We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GOING COCO” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cocos Castaway

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Cocos Castaway to your Saves list
Cocos Castaway
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   81 Sydney Highway, 6799   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in West Island
australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“GOING COCO”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed in one of the ocean view rooms for 7 nights over easter. The Cocos Castaway accomodation is well equiped with a kitchenette so you are able to self cater whilst you are on West Island. As the evenings are balmy we chose to use the BBQ on our private deck most evenings to cook the fish my man caught out the front of Coco's (minus the fish the friendly reef sharks took off him). Cocos Castaway has free bike hire so you can explore the tropical island easily on wheels. It is centrally located to the supermarket and tourist info office. Coco's Keeling Islands is one of the most beautiful places on this planet and when you reluctantly leave, you leave relaxed and refreshed. Do not hesitate to book your winter escape now.

Room Tip: Pay the extra to get your own balcony and ocean views. It's worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
36
3
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

My first time working on Cocos and I had the perfect place to stay. Friendly and helpful hosts, the room had everything I needed and very comfortable. Made my working stay very pleasant and positive experience.
Local people also friendly and helpful, accomodation close to everything - just across the road from airport - very easy to check in.
Hope to return for a total holiday and I'll definately stay at Castaway!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012

Our first trip to the Cocos Keeling Atoll and we were not disappointed!
Our accommodation overlooked the Indian Ocean so we could wake to the soothing sounds of waves breaking on the beach.
The owners of Castaway made us extremely welcome as did the rest of the local community and we were quickly absorbed into the local social life.
Our scuba diving experience was exceptional and ticked all the boxes on our wish list.
Ideal place to relax and chill out.
Room Tips -
The accommodation was clean comfortable and well appointed. A variety of styles mean choices to meet all budgets.

Room Tip: The accommodation was clean comfortable and well appointed. A variety of styles mean choices to meet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

This was our 13th trip to Cocos in 11 years and our 10th time in Castaway. Guess you could say we like the place and the accommodation. We come for the scuba diving.

The accommodation is well equipped and any problems solved at the drop of a hat. This is the best accommodation on the island and central to all your needs. Bicycles provided for the energetic to get about on, otherwise there is a ute available for rent. Settle down with a glass of wine and watch the sunset over the Indian Ocean and put a steak on the barbie!

RELAX! No not relaxed enough! Try R E L A X this place is really laid back, and you get to join in with whatever is going on in the community.

Scuba diving on Cocos is excellent with great visibilty and a wide range of creatures from large to minute -book in advance to avoid disappointment!

Room Tip: all rooms are comfortable and well equipped - chose one to suit your budget.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2012

No issues with the accommodation, centrally located and nice environment.
Bed was very cosy.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012

I stayed here first back in 2002 and the bungalows were amazing. I had just the nicest time here, although I booked a one way ticket and had trouble getting out as it was around christmas and the workers were all of back to Australia for there holiday. The restuarant was lovely and there was a good variety of food choices. Best place ever that I spent christmas day.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012

We stayed at Castaway over the Christmas period. The accommodation was clean & self contained. There are even drink coolers, eskies & Ice for you when you arrive.

You need to hire a scooter or Ute if you want to be able to drive around to all beaches. We hired one of the utes from Castaway. It was a newish ute & was very nice to drive with air con.

One thing great about this island is that there is ZERO crime. Hard to believe but totally true. You are advised on arriving not to lock any doors on your accommodation, or vehicle. Even if you have valuables inside. There is a safe in each room though for those of us who find the idea of not locking our stuff up, difficult to get used to.

Annelise & Graham the owners are always around to give advice on the best fishing spots, windsurfing, Kite surfing & anything else you need help with.

It's simple clean accommodation, self contained (The waterfront huts even have a stove).

Like most amazing tropical places there are a lot of mozzies at night & In the early hours of the morning so take some tropical strength Aeroguard.

There is a supermarket that takes about 40 seconds to walk to where you can buy good quality frozen packet of sausages $5 & Tbone steak about $8 each, veggies & anything else you need.

If you are a keen fish I advise taking all of your own gear. There is a tackle shop but it's small & hardly ever opened.

This location is perfect for groups of friends. ALso perfect for FISHING, Kitesurfing, WIndsurfing, Swimming, Snorkelling, exploring the islands by Power Canoe (Kylie & Ash hire the Canoes out & once you have gone on a group tour & get an idea of where to go then you are able to hire the canoes out by yourself or in private groups next time) This was one of the most amazing experiences of our stay. The water is incredibly clean & you see turtles, octupus, sharks, shoals of jumping baitfish & blue trevally.

We caught QUeenfish, Blue trevally, Yellowfin Tuna, Cod, Barracutta, Sweetlip.

We tried to catch a GT every night from the old pier but they are like steam trains & were busting us off on 100Lb.

Will be back to get the GT next time.

Room Tip: Waterfront villas are the best & well worth the extra money. They have amazing balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cocos Castaway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cocos Castaway

Address: 81 Sydney Highway, 6799
Phone Number:
Location: Indian Ocean > Cocos (Keeling) Islands > West Island
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in West Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cocos Castaway 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Self contained beach side accommodation, some with direct ocean views. Centrally located with easy access to all amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Cocos Castaway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cocos Castaway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.