All the rooms have sea-views and are equipped with private bathrooms and hot water and very comfortable beds. - Spanish, Dutch and English spoken- Surf, Windsurf and Kite surf information available- 10% discount in the restaurant- Healthy breakfast included- Transfer to and from Pichilemu's bus terminal- Bicycles available free for hosts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Pichilemu Surf Hostal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pichilemu Surf Hostal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.