We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Epic and Awesome” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rydges Bell City Hotel & Residences

Save Saved
You added Rydges Bell City Hotel & Residences to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rydges Bell City Hotel & Residences
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   215 Bell Street, Preston, Darebin, Victoria 3072, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Preston
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Epic and Awesome”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

This is my second stay here in this hotel and I loved it. The viewing of the city on level 7 was awe-inspiring and was so great too look at, especially at night when the city lights are on. Superb!
The rooms were nice and clean and the sleep quality was dreamy!

Car parking underground is a safe and hidden way to keep your cars from any burglars and thieves (especially when you go to the fourth floor its amazing how much underground you are).

Two concerns with this hotel is that the room I booked had the dishwasher leaking water and it wet the carpet and the place. Please fix those awful dishwashers as they are not suitable for a hotel like this one. Also soft close toilet seats are needed to reduce the sound made when closing the lids and making that loud bang.

The buffet breakfast we had was not the type I expected it to be. We got free buffet coupons after the dishwasher incident. The buffet needs to be expanded more and some of the staff were a bit rude at the hotel we stayed. But the food isn't that much of my concern but the dishwashers were.

Overall I would definitely come back to stay as long as those dishwashers are gone!

Room Tip: Book a room on the sixth or seventh floor viewing the city so you can view Melbourne City!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MgrBellCity, Marketing Coordinator at Rydges Bell City Hotel & Residences, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Hi Fawful X,

Thank you for your epically awesome review of your stay here at Rydges Bell City, we enjoyed reading it. Your tip for a seventh floor room is a great one, and we hope that you are back again soon to enjoy it again. Our maintenance team is looking into the dishwasher issue you experienced, and rectifying it. Look forward to having you stay with us again.

Kind Regards,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    47
    94
    56
    22
    31
See reviews for
54
60
28
76
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Lorne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

I was worried after reading some of the other reviews but went ahead and booked due to convenience of locality. I was very happy with the room - a Manhattan Queen Room with cooking facilities. The room was quiet, had views of the city, was clean, bed was comfy, air conditioning good to have, decor was pleasant, bathroom fine, good toiletries, good coffee (for instant coffee anyway, as it was Moccona). There were no indications of hauntings as suggested in other reviews! Services provided at the front desk including check-in and check-out were helpful friendly and efficient. Parking was a breeze and although parking is an extra charge it is minimal. I didn't eat there so can't comment on food, If I was to make any constructive criticism I would say the oven is too high, being in an overhead cupboard. I would need a step ladder to use it. This was not a problem for me as I didn't cook - was only staying overnight. Yes I would stay again. Thanks!

Room Tip: My south wing room had a view of city and was quiet. There is a construction site below, but being...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MgrBellCity, Marketing Coordinator at Rydges Bell City Hotel & Residences, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Hi TracyinVic,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us, we are so pleased to hear that you had a great stay (and also to hear that you experienced no haunting!). We will pass the lovely feedback on to our front of house staff. Hopefully next time you stay with us you will have the opportunity to dine at one of our in house restaurants, and experience the great seasonal menu’s our executive chef, Tony Baker, designs. Looking forward to having you back!

Kind Regards,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bendigo, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

