We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great find!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BreakFree Bell City

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added BreakFree Bell City to your Saves list
BreakFree Bell City
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   205 Bell Street, Preston, Darebin, Victoria 3072, Australia (Formerly Budget 1 & Sleep&Go)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Preston
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

We wanted a clean and comfortable hotel and the Sleep and Go fit the bill.

We paid ~$100 per night and got more than we needed - quiet room, king size bed, clean bathroom, modern furnishings, refrigerator, flat-screen tv, internet access (extra charge - $10/24 hrs), coffee/tea facilities, a fabulous view, and free street parking.

There were some stains on the carpet in the hallways, but overall is was clean and well-kept.

Very happy with stay and would definitely stay again!

Note: We stayed in the 'Sleep & Go' room and not the 'Sleep & Go Budget' room.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the CBD
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SnGmanager, Manager at BreakFree Bell City, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Dear Wanderingage

Thank you so much for letting us know about your stay here at sleep and go. I am glad that you found the rooms clean and comfortable and had all the modern furnishings.
Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    74
    49
    33
    35
See reviews for
21
53
53
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Mildura, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

we booked a $100 a night special and were worried by the bad reviews - no need!
Our room was a hotel room with ensuite, and floor to ceiling windows that you could open to get a breeze. The view was lovely, over the pool, and suburbs to mountains.
The bed was king size - which was a wonderful surprise; and the room had a good TV, fridge and cupboards & drawers.
It also had a great curved corner shower - i love those things! - makes me feel like i'm in a space ship.

Only bugbear would be that the rooms were made up very late in the day (3-4pm), and twice we were trying to have an afternoon nap when 'housekeeping' called to make up the room.

This isn't a huge issue, and we really were left wondering what did we miss out on when compared to a hotel suite next door at Rydges?? apart from not getting a morning paper, our experience was really the same, and for 2/3 the price.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SnGmanager, Manager at BreakFree Bell City, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Dear Becnloui

Thank you for choosing to stay with us here at Sleep and Go and for taking the time to leave a review. It is always a delight to receive such positive feedback. We really appreciate your comments about our rooms and service and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

My Partner and i stayed at Sleep & Go for the Grand Final weekend and we made last minute bookings this was the only reasonable priced hotel that we can find in such short notice. but we enjoyed every minute of it. The service was excellent as soon as we walked through they were all very helpful. The rooms were small but it was just what we needed for the weekend and the view was great though. The location of the Hotel was perfect we walked to the train station and was only a 2 min drive to the nearest shopping centre. We ate at both restaurants that they provided DJ's which was downstairs from Sleep & Go great food and very nice view of the pool very relaxed and comfortable for dinner and buffet breakfast. Chill bar which was a part of the Rydes was very fancy the service was absolutly amazing and the food was great inc buffet breakfast Chill was more quiet. i would stay there again long term or short term.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SnGmanager, Manager at BreakFree Bell City, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Dear Saravit P

Thank you for choosing to stay with us here at Sleep and Go and for taking the time to leave a review. It is always a delight to receive such positive feedback. We really appreciate your comments about our location, rooms and service and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh, Ar Riyad, Saudi Arabia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Well first the location is excellent, I don't agree with anyone who said the location wasn't good, it's close to high street where you can have anything, common wealth bank branch , ANZ bank branch, restaurants, pharmacy...etc. it's also close to McDonalds. being a Muslim Halal food is plenty around sleep and go. and it's close to the Umar Bin Al Khattab Preston Mosque.

My room had an excellent relaxing view over the greeneries.

There is a pool table which is excellent for a break.

The JD restaurant is delicious (I didn't like the chicken enchilada much though :)

The staff is wonderful and I would like to thank: First : AMAN for his excellent amazingly friendly attitude, this guy knows just how to handle a conversation and I would strongly recommend to promote him to a managerial position. Then I would like to thank, Adele, Gail, Liana, Benson, Con, Marco, Aleisha, the tall blonde lady with blue eyes (didn't ask for her name lol) and kate. I would also like to thank Miriyam she's nice but a little bit more attitude polishing or training will be great also the JD staff Jenny, Chim Yim, Joan, and Yohan.

Summary:
I would recommend sleep and go to anyone and everyone going to Melbourne it made my vacation a pleasant one.

one smaaaalllll comment which I think is very difficult to achieve not only in sleep and go but in Australia in general:
can you please add a water hose to the toilet? for us we use water to clean up, using toilet paper alone is just not hygenic :S

Keep it up Sleep & Go , you ROCK! :)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SnGmanager, Manager at BreakFree Bell City, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Dear Yazeed T,

Thank you for the great review that you have written on Tripadvisor about your stay with us at the Sleep and Go. Our staff try very hard to ensure our guests enjoy their stay so it was pleasing to hear that you were very impressed with our friendly service and overall place/ location. It's wonderful to hear feedback like this.
Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Our room was compact but had everything we needed and more. The best shower we have used for a long time, comfortable bed, extras like kettle and coffee/tea & biscuits, iron and ironing board and hair dryer. Big screen tv on the wall which was great to watch in bed. We paid $10 for 24 hr internet use. The location is handy to the Preston train station only three streets away. Very nice bar and restaurant. Staff were friendly and polite, processed our check in quickly and attended promptly to our complaint about very noisy guests at 2am . They were probably Collingwood supporters and their team had won that night! We were impressed with the cleanliness of the room and this is an excellent value for money hotel.

