We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little niggles - but overall it's hard to fault .” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sensatori Resort Aphrodite Hills Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Sensatori Resort Aphrodite Hills Hotel to your Saves list
Sensatori Resort Aphrodite Hills Hotel
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   1, Aphrodite Avenue, Kouklia 8509, Cyprus   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kouklia
Nuneaton
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Little niggles - but overall it's hard to fault .”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

My wife and I just returned from a 10 day stay at this superb resort (our fourth visit ) because we've found nothing in Europe to match it for the the quality of the rooms , service , food , spa , golf and the weather . I've given it four rather than five stars simply because they closed the two a la carte restaurants for the whole stay and the pool bar for part . We had been the same time of year previously and they were open .We had to use the buffet restaurant every night and we don't like eating dinner with fellow diners dressed in sports shorts and flip flops - please take note Aphrodite ...... premium prices should be matched by premium standards !
They have introduced a great value bus service into Paphos for one euro - it costs a small fortune by taxi !
Much to commend the place and we would certainly recommend it and will return.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICCyprus, General Manager at Sensatori Resort Aphrodite Hills Hotel, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear Reviewer and valued repeat guest,

Warm greetings to you from InterContinental Cyprus and many thanks for taking the time to submit your review of our hotel following your fourth stay with us.

We greatly appreciate your varied feedback of this year's holiday experience with us and for the "food for thought" with regards to our F&B operations and service. Thankyou !

We sincerely hope however that this issue will not deter you from visiting or hotel again and giving us the pleasure of welcoming you back to Aphrodite Hills in the near future.

Until then, kind regards
Andreas Christodoulides
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

870 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    481
    218
    100
    50
    21
See reviews for
316
330
19
47
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
peterborough, uk
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Myself, husband and 1 year old daughter stayed here for a couple of nights in October 2012 following a previous visit two years prior when we got Married here!
We were so excited to return and had a wonderful time. The hotel is beautiful, staff are very good, hence the 5 star rating however we were left disappointed with a few things..
We were advised in October most of the restaurants would still be open and a variety of hotel entertainment would be on hand, however this was not the case. During our stay there was only the Buffet restaurant and Italian open both nights, although this was ok for us we would have liked the option to dine elsewhere for the experience (We had been to both of these on a previous visit). We were on a bed & breakfast basis, the breakfast is the best I have ever experienced. There is so much choice and everything cooked to perfection.
There was no entertainment for my little girl. She loved the enormous pool during the day – which was very quiet and plenty of sunbeds available, but in the evenings we were back in the room by 8:00pm, and put movies on for her which we had to pay for as there was nothing else to keep her occupied.
I emailed the hotel a couple of times prior to our arrival, mentioning our wedding & requesting a cheeky upgrade but unfortunately there was no mention of our wedding at all throughout our stay, despite email responses acknowleding this, there was no goodwill gesture of anything, which from a 5 star hotel I would have expected.
The food at the Italian was lovely – the Pizza’s and garlic bread are huge and they do half size portions of pasta for children, but it was very busy due to it being the only a'la carte open and we felt the service was very slack, there were obvious tables that the waiters couldn’t do enough for whereas others completely ignored.
We visited the Anoi pub a couple of times which had a great relaxing atmosphere and a good varied menu. Service was very good. Wonderful views. There is a lift up to the pub - which we only found an hour before our departure!
We loved relaxing on the golf terrace in the afternoons.
A lot of people who stay here were on business or went solely for the golf (Or wives to pamper themselves!!).
I think it can be slightly boring if you’re here just for a family holiday, this time of year anyway!
The staff are lovely, porters and reception staff are first class.
The resort is wheelchair and pushchair friendly, but only after a lot of looking around!! It was a maze trying to find ramps to use instead of stairs.
We would return to Aphrodite Hills but I think may try a villa next time, and although the weather was perfect in October I would maybe go in June or September in some hope there is a little more going on for families.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICCyprus, General Manager at Sensatori Resort Aphrodite Hills Hotel, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear Reviewer and repeat guest,

Warm regards to your from all of us here at InterContinental Cyprus and our genuine thanks to you for taking the time to submit your review of our hotel following your recent second visit.

