We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor customer service” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Sharon Hotel

Sharon Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kundapur
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sharon Hotel
Save
You added Sharon Hotel to your Saves list
NH-17, P.B.No.-32 Kundapura | Karnataka, Kundapur 576201, India   |  
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kundapur
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Poor customer service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2010

We stayed in Hotel Sharon, Kundapur between July 23 and July 25. I went there along with my wife and brother in law to attend a family event. My in laws had already been staying there from 2 days before we arrived. This is an old hotel and we had stayed there a few times earlier. This time, though we had an extremely poor experience highlighted by very poor customer focus and lack of courteous behavior.

One major pinprick was the lack of parking space and the impolite behavior by the security staff as well as the front desk staff. The hotel has a conference hall and because of the number of functions held there, parking space was packed with visitors cars. Though, we had taken three rooms and were hotel guests, we were denied parking space and also our car driver was talked to rudely.

Also, when we ordered room service, packaged ice cream was served and charged more than 2.5 times printed rate. When we checked, the waiter said that is a norm and we can check with the room service number for details. He however did return after some time and returned some part of the money. Running hot water was also not continuously available. The curtains were in bad shape and when we requested them to fix it immediately after checking in, there was no one sent to fix it. As this was affecting the privacy of our room, we had to make do with some fixing of our own!

Another sore thing (though we were on Level 2) was the down time of the elevator. This affected my in-laws who found it quite painful to walk up and down every time. The lift was not working more often than not

We had a coupe of meals in the veg restaurant Harsha. The food was so so. The Chinese was very oily and barely edible. The rates were quite reasonable. The choice was restricted and there were lot of items though mentioned in menu which were unavailable.

All in all, we had a very bad experience and since we are regular visitors to Kundapur, we have decided to look for other places during our future visit.

Thanks

Room 202, 209, 210 (July 23- July 25)

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    12
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
12
2
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2010

I went to kundapur for my friends marriage. We booked the room in Sharon. Execellent service good facilities in the room the price also good. So overall the staying there was execellent. They have hotel for food in the ground floor. thats also good. The most importatnt thing connectivity wise its located near shastry circle. All the buses starts from there, Even KSRTC bus stand is near by

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bangalore
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2010

Stayed here for a night en route to Kollur. Rooms were spacious . Price was adequate for the area. Location was good. Food was good in the restaurant. This hotel will be a great choice for tourist attractions like Maravanthe beach, temples like Kollur Mookambika, Hattiangadi etc.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2009

Hotel was decent enough for a family stay and the rooms were clean. Room service was average and could do with some improvement. Food at the vegetarian restaurant (Harsha - not airconditioned) was average with typical Udupi fare and the ambience could do with some improvement. The other restaurant (Banjara - airconditioned) had a better ambience, but the place had a strong liquor stench and it was definitely out of bounds for one to take his wife and kids to this restaurant. The hotel did arrange for the transport services for moving around and even though they were a little overpriced, they were reliable.

My purpose of visiting Kundapura was to worship at the nearby Kollur Mookambika Temple, which is located at around 45 kms from Kundapura. The other beautiful place that I visited at Kundapura is the beach at Maravanthe. This is a clean beach with almost no crowd and the sunset view from this beach is just extraordinary. The other beautiful point about this beach is that you can see the Arabian Sea on one side of the National Highway and the Souparnika River on the other side. The NH road adjacent to this hotel was straight out of a war movie with guaranteed bone-rattling experience. There is some 8-laning work of the NH which is expected to start shortly and the parking space of Hotel Sharon is expected to be eaten up in this project.

Overall summary - a good hotel for a small town...

  • Liked — Room Cleanliness
  • Disliked — Food
  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2009

We were on our beach trip from Mangalore to Karwar. Had a stay over at Kundapur while travelling from Malpe to Marvanthe. The hotel is near the main highway and is a great value for money. We paid Rs. 450 for a double room. The rooms were spacious and clean. Bathroom was decent with hot water and shower. Room has TV and a balcony.

The hotel also has a restaurant serving regular North and South Indian fare. Food is nothing great but palatable.

Service is friendly, overall a good experience.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sharon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sharon Hotel

Address: NH-17, P.B.No.-32 Kundapura | Karnataka, Kundapur 576201, India
Location: India > Karnataka > Kundapur
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kundapur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sharon Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.