We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Colonial Tramcar Restaurant

The Colonial Tramcar Restaurant
| Tramstop 125, Corner Normanby Road & Clarendon Street, South Melbourne, Port Phillip, Victoria 3205, Australia
+61 3 9695 4000
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $0 - $101
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Chessington, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

We had a wonderful time with delicious food and attentive and excellent service. All though quite expensive, it is well worth including this experience in your trip to Melbourne. We had champagne on arrival and a three course meal with coffee. Plenty of wine flowing during the meal!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,826 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,274
    435
    63
    20
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chester
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Right up there”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

Gotta say this was one of the best dining experiences I've ever had. From the moment we got on the tram to the moment we left. The service was amazing drinks flowed throughout the night and I'll never know how the chef served up such fantastic food from that tiny kitchen. Special mention to Sam the waitress (from Southport) although all the staff were great.
I would not hesitate in recommending the tram experience.......

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
“Booking for February 2014. Great customer service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

I would like to acknowledge the efficient customer service provided by Colonial Tramcar Restaurant.

I booked and paid for for a late dinner sitting in mid February 2014 about five weeks ago. Last Friday by email I requested a change to the earlier dinner sitting on the same day. I received an email response by Sunday and by Tuesday the difference in cost was refunded to my credit card.

The quick response time for the email and refund was great and absolutely appreciated.

Thank you Le'Shaye excellent customer service.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

This experience was well anticipated but turned out to be even better than we could have possibly imagined. The food was not even remotely like we expected, it was far better. The service from our waiters (Rebecca, Carl and Sam) was absolute perfection. Nothing was left to chance, the service was at the highest level. We will definitely be back again on our next visit.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Wonderful Food and Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

My mother and I booked the early dinner meal. When we boarded we were met with a glass of champagne and escorted to our seats. The three course meal was excellent and our steaks cooked to perfection. I really couldn't understand how they came up with such quality in a kitchen the size of a small closet! The wine we had was top notch and as other people have stated "free flowing". We had ports and coffee after our meal and were even given a carnation each on our departure. It was a fantastic experience and one I always recommend to Melbourne visitors. Just make sure you book well in advance (several months if possible) as this venue is very popular so do not expect to arrive and get a seat within a couple of days as it is very unlikely to happen.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Colonial Tramcar Restaurant also viewed

Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 
Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to The Colonial Tramcar Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Colonial Tramcar Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.