I have stayed here many years ago and found the rooms to be very large and spacious. I enjoy having a room with a kitchenette which mine did. I found the window furniture very good with two stage blinds, one for general privacy and a second for light block out which can aide in sleep ins.
The bed was very comfortable and I could not fault the sleep comfort.
There was a reverse cycle heater in the room which, once I figured out the modes, kept the room quite comfortable temperature wise.
I had a mini bar which was emptied so I could store my own beverages in which was large enough for many items.
The shower was little bit old school and close to the toilet in the same are which meant water from the shower pooled around the toilet floor area. A little bit dangerous if you go to the toilet during the night with potential slip danger but I always dry up the water with the bath mat and towel which were changed daily. The shower however was large and the water head allowed good water flow. I love my showers and this is important to me.
Nice LED TV which could be rotated to be viewed anywhere in the room.
Breakfast at Chill was very nice with a good spread of cooked bacon/eggs and trimmings and a comfortable area to eat it in.
I did also visit the gym which could do with a little upgrade but compared to some hotels I have stayed it did the job of filling in some down time and burning off a few bevvies (beer)
The lifts were a little bit slow and lacking for the number of rooms and floors but as it was an old hospital you can't really blame the hotel as they could only work with what was available. I didn't mind taking the steps a few flights. (Burn off a few more frothies)
Overall I can honestly say that I enjoyed my stay. I have stayed in many hotels from 5 star to 2 star or unrated and find it is always what you make of it. At the end of the day as long as it's a good bed, good shower and good grub, it gets my thumbs up.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MgrBellCity, Marketing Coordinator at Rydges Bell City Hotel & Residences, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Hi KevHC,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us, we appreciate the feedback. We have passed the great comments on to the respective departments, and have taken note of your comment regarding the safety in the showers. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon.


Kind Regards,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater Adelaide, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013 via mobile

Stay clear of this hotel unless you want to be treated poorly, stay in a filthy room that is not cleaned properly and be ripped off with room rates.
This hotel has no interest in keeping a customer satisfied which is quite apparent from when you first enter the establishment.
I have stayed in hotels all around the world and by far this is the worst I have ever come across.
The salon downstairs also lacks any customer service and did such a poor job with hair and make up I ended up redoing it all myself.
I also had family staying there and they also had issues with the rooms and booking prices / charged prices.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MgrBellCity, Marketing Coordinator at Rydges Bell City Hotel & Residences, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Hi Katebeks,

We were very concerned to hear that your experience at Rydges Bell City appears not to be of our usual high standard, and we would like to understand more about your stay. Unfortunately the Salon you experienced is not actually run by or affiliated with our hotel, it is a private business that leases space in the complex (as a number of companies do), and while we apologise for your negative experience there, we will need to pass the feedback on to the salon manager. Please contact tim_glass@bellcity.com.au to further explain your stay, so that we are able to address the issues and ensure they are not repeated. We hope to have the opportunity to provide you will a fantastic stay should you choose to stay with us again.

Kind Regards,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

I had a a great big room on a high floor with floor to ceiling windows. It was cold! Apart from that little detail I found this hotel - a former hospital that has been converted - to be terrific accommodation. My room had a kitchenette, the bed was comfortable and the furnishings contemporary and smart. The check in/out service however was terrible.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhianon D, Marketing Coordinator at Rydges Bell City Hotel & Residences, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Hi WernMachine,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us, we really enjoyed reading your positive feedback. The issue you experienced with the temperature concerned us, and we hope that the heating in your room was able to overcome this. We are addressing our front desk team to uncover where the service was not optimal. Hope to see you with us again soon!

Kind Regards,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

We stayed here for two months when we relocated to Melbourne, and I'd recommend it to anyone doing so -- the price was very reasonable and allowed us to take our time apartment hunting. The free shuttle service to the city in the mornings and afternoons is very convenient, and I even saw some guests get offered lifts to the train station a few times.

The 86 tram is a 2-minute walk away, but can take a fair while to get downtown. The train is slightly further (under 1km walk) but is faster.

The staff in all areas of the hotel were always really pleasant and polite when we spoke to them, and had no problems helping us out with various little things ("can we borrow some tape? would you mind stapling this for me? which train goes to blah blah blah?").

We were on the second floor facing west (toward Bell St, which is quite a busy road) and the road noise was not an issue for us at all. We tended to sleep with the window open too, since we like fresh air. The windows are huge, which sometimes meant the room got a little warm since it faced west, but nothing the AC didn't knock down in a few minutes.

My only complaint would be that the bed got a little much for me after two months -- the springs were a bit saggy and the mattress is probably due for replacing soon. Not a huge issue but one that management might like to keep an eye on as the beds get older.

