We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okayish” 3 of 5 stars
Review of NH Conference Center Leeuwenhorst

Save Saved
You added NH Conference Center Leeuwenhorst to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
NH Conference Center Leeuwenhorst
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Langelaan 3, Noordwijkerhout 2211, The Netherlands (Formerly NH Leeuwenhorst)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Doetinchem, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Okayish”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Stayed here for one night. Some rooms are a little tired and need some remoddeling done. But bidgetwise its a great value for money. There's a free parking space and you can rent bikes. We rented bikes and made a trip along the beach to Zandvoort.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    87
    141
    96
    29
    6
See reviews for
49
144
13
82
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glenrothes, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013 via mobile

I have been at thr IFC conference on 4 occasions and stayed here at the conference centre twice. Rooms are of a good standard and the facilities excellent. The food has been Buffett style, plentiful and a good choice.
The staff are friendly and helpful.
Not much around the hotel if you are here on holiday though.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

This is a business hotel that is perfect for conferences but has little charm or character. Staff are very helpful but the food was overpriced, particularly I the Dali lounge for dinner in the evening. Rooms were practical,but again devoid of character

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Egypt
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Helpful staff, good services, good price and quiet place good water quality. Easy to communicate in an obvious English language clear dialect. Room services were very polite an provided me with all my needs on time





  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

I got a feeling like the senior management at this hotel were running a scam/ hustle--churning through people and customers, over-selling under delivering, and over-charging wherever they could.
This hotel is a former seminary--out in the middle of nowhere and rooms were designed for ministers-to-be, not contemporary hotel guests. Result? An a quiet hotel in a very quiet/remote location with outdated rooms. Positives: quiet! can rent a bike and ride to the little seaside resort in 20 mins, good food. Negatives: seriously overpriced, nothing to do, hopeless wifi so you have to buy the daily package, problems with the bill and a computer system that made it difficult to correct and a few rather unpleasant staff.
I read another review complaining about trying to get the bill corrected after check out and the nightmare they had, so I looked carefully at my bill. I stayed 4 nights and had a bill for roughly 1100 euros. I looked at it carefully and had been overcharged for food in the amount of approx 10-yes 10 additional dinners! I had to explain that I was traveling alone, did not buy dinner for 10 random people at the conference, had a dinner away one night, and then wait for the staff member to struggle with the difficult computer system.
Other guests had the same problem when we were checking out--overcharged on wifi, dinner--and staff getting annoyed and defending accounts that were obviously ridiculous. In the end my bill was corrected to 800, but I was unhappy with the systems and approaches this hotel has.
The staff were very mixed. Most were very helpful and friendly, a few were outstandingly unfriendly or just unhappy about working in a service industry. I would give it a 1 out of 5 if it were not for some of the good staff and good food.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

