We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Booked for two nights, ran away after 1.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Budget 1 Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Budget 1 Hotel to your Saves list
Budget 1 Hotel
3.0 of 5 Lodge   |   205 Bell Street, Preston, Darebin, Victoria 3072 , Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Booked for two nights, ran away after 1.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

Booked this hotel, from the pictures it looks very clean and reasonably sized. In reality, the carpet is dirty and worn, the window, though shut, let a very cold draft in (and it was summer!).
I had a one bedroom. The toilet was literally in the shower and being 6ft tall, when I lay down in the bed my feet hit the counter over the end of the bed. Had only 3 hrs sleep that night. Paid $60 extra when I moved for a glorious 5 star room, further out but worth the tram fare and walk. I do have to say that the hotel DID promise to refund my second night's room fee, I have yet to check that that has happened. Ok, if you are on extreme budget - at least it is a room.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MgrBellCity, Marketing Coordinator at Budget 1 Hotel, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear JAX_3710,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay, we are disappointed to hear that it didn't live up to our usual standards. One of our keys to ensuring such a great budget price is to ensure the rooms are compact yet functional, including the en-suite. We are glad that you were able to upgrade to the adjoining Rydges Hotel in the Bell City, as it sounds to have suited your expectations more accurately. We hope to provide you with a more comfortable stay should you choose to stay with us again in the future.

Kind Regards,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    11
    5
    4
    5
See reviews for
1
2
15
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

A friend and I stayed for the 2nd time at this place thinking it was ok well after about 3 weeks of staying there we saw the ugly truth. The aircon doesn't work properly, they lost some important documents that were sent express post which were lost between the post office and the reception at Sleep and Go (budget 1)

My friend paid in advance until the Thurs morn and we were rudely interrupted by HK the day before followed by a phone call from reception to ask us why we hadn't vacated the room. We went down to reception to sort it out and were firstly told we hadn't paid for our room service which we had and they then checked and saw we had then they said we had only paid up to the Wednesday but we had paid up until Thurs! So when we mentioned this, the reception guy called the receptionist who had taken the booking and she said she didn't recall my friends conversation with her double checking the departure date on the Thurs morn. When we received the final account, it wasn't itemised. We finally worked out that they had charged us for an extra day which wasn't refunded so we left in disgust! What is it with these corporations taking advantage of honest people! Not only this but they wanted $7.00 per day for parking! What a clip joint this place is!! The reception staff were disinterested! The Room service was ridiculously over priced with a very limited menu.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MgrBellCity, Marketing Coordinator at Budget 1 Hotel, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Hi Debra59,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We apologize for the issues that you experienced with payment and encourage you to get back in contact so that the issue can be fully resolved, if you have not done this yet. Unfortunately our room service offerings are not as extensive as we’d like them to be for budget1hotel, and due to guest feedback we will be reviewing this in the new year with the intention to serve up a great new selection. Our sincerest apologies about the mail being lost en-route to you, our front office staff are looking at procedures around this to ensure it is not repeated. We hope to have the opportunity to serve you better in the future.

Kind Regards,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

We have planned to stay there for 2 nights, but ran away after 1. The budget price was not really budget (100AU), for this price you can find easily something better located with a better room.
This looks like a student accomodation, the room is too much basic and incredible small. The windows do not isolate the airflow. So when is cold, like was in our case, you will be totally frozen. And the worst thing was the bathroom without door. And the shower which goes directly to the toilet. It could be ok, if they wouldl sale it like a SNGL room, but they offered it like a DBL. The only nice thing was flat screen TV of 32.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MgrBellCity, Marketing Coordinator at Budget 1 Hotel, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Hi AntoninaR55,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We apologize that your stay was not what you expected for a budget hotel, and hope to give you a better experience should you come back to Bell City in the future. With the rate at that price it seems that you stayed during a time of high demand, as is often the case when there are large events happening in Melbourne, which in turn pushes the rates higher. We hope that in the future you will be able to experience another of our hotel brands onsite, which have larger rooms.

Kind Regards,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

Nice hotel, only stayed for one night but had everything we needed, microwave, kettle, tv, shower and a comfy bed. Also were able to use the kitchen on every level and the laundry room but wasn't told this when we checked din but not overly bothered as we didn't have time. The 86 tram takes you there pretty much, get off at stop 45 :) best budget hotel for the price. Only negative comment was that our kettle was full of black gunk, maybe loose tea?