Room Tip: Rooms on the east-facing side of the west wing would probably be a good bet. West-facing gets some m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhianon D, Marketing Coordinator at Rydges Bell City Hotel & Residences, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Hi Jeshhh,

Thank you for the lovely review, we are really happy that you had a great stay here during your relocation. Amy, Kim and the Residences team loved your tips and recommendations, and wish you a happy housewarming for your new place! We've taken on board your bed suggestion, and have noted to check our ordering schedule, thank you. Looking forward to accommodating any friends or relatives that come to visit you in your new city.

Kind Regards,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We chose this hotel as it was closest to family. Prior to check-in I requested a room with floor to ceiling windows above the 5th floor and was told that they had a few available so it shouldn't be a problem. Upon check-in we were given the 5th floor which did not have floor to ceiling windows (supposedly only rooms above the 5th floor have these) and a room with a large cement pillar smack bang in the middle of the room blocking the view. I then told reception my previous request only to be told that they were fully booked and to check back in tomorrow, I did this and once again was told to come back, this then happened again twice and I was finally moved to the 6th floor south wing. Although the view wasn't great (could only see construction) i guess i got what i asked for. Both rooms were nice although the second room was larger, the bathroom was slightly bigger and the appliances were of better quality. The buffet breakfast was worth the extra cost and overall the hotel was okay. Would still go back because it is the most convenient and is decent enough for a short stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhianon D, Marketing Coordinator at Rydges Bell City Hotel & Residences, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Hi Della A,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your stay with us, we appreciate it. We sincerely apologise for your room requests not going to plan, we are looking further into to how this could have happened, and how we can prevent the mishap again in the future. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the room amenities, and had a chance to try our buffet breakfast. Looking forward to your next stay with us.

Kind Regards,

Hotel Managment
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rydges Bell City Hotel & Residences? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Bell City Hotel & Residences

Address: 215 Bell Street, Preston, Darebin, Victoria 3072, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Darebin > Preston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Preston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rydges Bell City Hotel & Residences 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bell City is a hotel complex like no other. Our accommodation options range from the luxurious and sleek open-plan studios to extremely affordable and comfortable budget rooms with access to extensive resort-style facilities. No matter what your budget, Bell City has you covered. With multiple bars and restaurants on site, Bell City has dining and entertainment options for every occasion. Rydges Hotel & Residences Bell City offers luxurious 4.5 star stylish and spacious Manhattan-style open plan 1 & 2 bed studios. All Rydges Hotel rooms feature the Rydges 'Dream Bed', self-contained kitchenettes, lounge and dining area, LCD TV, Foxtel, high speed internet, and stunning views of Melbourne and surrounds. Location: Bell City is perfectly located for any traveller wanting to explore Melbourne’s fashionable inner north just 20 minutes from the CBD and 15 minutes from Tullamarine airport. Access to the city, major hospitals, universities, and inner suburbs is simple, with tram, train and bus stops all within minutes of the hotel. Jump on the 86 tram for quick access to the fantastic eateries and chic stores of the Smith Street, Gertrude Street and Brunswick Street precincts in Fitzroy, head another couple of stops to the Carlton Gardens and Melbourne Museum, or stay on for the full trip to Etihad Stadium and Docklands. Take the train through the scenic Merri Creek reserve straight to the MCG, or continue on to the city for great shopping and even better coffee in its myriad hidden laneways. High Street’s bars, cafes and boutique stores are within easy reach. Local icons include the hip Northcote Social club and the beautiful art deco Westgarth Cinema. Dine in nearby Lygon Street, boasting the finest coffee and Italian restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Rydges Bell City Hotel & Residences reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Bell City Hotel And Residences
Bell City Hotel Residences
Bell City Preston
Rydges Bell City Hotel & Residences Preston, Greater Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rydges Bell City Hotel & Residences, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.