We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful 5 Star Resort” 4 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Aphrodite Hills Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added InterContinental Aphrodite Hills Resort to your Saves list
InterContinental Aphrodite Hills Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   1, Aphrodite Avenue, Kouklia 8509, Cyprus   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kouklia
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Beautiful 5 Star Resort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We went here for our friend's wedding. What a beautiful resort, well maintained and such a good size with plenty of dining options. Would 100% recommend to visit this hotel just make sure you bring your wallet as it is very expensive.

Room Tip: Buffet food isn't the best but I've never found an exception to this rule.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICCyprus, General Manager at InterContinental Aphrodite Hills Resort, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear Reviewer

Warm greetings to you from Aphrodite Hills and our geniune for your kind review of our hotel and sharing your holiday experience with us and other reviewers.

We are pleased to read that you ahve enojyed your stay and that you highly recommend our hotel and resort to other potential visitors.

We sincerely hope that you friends wedding day was a memorable occasion for you all.

Hoping we may have the pleasure in welcoming you back again very soon.

Until then, kind regards
Andreas Christodoulides
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

847 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    475
    207
    98
    49
    18
See reviews for
308
323
19
46
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here with friends and family and loved the hotel, it's surroundings, facilities, courteous staff. I have stayed here before and we had a lovely summer holiday. This time was over New Years even though the weather was not great the hotel did not disappoint us. We all had a lovely time and we will return.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICCyprus, General Manager at InterContinental Aphrodite Hills Resort, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear Reviewer

Warmest greetings to you from us all here at the InterContinental Cyprus.

A kind thank you for your plasant comments and feedback following your recent return stay at our hotel. We greatly apprecaite your loyalty and glad you have visited our hotel at a different period from your previous stay and that we did not disappoint you this time.

Hope we may have the pleasure of welcoming you back again on many more occasions.

Kind regards
Andreas Christodoulides
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teesside
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

What a resort - we arrived 28th Dec in the dark and all the way up the drive was decorated with Christmas lights and decorations - customer service was excellent from first walking into the hotel - the staff greeted you with a smile every time they seen you - rooms excellent standard, housekeeping 1st class, bar and restaurants food mouthwatering.
Played golf with husband and "nearly" beat him but what the heck - it was worth getting up early for.
Local bus to take you into Phafos - good fish restaurants on waters edge or get on another bus and go up to old Phafos
Mistake on final bill but was rectified immediately with an apology - very professionally handled by the young lady on reception.
Thank you to everyone who made our holiday to memorable
Sandy & Angus Anderson Teesside UK

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICCyprus, General Manager at InterContinental Aphrodite Hills Resort, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear Mrs. Sandy & Mrs. Angus Anderson

Warmest greetings to you both from all of us here at the InterContinental Cyprus.

Our true thanks to you for taking the time to share your recent holiday experience at our hotel and allow us and others read your positive comments. We are delighted that you have thoroughly enjoyed our hotel, its facilities and our staff service. Your comments will most certainly be distributed among our team.

We sincerely that we have the pleasure in welcoming you back again very soon, so you may have the chance to win that round of golf with your husband next time.

Hope to see you both again soon.
Kind regards
Andreas Christodoulides
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicosia, Cyprus
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

I visited the resort last month.We checked into our room very quickly. It was a spacious room with a huge bathroom that I loved.
It was clean, comfortable and cozy. However,I was really disappointed when i realised that the bed skirts had wholes in them. Soon after that, I realized that the duvet cover in one of the beds had a hole in it, too. Furthermore, one of the curtains had a white stain on it and the carpet was not very clean. These details might not seem important but I expected better from a five star hotel.
Apart from that, we had a pleasant weekend. The staff were very polite and attentive, especially the lady at the concierge.
I would like to stay at the resort again but hopefully in another type of room.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICCyprus, General Manager at InterContinental Aphrodite Hills Resort, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear Reviewer

Warm greetings to you from Aphrodite Hills and many thanks for taking the time to submit your review of our hotel following your recent stay with us in December.

We are pleased to read that you have had a "Pleasant Weekend" break at our resort and thanks you for your kind feedback on our services and staff.