Room Tip: Higher floors have great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SnGmanager, Manager at BreakFree Bell City, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Dear Chris G
Thank you for taking the time to complete a review following your recent stay at Sleep and go. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and felt that the facilities were everything you needed. It is rewarding to hear the positive feedback about the service given by our staff. We are very proud of our product and we hope to be able to host you again at sleep and go.

Kind Regards
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

I'm glad we were there for just the one night. We stayed in one of the suites and although the rooms were a decent size, fairly clean and had a good view of the city, they could have used some maintenance. Our balcony was pretty much a puddle as there didn't seem to be adequate drainage after rain, the windows leaked, the blinds were too far apart to have any sort of sleep in, the heater didn't work (which they obviously knew, as they had left 2 small fan heaters in the room, but didn't bother to tell us at reception), the toilet didnt stop flushing unless you turned it off at the tap, although it was a no smoking room there was a cigarete burn in the sheets, when we asked if the car parking was $5 for 24hrs and we could go in and out as many times as we want the answer was yes but yet we seemed to have to pay everytime we left the car park. When we told them upon checkout about the toilet the responce was "Thanks for telling us" no sorry for the inconvenience. With a bit of maintenance to the rooms and a bit of friendlier attitude from staff this could be a great hotel, unfortunately this wasn't the case for our stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Quickbeds

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SnGmanager, Manager at BreakFree Bell City, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Dear AlwaysNeedAHoliday

Many thanks for letting us know about your stay here at sleep and go and for your feedback.
We have spoken to maintenance and they are addressing the issue with the blinds. Due to your feedback we have repaired the window leak and we looked at the drainage on the balcony, but according to maintenance there is adequate drainage it could have been due to the heavy rain, so thank you. You are correct in saying hotel parking is $5 per day, so I am a little confused. The only explanation that I can think of is that every time you entered you got a new ticket and did not reuse the same ticket which would have been $5 per day. If you would like to discuss this further, please feel free to contact me on 03 94850197.We thank you once again for your comments and hope you will give us the opportunity to host you in the future

Kind Regards
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Thats really all I need. The room is ample size for one and the furniture well planned. The bed is beside the window with a nice view (the only time I had this was in Hong Kong because the rooms are too small). Everything else you pay for what you need and not so expensive. Internet is prepaid & very fast. 15$ for 2 days of parking past is a breeze to operate. Meals are quality and average priced. There is also a nice pool and good gym, near to amenities. Without the bells and whistles that you wont need anyway.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SnGmanager, Manager at BreakFree Bell City, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Dear Wreckit,

Thank you for taking the time to post your kind words and comments in regards to your recent stay at Sleep and go.
We're very happy that you had an enjoyable stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BreakFree Bell City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BreakFree Bell City

Address: 205 Bell Street, Preston, Darebin, Victoria 3072, Australia (Formerly Budget 1 & Sleep&Go)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Darebin > Preston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Preston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BreakFree Bell City 3.5*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BreakFree Bell City offers premium accommodation in the centre of Melbourne that is affordable and offers everything you need in the one place. Situated 9 km from the Melbourne CBD and 20 minutes from the main airport in Melbourne, public transport is also just 5 minutes' walk from the hotel, making this hotel highly accessible to everything Melbourne has to offer. Within the complex you'll find a great range of facilities surrounded by landscaped gardens, including a large resort pool, BBQ, gymnasium, games room and sauna. There are several onsite restaurants including Chill Restaurant & Bar, the Pantry Cafe and JD's Diner. The Pantry Convenience Store also supplies essential goods you may need during your stay including milk, bread, fruit and vegetables. There is also a shared kitchen if you'd like to cook onsite, or head into Preston and dine at one of the many cafes and restaurants. Choose from the Budget 1 and Sleep & Go rooms, which feature wireless internet access (WiFi), LCD TV with Foxtel channels, private ensuite bathroom, work desk and tea and coffee making facilities. Many of the rooms have large floor-to-ceiling windows overlooking the Melbourne skyline and its surrounds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your BreakFree Bell City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep And Go Bell City
Sleep & Go Bell City Hotel Preston
BreakFree Bell City Preston, Greater Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BreakFree Bell City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.