We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs to be upgraded in some areas” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BreakFree Bell City

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added BreakFree Bell City to your Saves list
BreakFree Bell City
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   205 Bell Street, Preston, Darebin, Victoria 3072, Australia (Formerly Budget 1 & Sleep&Go)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Preston
Sydney
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Needs to be upgraded in some areas”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2010

My partner and i stayed here from the 19th - 24th November, we had booked a room next door at the Rydges Bell City, Preston for one night on the 18th and kind of wished we had planned and had enough money to stay there.

We were able to check-in to Sleep & Go, Preston at around 1pm instead of having to wait until 2pm. Our room was located on the 5th floor room 5007. We had views of the city, which was nice. We had booked through there website and payed $99 a night.
The picture they display on there website doesn't do anything for the rooms as our room had many paint chips, broken and ripped blinds. The bed was very uncomfortable, the fridge was very small and looked like it had been kicked in my someone.
The air-con/heating worked really well, think out of the whole room this was the best feature. The television was old and up high on a shelf, if you were laying in bed you couldn't change the channel with the remote as it was too high, so we had to keep getting out of the bed to change the channel.
When looking out of the window was a lovely view till you looked downwards all you could see was rubbish bins etc.
There were snack machines located on every floor, we used this a lot - drinks, chocolate, chips and cookies, came in handy for midnight snacks.
JD's Cafe downstairs localed on the Ground floor near reception was lovely, nice views out to the pool, the food was really nice and at affordable prices.
We were also allowed to use the cafe` at the Rydges next door along with the Pantry and newsagency etc.
The Pool isn't heated so it's very cold.


We only stayed here because we had already booked, but if your looking for something that little bit extra I'd stay at the Rydges Bell City, Preston Melbourne.
I wouldn't recommend staying at Sleep & Go, unless you really had too.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    74
    49
    33
    35
See reviews for
21
53
53
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2010

Stayed here for four nights in November. Arrived and the room smelled really awful, plus the 'tea and coffee making facility' was a cup left on the bench. I went down to enquire about this, and eventually was given a kettle. I also asked for a new room which they also did after some explanation - so I guess I could say the staff were helpful, if a little slow off the mark to get the point...
The people on my floor were loud and smoking drugs, and the new room smelt better but I still didn't feel it was clean. The location was further from town than the impression I got from the website (and the trams were not easy to navigate for someone who has never been to melbourne and unfamiliar with the suburbs). I mention this because even though I realise this is out of the control of the hotel, comparing this to where I stayed in Sydney where the staff were so helpful in terms of directions and being friendly, the difference was huge.
Overall my stay was not disastrous but not really enjoyable, and I just could not recommend. Stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Preston hotels

sydney
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2010

1) If you book studio - ask for 5th floor. 6th and 7th are expensive, at 2nd, 3rd and 4th live student.

2) After I came to empty washing machine I found it empty. Linen was stolen. Take it to account.

3) Inet - 33 dollars for 2 Gbs.

For the money they ask they offer very good conditions, but remember about tips decribed above.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2010

I normally stayed at this hotel when it was branded a RYDGES, but since Bell City has opened a new Rydges is in the same complex and the Rydges rooms have been branded Sleep & Go. Sleep & Go used to be small little studios on the lower floors but these are all now Le Student 8.
When the current Sleep & Go were Rydges rooms they were rated at 4*, now as they have been let go, ie. badly marked walls, tired furniture I would rate them as a 3*
The TV reception was hazey at best and was a small tube unit. The corrodors to the rooms have a very bad musty smell.
The hotel now seems to be geared towards the younger univerity crowd, JD's bar loud as was the outside pool area, noise from this area could be heard in our room which was on the 6th floor overlooking the pool and continued until close at 11.00pm.
Staff were branded as Rydges, but not friendly...just doing a job.
The whole focus seems to be on the new hotel on the otherside of the complex with the old side "Sleep & Go" left to fend on its own.
Value was pretty good, adveristed rate was $99.00, was able to pick up the same room on expedia.com.au for $83.00, surprisingly, on check-in, the register showed expedia was sold the room for $53.00 so a nice $30.00 per night profit to them.

The hotel is still better than a Formule 1, close to transport and the city.
With a fresh coat of pain, new soft furnishings and a decent TV, property would be/could be a very hip 3.5* hotel.

  • Stayed February 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BreakFree Bell City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BreakFree Bell City

Address: 205 Bell Street, Preston, Darebin, Victoria 3072, Australia (Formerly Budget 1 & Sleep&Go)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Darebin > Preston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Preston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BreakFree Bell City 3.5*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BreakFree Bell City offers premium accommodation in the centre of Melbourne that is affordable and offers everything you need in the one place. Situated 9 km from the Melbourne CBD and 20 minutes from the main airport in Melbourne, public transport is also just 5 minutes' walk from the hotel, making this hotel highly accessible to everything Melbourne has to offer. Within the complex you'll find a great range of facilities surrounded by landscaped gardens, including a large resort pool, BBQ, gymnasium, games room and sauna. There are several onsite restaurants including Chill Restaurant & Bar, the Pantry Cafe and JD's Diner. The Pantry Convenience Store also supplies essential goods you may need during your stay including milk, bread, fruit and vegetables. There is also a shared kitchen if you'd like to cook onsite, or head into Preston and dine at one of the many cafes and restaurants. Choose from the Budget 1 and Sleep & Go rooms, which feature wireless internet access (WiFi), LCD TV with Foxtel channels, private ensuite bathroom, work desk and tea and coffee making facilities. Many of the rooms have large floor-to-ceiling windows overlooking the Melbourne skyline and its surrounds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your BreakFree Bell City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep & Go Bell City Hotel Preston
Sleep And Go Bell City
BreakFree Bell City Preston, Greater Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BreakFree Bell City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.