Permit me to apologise for the issue you have raised with your bed linen, which will certainly be brought to the attention of our housekeeping department for future reference and to observe in future.

Nevertheless, we sincerely hope that this will not deter you from returning to our hotel again very soon. Do let us know when you plan to visit us again.

Kind regards
Andreas Christodoulides
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saffron Walden, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in December 2012 and did realise that this was off-season. The hotel was very quiet and many of the restaurants were closed. The weather was mixed. If you did not play golf, I think the hotel is well appointed, with friendly and helpful staff, but a bit subdued. The local town of Paphos is grim unless you want roast beef and Yorkshire pudding. Take a trip to the mountains if you want to see a more attractive version of Cyprus.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICCyprus, General Manager at InterContinental Aphrodite Hills Resort, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear Reviewer

Warm greetings to you from InterContinental Cyprus and our genuine thanks to you for taking the time to submit your review of our hotel following your recent stay with us.

We are pleased to read that in overall you enjoyed your visit to Aphrodite Hills, which is always more atttractive and lively during the spring, autumn and summer months. However there are still faclities available for our guest during the winter months that can be enjoyed i.e. The Retreat Spa, our Nature Trails, the Horse riding and even a challenging game of Tennis or Golf when weather permits.

Nevertheless we are delighted to read that you managed to venture off the resort and explore the nearby mountain areas of our beautiful island and picturesque villages.

Hoping that we may have the pleasure in welcoming you back again very soon during a different time of the year, so you may experience the true Aphrodite Hills holiday.

Kind regards
Andreas Christodoulides
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
144 helpful votes 144 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

HOTEL
We had a suite for two nights. The bed was very comfortable but we found the twin duvets over one mattress impractical. They changed them for a double, impressively fast, for which we were grateful. The suite itself was spacious and clean, having separate sleeping, sitting and work areas. Complimentary half bottle of wine and some fruit were laid out for our arrival, plus a bottle of water and the usual mini bar and coffee-making facilities, safe and hairdryer. The bathroom is excellent, having a large walk-in shower with great water pressure and a separate bath. Unfortunately the bath is so large it is uncomfortable (with a straight back, so impossible to lie down) and impractical, which was very disappointing. I wonder how much of the valuable Cyprus water is wasted while people discover that. The marble floors are very, very slippery. Lovely Korres products (no body lotion), and a magnifying mirror with no light but dimmer switches on the overheads was great for during the night. Slippers would only fit the feet of a dinosaur. The rooms were very warm, despite opening doors. There was music playing very loudly in the nearby lobby until almost midnight each night, which was a bit of a nuisance and spoilt the ambiance of the place, we thought. The telephone in the room wouldn’t work, they couldn’t fix it, and internet access was a whopping 17 euros for 24 hours.

BREAKFAST
Was plentiful and of a good quality, most of the breads and small sweet pastries being made on the premises. There is a great choice of these, hot food and fruit. However the room is very poorly lit and it seemed a little depressing in there, which was a shame as they had not done a bad job at all.

SPA
I had a facial treatment in the spa and only realised after she had started that the therapist had not washed her hands before she had started, which again she failed to do after my foot massage which was in the middle of the facial. Yuck. All in all I found the spa disappointing, as there are no communal saunas/steam rooms - the ladies have a sauna in their changing rooms and gents have a sauna and steam room in theirs, which makes going as a couple relatively pointless. There is no indoor pool (which I found hard to believe, but I asked twice) so this is all that's on offer apart from a good choice of body and facial treatments and listening to plinky plonky music.

RESORT
The resort itself was largely closed, being winter-time, but contains a supermarket, various coffee shops and restaurants and other shops. We dined at one of the pubs, which was adequate but nothing special. I asked for a lemon with my fish and chips and it came when I had finished eating. There was football playing on big screens which was distracting and unpleasant if that's not your thing.

