We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Chinese Restaurant in Melbourne” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tao Tao House

Tao Tao House
815 Glenferrie Road, Hawthorn, Boroondara, Victoria, Australia
00-613-9818-0968
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 138 Restaurants in Hawthorn
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best Chinese Restaurant in Melbourne”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

I rarely drive 8 km from home to go to a restaurant, but Tao Tao is worth it. I have never had better Chinese food in Melbourne. Patagonian Toothfish is fabulous, as is beef. Great dim sum, and the desserts are fantastic. Best mango mousse in town.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    19
    5
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Delicious yum cha, great service - we’ll be back”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

I had a wonderful Sunday afternoon yum cha session on my first visit to Tao Tao House yesterday. The service was attentive, décor was authentic, food was delicious! At least half the patrons were Melbournians of Chinese background, which is always a good indication of quality.

Our favourite yum cha items were: the pan-fried Shanghai pork dumplings, the ginger and ‘shallot’ (really spring/ green onion) prawn dumplings and the bean curd skin prawn rolls. For dessert, the steamed custard buns were yummy.

The waiters asking us if we wanted anything in particular, and asking us how we enjoyed the dishes was appreciated. I agree with the below reviewer Nakink that it was a little difficult to understand what staff are saying, but it was no big deal for us.

A wee bit pricey, but the drive across town was well worth it, and we’ll be back. We’ve already planned the next range of items we want to try, including the rice paper prawns and chilli chicken dumplings.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warragul, Australia
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“delicious yumcha”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Very busy popular restaurant. Quite small and amazing how the staff manoeuvre trollies around in that space. A little difficult to understand what staff are saying but it helped add to the mystery of what we were eating.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Good Value & Qaulity Yum Cha”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We had a great family Sunday Yum Cha with interesting choices, and very good & attentive service. The quality is excellent - great to have a very good suburban Yum Cha. The dumplings, white bait & prawns were very good & there was adequate variety for our to young grandchildren visiting from Sydney

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collingwood, Australia
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“yummy cha”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

do you like peking duck? you don't feel like having to order a whole duck? then you had better make a beeline to tao tao house where they serve in single rolls, plump, juicy, succulent peking duck wrapped in thin, delicate, delectable wraps. total drool factor and best peking duck this side of town!
steamed beef balls are not to be missed either, flavoursome and moist with hints of spring onion.
thumbs up also for the traditional pork mince balls which are encased in glutinous rice dough with a tinge of sugar and deep fried.
the fish cake with chives are also on the must list, but the streamed duck rolls in tofu skin were disappointingly bland with hardly any flavour coming througn except bean sprouts.
and not to forget, excellent service!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tao Tao House also viewed

 
Hawthorn, Boroondara
Hawthorn, Boroondara
 

Been to Tao Tao House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tao Tao House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.