We truly appreciate that you have shared this return holiday experience with us and advised us of plus and minuses of your stay at our resort. We regret if there were some areas of our property that may have not met with your expectations especially during this time of the year and sincerely hope that this will not deter you from making the plans you have mentioned for a possible visit in June or September in the coming years. Do not hesitate to let us know if you are considering this soon.

Meanwhile, many thanks to you once again for this review and we hope to see the whole back again very soon.

Kind regards
Andreas Christodoulides
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Travelling with another couple, we stayed in the hotel for a week in October 2012 playing golf located outside the hotel. The hotel is situated on a hill overlooking the sea. (Be sure to get a room with sea view.). The hotel is nicely decorated, Greece inspired; the rooms are first class and the staff both attentive and friendly. Actually, we found the staff to be much more attentive than the staff experienced in some other Intercontinental resort hotels we have stayed in. The prices within the hotel are "Scandinavian", i.e. in the upper scale, but not unreasonable expensive considering this being a 5-star hotel.

A big plus is the possibility of shopping in a near by grocery store. It is allowed by the hotel to bring drinks etc to your room (not using the minibar as fridge though). The grocery store is just a couple of minutes away from the hotel entrance. And you will find several restaurants just outside the hotel as well. No cash is needed. You can charge the bill to your room.

It is hard to find anything to complain about. The only minus: it was not possible to get a jacket dry cleaned in three days. We would definitely recommend the hotel to couples looking for a pleasant week of golf and relaxation.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms facing the pool (some noise). Ask for rooms along the golf course 9 or rooms on the thir...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICCyprus, General Manager at Sensatori Resort Aphrodite Hills Hotel, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear Reviewer

Warmest greetings to you from InterContinental Cyprus and many thanks for taking the time to submit your positive review of our hotel following your recent stay with us.

It gives us great pleasure to read that you have enjoyed your golfing holiday at Aphrodite Hills and managed to relax while with us and indulge in the plethora of facilities and amenties we have on offer for our guests.

Many thanks for all your kind recommendations and tips to other reviewers and we hope to have the pleasure in welcoming you back again very soon for another memorable stay.

Kind regards from us all
Andreas Christodoulides
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nantwich, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

This was our first visit to this resort when we travelled at the beginning of September. It was a perfect time for a couple with no children to visit as the school summer holidays were over. The pool area was so quiet during the week getting busier with locals at the weekend as there was a big Cypriot wedding on at the Hotel Chapel. The pool area itself was lovely. Very clean and plenty of sunbeds. Perfect to relax and unwind.

The staff were fantastic - nothing was too much trouble and they were so friendly. Our room was a good size with a balcony overlooking the golf course and sea. The bed was so comfortable - we slept really well all week. As an Intercontinental Ambassador we were supposed to get complimentary water daily but this didn't always happen. We did eventually get this resolved after complaining twice though!

On the second day of our holiday, the pool towel attendant was no longer at the poolside which we weren't told. Towels were supposed to be delivered daily to the room but this didn't happen and we had to ask for fresh pool towels on a few occasions.

We didn't have a bad meal the whole time we were there and ate on the resort every night. The only real gripe we had with the Hotel/Resort is that they didn't advise us on our arrival that many of the restaurants would be closing that week. Mid week we spoke to the Concierge and got a schedule of what was open and closed. Unfortunately because we weren't advised this on arrival, we missed eating at a couple of the restaurants because they closed whilst we were there.

Many of the reviews do say that the resort is expensive - it is - but what you would expect from a resort of that caliber. We had a car and went into Paphos a couple of times but couldn't wait to get back!!

All in all a beautiful location, clean, good food, lovely atmosphere - perfect for a 'relax & unwind' holiday! Would recommend a walk around the golf course even if you don't play golf! The golf club is lovely for lunch as well - such a relaxing atmosphere with a beautiful view.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICCyprus, General Manager at Sensatori Resort Aphrodite Hills Hotel, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear Reviewer

Greetings to you from InContinental Aphrodite Hills and our genuine thanks for your kind review of our hotel with regards to your recent stay with us.