WALKING
Unless they have included special disabled ramps, I would say this resort is not suitable for anyone with mobility issues as there are little flights of stairs everywhere outside. The most frustrating thing about the communal areas in the "village" was the lack of signposts - yes, there are information points playing more plinky plonky music, from which you can presumably see a map, but a few signposts in strategic places would have been much more useful. Added to which, the lighting is absolutely horrendous at night and you easily can do what I did – trip over a raised flowerbed in the complete blackness, and hurt yourself.

OVERALL FEELING
Was very good. The views from the rooms are lovely. It is peaceful, green and you can see the sea. There was a great sized balcony off our room but no chair cushions, so we could not sit outside and enjoy the view, but we had a relaxing time and the staff were friendly and courteous. Definitely one of the best hotels in Cyprus, but they need to sort out the outdoor lighting issue at least.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICCyprus, General Manager at InterContinental Aphrodite Hills Resort, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear Reviewer

Warmest greetings to you from InterContinental Aphrodite Hills and our true thanks to you for taking the time and trouble to submit your very detailed review of our hotel and resort.

We are pleased to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us had managed to have a relaxing break with us. Many thanks for your numerous comments and observations you have shared with us, which we have definitely taken on board and will be considering for this coming season.

We sincerely hope however that these points raised will not deter you from returning to our hotel again very soon and allowing us the pleasure of welcome you back to Aphrodite Hills.

Until then, kind regards from us all
Andreas Christodoulides
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

The Intercontinental Aphrodite hills is an excellent 5* hotel in the Aphrodite Hills Golf Resort. The hotel has everything expected from the top class Intercontinental Brand. Spacious Lobbies, Nice Bar, Verandas with Amazing Mediterranean Views, Immaculate Gardens, Top Class Restaurants and Very Good Customer Service. The facilities also include the Retreat Spa that definitely worths a visit. The rooms are spacious, nicely decorated and well maintained. Two slight negative points: the hotel consists of 300 rooms, thus some walking is required to reach some of the hotels' facilities depending on your room allocation (Contact reservations in advance to ask for a room close to the reception). The restaurants and bars get busy and noisy (especially with children), not aware whether there are any adult only areas where you can be in a more calm and tranquil environment. All in all, a very nice hotel with excellent facilities in an amazing location.

Room Tip: The deluxe golf & sea view rooms are an excellent choice (ask for rooms near the reception for y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICCyprus, General Manager at InterContinental Aphrodite Hills Resort, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear Reviewer

Warm greetings to you from InterContinental Cyprus and a very Happy New Year.

We would like to thank you for taking a moment to submit your kind review of our hotel and resort following your recent stay with and are delighted to read that you have thoroughly enjoyed your holiday experience with us.

Our kind thanks for sharing these positive comments with us and your comments, which we will be sharing among the team and conveying your kind words of praise.

We sincerely hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again very soon. Meantime we wish you all the very best for 2013.

Kind regards from us all
Andreas Christodoulides
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental Aphrodite Hills Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Aphrodite Hills Resort

Address: 1, Aphrodite Avenue, Kouklia 8509, Cyprus
Phone Number:
Location: Cyprus > Paphos District > Kouklia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kouklia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Aphrodite Hills Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 290
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award-winning InterContinental Aphrodite Hills Resort Hotel is uniquely and scenically located at the heart of the internationally recognised Aphrodite Hills Resort. Situated near Pafos and overlooking the very site where Aphrodite, the goddess of love, is said to have emerged from the waves. Contemporary and elegant, the Hotel is a haven for devotees of luxury and comfort, offering the ultimate in five-star facilities and service. Aphrodite Hills Resort is a luxury hotspot offering a fantastic array of facilities such as an 18-hole championship Golf Course, a Golf Academy, a Greco-Roman Spa, Tennis and a Tennis Academy, a multi-purpose court, two exclusive Beach Clubs, horse riding, nature and bike trails, a variety of bars and restaurants, Kids' Club with a playground and extensive conference facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your InterContinental Aphrodite Hills Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Aphrodite Hills Hotel Kouklia
Intercontinental Paphos
Aphrodite Hills Paphos
Aphrodite Hills Resort
InterContinental Aphrodite Hills Resort Cyprus/Kouklia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Aphrodite Hills Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.