We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trail of 100 Giants” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Trail of 100 Giants

Trail of 100 Giants
Great Western Divide Hwy, Ponderosa, CA
5597841500
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 1 things to do in Ponderosa
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Ridgecrest, California
Level Contributor
90 reviews
62 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Trail of 100 Giants”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Paved, ADA, 1.2 mile loop through a grove of Giant Sequoias, 3 of which are over 20 feet in diameter, and many that are at least 10 feet in diameter. Picnic facilities; Pretty forest! Now in Giant Sequoia National Monument.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    16
    0
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kernville, CA
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Big trees, no crowds”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

One can see dozens of giant sequoia trees, without competing for space on the paths. Summer weekends can attract slight crowds, but mid-week and off season (unless closed by snow) one can wander undisturbed. Well-paved paths (handicap friendly), good pamphlets, lovely mountain scenery and a picnic area on a meadow that is a delight.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
109 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Very pretty, we preferred Big Tree Trail but it was nice if on limited schedule check out Big Tree Trail.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kernville, Ca
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“giant sequoias”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

What a beautiful drive. The national parks have done a wonderful job of improving and maintaining this treasure.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgecrest, California
Level Contributor
112 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Should not be missed AWESOME! Wheelchairs? No.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We were planning a trip to eat at McNalley's and since we were up there, figured we might as well see the giant Sequoias. Truly amazing. The biggest trees I have ever seen. As we were walking the trail we came upon a fallen giant. I have no idea when this tree fell but it must have been recent cause people say you can take wheelchairs on this trail. We were there in the middle of October and could not walk on the paved path all the way. I started walking around the tree and after much disagreement and ho hums finally talked the family into following. Once around the tree you can get back on the paved path but I wouldn't take a wheelchair into the dirt!. You don't get to the tree until about half way so if you have a disabled person just be aware that you have to turn around. I think the giants in the main part of Yosemite are a little better but it is much more of a walk. This is perfect for those that want to see the giants with very little effort.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trail of 100 Giants also viewed

Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
 
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
 

Been to Trail of 100 Giants? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trail of 100 Giants, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.