We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"truly wonderful"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Thanasis Place

Thanasis Place
Main Street, Kouklia, Cyprus
(+) 357 26432 000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 11 Restaurants in Kouklia
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Doing business, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“"truly wonderful"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Anyone who visits Paphos should include a visit to Thananis' place. This is a wonderful traditional Cypriot restaurant in a lovely village. Sophia and Thananis welcome all guests personally and the quality of food is exceptional. We initially visited this Taverna on recommendations from Tripadvisor and we were totally impressed. The Cypriot evening on Fridays is not to be missed, wonderful!. Whether you have the set menu on a choice from the main menu, enjoy, you will not disappointed; the deep fried Squid is the best I have tasted in many a year. We went back to this restaurant 3 times in a week with our friends and did not want to leave. Sophia and Thanasis are wonderful hosts and their enthusiasm for their restaurant is to be applauded.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    145
    13
    7
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A little gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Due to the excellent recommendations on Trip Advisor our party of four enthusiastically reserved a table for Friday's Cypriot evening and we certainly were not disappointed. The entertainment was excellent and Thanasis and Sofia could not have been more welcoming to their spotlessly clean and well organised taverna. The menu provided a wide choice of meat, poultry and fish (the best calamari we have tasted) with a separate set menu of 3 courses for €15 and all of our food was delicious with some good local wines.....so much so we returned a further couple of times and we will certainly visit again. If you want good local food in a truly unspoilt surrounds you will find Thanasis hard to beat.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great local food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

The taverna has a very warm and friendly atmosphere, the staff are very attentive making sure your food is to your liking and offering advice on local wines.

My family all went for the set menu 3 courses €15, it was amazing, very good value for money, dishes were excellent, including sword fish, sea bass... the local wine that was recommended was also very good.

Would highly recommend, great local food in a local village unspoilt by tourists

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Delicious food at good prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

Found this restaurant through a guide left at our villa. Lovely restaurant with great atmosphere and most importantly delicious food at reasonable prices. We had the set menu (3 courses for €15).

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paphos, Cyprus
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“simply the best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

I went to thanasis place because a friend said that it was excellent. when we got there we sat on a table and we ordered food.The waitress sofia came and brought us our food.The food was the best and i have to say that thanasis place really stands out from the other taverns.we will definitely be visiting again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thanasis Place also viewed

Kouklia, Paphos District
Letymvou, Paphos District
 
Kouklia, Paphos District
Paphos, Paphos District
 

Been to Thanasis Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thanasis Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.