We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely brilliant, a must do in Melbourne” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Colonial Tramcar Restaurant

The Colonial Tramcar Restaurant
| Tramstop 125, Corner Normanby Road & Clarendon Street, South Melbourne, Port Phillip, Victoria 3205, Australia
+61 3 9695 4000
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $0 - $101
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Absolutely brilliant, a must do in Melbourne”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

Had the late 5 course setting, the chef was amazing he sang to us, Antonio the waiter was attentive and Jasmine was topping up our drinks without asking, we think its brilliant value for money and an amazing experience

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,828 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,275
    436
    63
    20
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“Fun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

Had a really good experience on the tram car restaurant. The staff and service were incredible, they were absolute professionals. Just wish I had done it for lunch instead of dinner so I could see more out the windows.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Outstanding in every respect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We had this recommended to us before we got to Australia, so I booked for 4 in advance.

I was a bit nervous that it might have been all about "the experience", with the food being secondary.

As I booked it for my partner's birthday, I'm delighted to say I could not have been more wrong.

The service was great, really friendly and knowledgable staff, and the food was just exquisite.

If you're ever in Melbourne, do this. You won't be disappointed.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aussie in UK
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Amazing meals on wheels around Melbourne”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

From the organised staff preparing for the arrival of the tram to the disembarkation at the end of the trip a truly unique experience. Superb food plus friendly & entertaining staff made this a truly memorable evening. Excellent value for money and the inclusive bar flowed freely throughout the journey. A great way to see Melbourne at a relaxing pace whilst being waited on. One to add to your bucket list. We will definitely do this again when next in Melbourne.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Rainy n cold outside excellent inside our mobile restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

An excellent adventure. Stunning service, beautiful food, fun way to have dinner! Bit of an adventure in the rain finding the team stop but it all added to the pleasure - delightful! Truly fun!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Colonial Tramcar Restaurant also viewed

Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 
Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to The Colonial Tramcar Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Colonial Tramcar Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.