We are delighted to read that you have managed to "relax & unwind" while at Aphrodite Hills and indulge in the numerous facilities on offer to our valuable guests. Please accept our apologies for the several issues that arose during your stay which we truly hope will not deter you from possibly visiting us again in the not too distant future.

We all hope to have the pleasure in welcoming you back again very soon for another "relaxing holiday".

Until then, kind regards
Andreas Christodoulides
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Storrington
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 12 nights and were very impressed with the high standards. We had a half board deal and in theory were able to offset our meal allowance when dining at an alacarte restaurant. This was not always possible and there seemed to be a lack of cohesion between the management and the restaurants and not all were open. The food in the Eleanos buffet restaurant was always first class and with different themes each night. The service in this restaurant was always excellent and of special note was the Cypriot manager who was very attentive and friendly. My only criticism was the price of wine which was extorninate at 28 euros for an average bottle of local wine. Cappucino was 11 euros for 2 from the pool bar and in a plastic cup. The trick here is to buy wine from the on site supermarket which offered a greater choice at more realistic prices.
Service throughout the hotel was seamless and the staff very well trained, we were shown to our room and the porter service very efficient. Our room was well equipped and spotless, room service was great, we had a garden view which was very pleasant and quiet. We played golf 4 times and the course is exceptional and well marshalled. Buggies are essential and there are concessions for people with mobility problems to use buggies on the fairways, except when the course was wet and this was a problem for some. Local bus service to Paphos for 1 euro from the hotel is very good value for money and we recommend the shuttle service to the hotel's beach club where towels are provided and there are 2 good restaurants.

Room Tip: Rooms with a garden view are very pleasant but there are better rooms with a view of the golf course...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICCyprus, General Manager at Sensatori Resort Aphrodite Hills Hotel, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
Dear Reviewer

Warm greetings to you from InterContinental Cyprus and many thanks for taking the time and trouble to submit you kind review of our hotel following your recent stay with us.

The whole team and I are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us and have rated very highly our facilities, service and quality. We are pleased to also read that you have managed to indugle in some of these facilites while with us and have had a very pleasure experience.

We are sorry to hear that some of our beverage prices have not met your expectations, however we would like to assure you that our pricing is consistently monitored and maintained at all times in line with all other 5-star properties.

Nevertheless we sincerely hope that this will not deter you from returning to our hotel again very soon and allowing us the pleasure in welcoming you back to Aphrodite Hills.

Until then,kind regards
Andreas Christodoulides
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

This place is a joke, they claim to be an upscale property but it doesn't measure up! I took my parents here to enjoy some time together , and it was disappointing . They nickel and dime you for everything including early check-in and electric converters for your devices! The food is horrible and you are stuck here with nothing to do or eat that is worth anything. The grounds are nice but be careful when walking around because you may get hit with a golf ball. You need to take a shuttle to the beach , the beach is so rocky that you need water shoes to get around but it's pretty ! They asked us if we wanted to get in our room early since it was ready but didn't tell us they were going to charge us for it, and once we got in my parent's room didn't have sheets on the bed, what was that??? I complained and they had someone come and finish the job, I would have never knew this because my parents don't like to complain, but I visited there room to see how things were since I found hair in my bathroom and not the ones from someone's head, wow! , I want things to be perfect for my parents because they don't get out much or stay at fancy hotel! We stayed here in May of 2010 so they can meet my future wife since they live in Cyprus and heard many nice things about this property from all the locals and they were very disappointed because I spend good money for a below avg. hotel. I wanted to show my now wife the birth place of Aphrodite since she is big on Greek mythology . Staff really didn't give us the level of service we expected ,most guest are Brits or other Europeans who don't tip and they put us in that category until they realized we Tip and they were falling over each other to help, how tacky but real funny to see, word gets around real fast once they see €20 notes passed around, lol. This place was a joke, not like the four seasons in Limassol . If you don't mind eating the worst food in Cyprus , having to take a shuttle to a rocky beach and nickeled and dime for things that should be included in a luxury resort come and stay here!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICCyprus, General Manager at Sensatori Resort Aphrodite Hills Hotel, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear Reviewer

Greetings to you from Aphrodite Hills and we thank you for taking the time to submit your review following your stay with us in May this year.