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MgrBellCity, Marketing Coordinator at Budget 1 Hotel, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Hi Josh L,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your stay here, we appreciate the positive feedback. Our team is looking into how we can better communicate our wide range of offerings to guests, such as the kitchen and laundry facilities on each floor. We look forward to having you stya with us again soon.

Kind Regards,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

I stayed here as a single traveller for 3 nights in October 2013. The hotel is part of the Rydges complex, so you have access to the facilities over in the 4 star hotel too, such as the internet terminals, restaurant and shop.

The complex is a 10-15 minute easy walk from Bell station, from where you can get the train into Flinders Street station in Melbourne (about a 25 minute journey). There is also a tram stop nearby and there are bus stops just outside. The area is OK - I came back at about 2300 one evening after a trip to Phillip Island and walked back alone from the train station without feeling nervous.

My room was a little studio room with a tv, sink, microwave and fridge, kettle (tea, coffee and milk provided) and a little corner cubicle with a shower and toilet. I was very happy with this, the little cubicle was perfectly adequate for me and the shower actually quite powerful! There was no issue with noise for me. There is also a laundry room on each floor and you can buy detergent from reception.

If you don't mind being outside of the CBD, I'd recommend this hotel as a good budget option. The staff are very friendly and helpful and the bar/diner downstairs is quite nice - I recommend the pizza! Transport links are good, but be aware that the buses do stop running at around 9pm, so you'll need to return to the hotel via train or tram if you're coming back after this time. As I said though, I felt safe walking back from the station late at night.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MgrBellCity, Marketing Coordinator at Budget 1 Hotel, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Hi Catfreak2013,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a lovely review, we are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We love the tips that you have shared, and look forward to having you stay with us again soon.

Kind Regards,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

It is a fairly good budget hotel for travellers who value money over a five star service....the food is good and the staff are amazingly friendly BUT......the toilet in the rooms needs more improvement....We were in a Superior room for two adults and the bathroom if you can call it that...more of a standing shower cubicle is just bad, not enough space to move plus it only has shower curtain and no door... And we were surprised they didn't provide any toothbrush or toothpaste for the guests plus no complimentary bottled water ( you have to get it from their vendo machine) but at least they make up the room very well everyday. Overall, it is a decent accommodation to stay while in Melbourne.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MgrBellCity, Marketing Coordinator at Budget 1 Hotel, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Hi EMERALD914,

Thank you for your lovely review, we appreciate the feedback, and are glad you had a 5 star stay. The bathroom configurations are not as large as in our other hotels onsite, to ensure we can keep the prices for budget1hotel cheap and cheerful. We look forward to having you both stay with us again soon!

Kind Regards,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

I booked a single studio for three nights and for the cheap rate I paid, I have no real complaints. The walls are thin and you could hear TVs or other guests if they talked loudly. The bathroom is a shower curtain hiding the toilet and shower cubicle from the rest of the room, so although I haven't seen any of the twin rooms, I'm not sure I'd stay in one even with a partner, never mind a friend, given the lack of privacy.

The bed is also directly next to the window and you may feel a slight draft - luckily pulling the blind fully down blocked any draft for me but this may be a problem in other rooms.

I didn't eat at the restaurant although I did have a decent snack at the cafe in the Rydges next door, which unfortunately was selling drinks past their sell-by date, quickly rectified once they were told. There's no safe and there's a $10 daily wifi fee, or $15 for two days.

Overall, you get what you pay for so as long as your expectations aren't too high, you'll be OK here.

Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MgrBellCity, Marketing Coordinator at Budget 1 Hotel, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Hi Bergkamp9999,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us here at budget1hotel, we appreciate your feedback. The rooms are compact, and we understand your concerns about the size. We are taking note of guest experiences with noise levels, and looking into how this might be rectified in the future. Our sincerest apologies about your experience at The Pantry Cafe, this feedback has been passed along to the manager there and procedures are being revised to ensure this won’t accidentally happen again. We hope that we see you back again soon.

Kind Regards,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Budget 1 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Budget 1 Hotel

Address: 205 Bell Street, Preston, Darebin, Victoria 3072 , Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Darebin > Preston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Preston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Budget 1 Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 121
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Budget 1 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Budget 1 Hotel Preston, Greater Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Budget 1 Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.