We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TRAVEL ALERT: SAFETY AND SECURITY CONCERNS More info

“"Little Lausanne in Lebanon"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Massabki

Save Saved
You added Hotel Massabki to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Massabki
Beirut Chtaura main road | Jdita-Zahle- Beeqa-Chtaura -Shtawrah, Shtawrah, Lebanon   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Shtawrah B&B and Inns
London
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“"Little Lausanne in Lebanon"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2011

A historical Hotel with very rich over 100 years of stories. The landscape with the river and Swans, excellent hospitality, five star food quality and the ambiance of a relaxing feeling and mixture of events/functions around you is JUST RIGHT! All of this for the price you pay is just PERFRCT.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    19
    8
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
5
1
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2011

A beautiful oldfashioned hotel which is left that way in purpose. Very quiet relaxing and clean hotel with beautiful gardens and surroundings. Most of the staff was very friendly and professional, but some needed to be reminded that they worked on customer service. It's rooms are good not too small, but needed new tv's.except for the suite which was perfect. It's location was good for the bekaa valley, the cabs were near. The service was ok, except that we had to call 3 times for them to come and get the breakfast tray. Otherwise the service was excellent. It is pleasant stay if you plan on having a good cosy stay.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, VA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2010

Got great reviews form the "locals" family members who live and work in Lebanon. We heard that the place had a very prestigious past and that it still lives up to its reputation. The hotel looked okay as we entered from a very busy road. My thought was that the inside could be promising. A friendly gentleman greeted us outside and unloaded our bags and offered to park our car. He had no uniform, so initially, we were a little reluctant to turn our stuff over to him. When we got inside the hotel, it looked okay. Not great, but like from a old ready to be updated Marriott our hotel in Nebraska or something. At this point, there was still hope that this hotel could still meet my standards. By standards, I am refereeing to at least my basic business hotels like, Marriott, Double Tree, Hilton and The Westin. We were then taken by the bell man to the room. Upon walking in, it is a very dark room, with the look of a Red Roof Inn or something. It is still the old boob tune tv, a low bed, and the room just did not look that appealing. We asked for extra towels and they said they did not have any available. They still did not have the capacity to take toilet paper in the toilet which grosses me out.
The room for $120 also came with a breakfast. Although they try, it is a traditional Lebanese breakfast with no other options which is bread, cheese and tomatoes and cucumbers.

The hotel grounds also included a semi run down sanctuary / zoo with a brook that ran through the middle. It was okay, but not what I expected.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ephram_jeffy, Owner at Hotel Massabki, responded to this review, June 20, 2012
Massabki hotel is under a new management as of August 2010. We have taken this review very seriously as a starting point, and I believe we corrected all pointes noted in this review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Massabki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Massabki

Address: Beirut Chtaura main road | Jdita-Zahle- Beeqa-Chtaura -Shtawrah, Shtawrah, Lebanon
Location: Lebanon > Bekaa Governorate > Shtawrah
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Shtawrah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LOCATION: Chtaura (45 minutes from Beirut & 900 meters above sea level) on a property of 17,000 m2 of forest with its own private river. Chtaura is the biggest commercial center in the Bekaa, and located at the crossroads of archeological site of Baalbek (25 minutes),Anjar ( 10 minutes )Zahle (5 minutes) , major wineries ( Ksara 5 minutes , Domaine Des Tourelles 5 minutes , Kefraya 25 minutes . For wine lovers , we can organize wine tasting experience for groups of 20 and above ) and a day trip to Damascus (45 minutes drive from the hotel). ROOM FACILITIES:Choice of river and mountain view ,individually furnished rooms , 24 – hour room service , laundry , unlimited free high speed wireless internet , satellite TV , scale , coffee making facilities , hairdryer , welcome complementary fruit basket with daily refill , LCD flat TV, bathrobe and other in room amenities , mini bar , safe , direct phone , baby sitting , individually controlled A/C , double-glazed windows, jacuzzi in suites, extra beds ,Free secuered parking .FOOD & BEVERAGE:Our food and beverage has many signature dishes (summer Sunday buffet lunch that includes whole grilled lamb). Our outlets include “Piano Bar”, and our special Oriental Restaurant in the Garden where our guests enjoy the natural landscapes around our own private river (a little Venice in Lebanon). In addition we can organize and cater for your own special needs in the comfort of your home. Our entertainment includes our newly renovated Massabki Night club every Saturday with DJ and a one man show with special appearance of guest stars. BANQUITE & WEDDING FACILITIES: Our property is ideal for indoor and outdoor wedding and large theatrical events. Our outdoor facilities can accommodate from 250 to 1,000 guests. The Massabki Night club is ideal for special events of up to 150 guests. We can tailor make any program from live music to DJ to One man show indoor /outdoor, to a unique Arabian night with belly dancer, dabkke in a tent for a memorable event .CONFERANCE FACILITIES:The Massabkine Hall is fully equipped with 3 LCD screens for maximum visibility, can accommodate up to 300 guests theater style & up to 100 guests for a ½ moon table set up. The Bridge room is fully equipped with large LCD TV can accommodate a group of up to 25 guests.Our property with its forest and river running in the middle is ideal for corporate retreat and team building activities.PAYEMENT: All Major Credit Cards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Hotel Massabki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Massabki Lebanon/Shtawrah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Massabki, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.