We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“unhappy” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Bell Motor Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Bell Motor Inn to your Saves list
Bell Motor Inn
3.5 of 5 Motel   |   2 Patterson Street, Preston, Darebin, Victoria 3072, Australia (Formerly Golden Chain Bell Motor Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Preston
1 review
“unhappy”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

very unhappy disliked amount of security cameras every where made us feel we were in jail rooms bit out dated free breakfast not some great. staff ok location was good bedding good to sleep on .close to pub

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    9
    3
    3
    4
See reviews for
7
11
5
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
East Victoria Park, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed in Bell Motor Inn for 2 nights and we really enjoyed it. Very clean ,helpful staff, excellent service. The only thing we can recommend is to improve the breakfast.... Yes, it is for free, but they can actually improve it with some more products ... Well , it is close to everything ,so, for those ,that breakfast is actually important,, well , they can order from the previous night and enjoy the breakfast they like with an extra charge. Recommend for families! Quiet and relaxing.

Room Tip: all rooms are good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I stay at this motel over a dozen times a year the owners and staff make you feel like a part of the family the rooms are fantastic and even though the motel is on the corner of bell & Patterson street the traffic noise is practically non existent.
If you are looking for a nice clean well kept with friendly staff motel at a very reasonable price then look no further than this motel.
Thanks guys for always looking after me.
Josephine Stephenson

Room Tip: All the rooms are wonderful plus they have a lovely honeymoon room with spa
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Everyone was extremely helpful accomodation was clean and well presented very secure and exactly as described in the adds Bed was very comfortable one of the quietest air conditioners
on our trip excellent facilities washing machine and dryer was great very few places have this available would recommend this motel to anyone

Room Tip: Street noise drops after about 8pm
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2014

I have now stayed here on 4 different occasions between 2006 and 2014. Once as a group of four, twice as a pair and this time solo. Each time the staff is friendly and welcoming. The rooms have all you need for a short stay and is a stroll to a tram that takes you through Northcote's dining experiences, Collingwoods DFO stores and the city. The train is also a short stroll. Breakfast is lovely for no extra charge, and the cooked version is very good value. The rooms were cleaned daily (except Sunday) with fresh towels provided.

Room Tip: Non-Bell Street side is very quiet - I've never stayed on Bell Street side but it is a main road...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yinnar
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2014

I have recently stayed at the Bell Motor Inn twice in 2 weeks and in two different rooms. Both rooms were cleaned to a high standard and had all that required to make my stay comfortable. The King Room has the most comfortable bed I have ever slept on. The staff are friendly, the surrounds are pleasant and the rooms are quiet (there is a bit of traffic noise on the Bell Street side but this is minimal if you close the windows - yes, opening windows!). The motel has the charm of a country motel with the convenience of being close to what we needed (Latrobe Uni). There is ample FREE car parking on site which is off the road behind a brick wall. They even offered to put the heating on for me on a cool night when I had to check in late which is very thoughtful and appreciated and because I was alone at night, the room light was left on for me. I will definately be staying there again and I can thoroughly recommend this motel for regional travellers who want a comfy & quiet place to stay where they can park their car onsite for free.

Room Tip: I suggest if you want a quiet night that you ask for a room away from Bell Street, but for me the tr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corowa, NSW
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

Check in was quick and friendly, our room had been pre-heated, which was a nice touch (cold winter weather). Access to rooms from outside is via a locked corridor and then the room; nice extra level of security. This is a slightly older motel, but the rooms are extremely well maintained. High showers are a bonus (I am 6'4" and find a lot of modern showers too low). There are no irons in the rooms, owing to the proprietor's previous experience with guests, but these can be obtained from reception. The room was a good size, the bed very comfortable and the motel was quiet, lending itself to a good night's sleep. The complimentary continental breakfast was great. Remember to get a WiFi voucher at reception when you check in. All staff encountered were very friendly and helpful. I will have no hesitation in staying here again.

Room Tip: Pay the extra $10 and get an Executive Room, "Off Bell St" (ie on the side away from the m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bell Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bell Motor Inn

Address: 2 Patterson Street, Preston, Darebin, Victoria 3072, Australia (Formerly Golden Chain Bell Motor Inn)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Darebin > Preston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Preston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bell Motor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking for Melbourne accommodation in a great location?At the Bell Motor Inn, you are perfectly situated to explore and experience the delights of Melbourne. Conveniently located in Preston and only 20 minutes to Melbourne’s CBD and Tullamarine Airport, 10 minutes to the Ring Road and Eastlink and close to a direct train route to the MCG, Etihad Stadium and Melbourne’s Tennis Centre, the Bell Motor Inn is ideally situated to meet the needs of both corporate and leisure travellers. The motel is located close to the Mercy, Austin, Heidelberg Repatriation and Warringal hospitals. Direct public transport to hospitals is nearby.Family owned and operated, the Bell Motor Inn offers true country charm close to the heart of the city. The motel has 33 rooms, including spa suites, which are well appointed and provide comfortable, secure and affordable accommodation.Free continental breakfast is also included.Our conference room can seat up to 50 people and provides excellent facilities for your next business meeting. Take a dip in our outdoor solar heated pool or chill out in our landscaped BBQ area – perfect for the busy executive or weary traveller.Access to the metropolitan and western ring roads is close by and tram, rail and bus networks are only a short walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Bell Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bell Motor Inn Preston, Greater Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bell Motor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.