Rest assured your comments and impressions of our hotel, facilities, services and standards have been noted and considered as valuable feedback for us to review.

We genuinely hope that this experience will not deter you from returning again to our hotel and offering us the pleasure of welcoming you and your parents back again very soon.

Regards
Andreas Christodoulides
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

This is our fourth visit to this excellent hotel. We stayed in a Club Room with a beautiful pool to ourselves. The views over the golf course to the sea are to die for and we wouldn’t miss our dose of Aphrodite Hills luxury for anything. From the moment we arrived in reception we relaxed and were whisked by golf cart down to the Club Lounge where our friends, the same staff as last year, were waiting with drinks and a trouble free check-in. It is probably the staff that make the difference at this property as they are discreetly on hand to ensure you have nothing but a great stay. Our room was just right with a decent sized bath and shower room plus a seating area in the suite with a settee and writing desk and chair. Plenty of wardrobe space and a safe. Outside a personal pool with loungers and umbrellas make this an idyllic place to relax and unwind. The resort is well designed and we made extensive use of the top class spa. We really wished that our four Granddaughters and their parents had been with us as the hotel has a fabulous children’s play area. A new mini-pool has been added to the already wide range of swings, slides etc.

Perhaps the only small moan was that as we were there in early October the Hotel must have decided, for business and bottom-line reasons, that it should close most of the excellent restaurants on the property. Only one was available and every night we had to eat in there. The food, as always, was really well presented and varied and we enjoyed our meals. It was boring however to eat there every night. There were a couple of other places to eat in the resort area but neither offered the sort of dining we like-on offer at these places were pizzas and pasta and a pub which might suit some people we accept. We will try to go earlier next year but October is a good value month at Aphrodite Hills.

We will be back and it just remains for us to recommend this property wholeheartedly. Thank you to the team for making our stay so relaxing and enjoyable.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICCyprus, General Manager at Sensatori Resort Aphrodite Hills Hotel, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
Dear Reviewer

Warmest greetings to you from the InterContinenta Cyprus and our genuine thanks to you for your kind review of our hotel following your recent fourth stay with us.

It is very pleasing to read that you have thoroughly enjoyed your return stay. For the moment of check in, your room, our club lounge team, we are delighted that everything has contributed to making this stay a memorable one for your once again.

We are sorry to hear that your dining experience however did not meet with your expectations of our hotel, however apart from the hotel main restaurant there were also additional options also available every evening at our resort village square, where our outlets were in operation on rotation basis.

Nevertheless, we sincerely hope that this will not deter from returning to our hotel again soon and offering us the pleasure of welcoming you back again for a 5th visit.

Until then, kind regards from all of us
Andreas Christodoulides
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sensatori Resort Aphrodite Hills Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sensatori Resort Aphrodite Hills Hotel

Address: 1, Aphrodite Avenue, Kouklia 8509, Cyprus
Phone Number:
Location: Cyprus > Paphos District > Kouklia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kouklia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Sensatori Resort Aphrodite Hills Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 290
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The luxurious, five star Aphrodite Hills Hotel is uniquely and scenically located on a plateau overlooking the legendary birthplace of Aphrodite midst the glittering blue Mediterranean Sea, the hotel fabulously combines the classic with the contemporary. Ideal for both couples and families alike, Aphrodite Hills Hotel is the perfect getaway for those wanting to just relax as well as sports enthusiasts looking to improve their swing or backhand. Contemporary, elegant and set in an area steeped with Cypriot culture, mythology and tradition, the hotel is a lifestyle haven for devotees of luxury and comfort and the first Resort hotel of its kind in Cyprus. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Sensatori Resort Aphrodite Hills Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Aphrodite Hills Hotel Kouklia
Intercontinental Paphos
Aphrodite Hills Paphos
Aphrodite Hills Resort
Sensatori Resort Aphrodite Hills Hotel Cyprus/Kouklia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sensatori Resort Aphrodite Hills Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.