If you are visiting the Leeuwenhorst area for business or for pleasure, please consider staying elsewhere and read the negative reviews about this hotel, which are extremely accurate. Here was our experience:
1. The reception staff are rude, unhelpful and mislead travellers. Here are some examples: 1) We booked a non-smoking room online and paid in advance. When we arrived, we were directed to a room at the opposite end of the hotel from our conference, overlooking a rusty, unappealing rooftop. It was a smoking room and the smell was overwhelming (it obviously had not been aired in a very long time). When we informed reception, they said “Sure, we’ll move you, but you’ll need to go to a smaller room” - even though we booked several months in advance for a non smoking room, and it is a huge hotel. 2) We enquired about the nearest supermarket/local village to buy food at, and were advised by reception staff: “It’s 45 minutes away and really expensive to travel to. We strongly recommend that you eat at the hotel – would you like to pay for buffet?” – Not true, as there is a beach with shops 10-15 mins away, as we discovered on Trip Advisor. 3) We ordered a taxi from reception to leave the hotel (to visit a local restaurant after discovering the buffet dinner was really poor at the hotel). The taxi driver overcharged us (30 euro) and took us via a long route – it was a luxury taxi even though we had not requested this. Our return taxi (booked by the independent restaurant) charged 18 euros return. 4) On our final night, we had made a booking for the buffet at the restaurant so we could prepare for an early morning flight the next day. This was put on our room tab and we were given a ‘Voucher’ that was assigned to our room. We were unable to find in from our paperwork, & went to reception to let them know. They advised us “No, we can’t give you another voucher: How can we trust you, and how do we know that you haven’t just given it away & are not being honest?” Due to this response, we instead requested that the hotel cancel the dinner voucher from our tab – since we obviously had not used it (it was assigned specifically to our room as conference delegates) so could only be redeemed by us! Separate to this, there was no buffet on offer anyway (the restaurant was closed that night) but the cost had been put on our tab and they had happily sold us a voucher. 5) Reflecting this same mistrust of guests, we were advised when we initially checked in that it wasn’t possible to borrow an adaptor from the front desk, due to too many prior guests “stealing them" from the hotel. This is a business / conference hotel, but expect to pay for an adaptor from their in-hotel “shop”.
2) The cleaning staff were extremely noisy during the day – making excessive noise while cleaning nearby rooms to the detriment of guests being able to use their rooms during the day – there was lots of banging on walls.
3) They charge you to use the facilities at the hotel, including a gym and sauna, which are promoted as being available for guests.
4) The dinner buffet is overcooked and is of poor quality (breakfast is better than dinner; however the coffee isn’t great).
5) There is no mini bar or fridge in the rooms, nor any air conditioning.
6) TV reception drops out frequently so you can only watch TV sometimes and at other times it does not work entirely.
7) The rooms are decrepit, old and very dated, as well as small, and do not offer good value. Some conference delegates commented that the conference rooms had an “odour” to them, which we attributed to lack of fresh air / poor maintenance of the overall facilities. I recommend reading an earlier review about the ‘lampshades’ which includes pictures.
8) Possibly the worst attribute for a business hotel – the wi fi that’s promoted as “free” from Swisscom repeatedly drops out and fails, even though you are given access in 24 hour blocks (i.e. it’s promoted as this, but you’ll actually be cut off and forced to pay for a better, paid service). During 3-4 days, our wi fi access dropped out repeatedly, often at key times that we needed to send emails. Additionally, the “internet café” in the main foyer was closed whenever we went past it – so it’s not a viable option at lots of times during the day (leaving guests to either have inconsistent/no access to the internet; or to pay dearly for it).

We have just travelled to this hotel from the NH Hotel in Salzburg, Austria, which was beautiful, reflected excellent value for money, and had very friendly and helpful staff… plus a “free” sauna and a good location. The issues reflected here are not indicative of NH hotels in general, rather this specific conference centre.

This is a beautiful part of South Holland (near the tulip fields in Spring) with a pretty local beach 10-15 mins away – there are much better options available if you do your research for both accommodation and dining.

Room Tip: Don't stay here, but if you absolutely must, try to get a room overlooking the tulip fields (alt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here from Thursday to Sunday in Sept. hotel and facilities good. Ate in a la carte restaurant once. quite expensive but food ok. Wasn't able to eat in the other restaurant as this was reserved for conference delegates. The Chinese restaurant in the casino next door is great value and well worth a visit.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to NH Conference Center Leeuwenhorst? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Conference Center Leeuwenhorst

Address: Langelaan 3, Noordwijkerhout 2211, The Netherlands (Formerly NH Leeuwenhorst)
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Noordwijkerhout
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Noordwijkerhou...
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Conference Center Leeuwenhorst 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with NHHotels, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, Agoda and HotelsClick so you can book your NH Conference Center Leeuwenhorst reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Leeuwenhorst Hotel Noordwijkerhout
Nh Leeuwenhorst Noordwijkerhout
Nh Hotels Noordwijkerhout

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NH Conference Center Leeuwenhorst, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.