We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brand new - thoroughly recommend.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Quest Hawthorn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Quest Hawthorn to your Saves list
Quest Hawthorn
4.5 of 5 Condominium   |   616 Glenferrie Road, Hawthorn, Boroondara, Victoria 3122, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Brand new - thoroughly recommend.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012

If you want somewhere out of the city, but close to shops, trams, trains and good restaurants this is the place to stay. We had a studio room - the place is brand new, excellent facilities, very secure as well as secure underground carparking. A couple of minutes walk and you are in he heart of Glenferrie shops and can easily catch a tram or train into the city.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    42
    13
    1
    2
See reviews for
8
24
9
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2012

After a $70 cab ride from Tullamarine we arrived early at the apartments. Unfortunately a room wasn't available (always worth a try) however we were offered one to be available at the standard check-in time of 2pm.

We had a standard studio room. There was some crumbs on the floor from the previous guest which we had to make a special call to housekeeping to get cleaned. The room and facilities were otherwise OK.

For a $210 per night room there are a couple of things to bear in mind.

Our room opened onto the carpark of the Town Hall. We never really felt too comfortable with the room curtains open. There is no privacy unless the curtains are fully closed.

Bathroom is functional. Fittings very nice. Water supply very good. Toiletries were nice.

Bed was comfortable. The bed is standard with a choice of pillows feather or foam. I slept well each night that I was there. Actually the bed was very good for me.

TV is a little annoying. Once all of the lights were out and we were going to sleep the blue standby light is actually very bright. We ended up turning off the TV at the wall.

On the weekend we were surprised to learn that rooms weren't serviced on the weekends. That is kind of weird for a serviced apartment.

As for our tourist and business activities, the apartments are close to Glenfarie Station and taxis are easy to find.

Locally there is a good choice of restaurants and cafe.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

Great spot to stay in Hawthorn. A few minutes walk to Glenferrie station. Friendly and helpful reception. You can cook your own meal or go to the excellent cafe downstairs.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony, on a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esperance
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2011

Great hotel not too far from the city by train. Check in staff great, room was really great had a King studio and pleasantly surprised with a small deck off the living area.
Bathroom was glass in the middle of the room so perhaps if you had guests over it might be a bit uncomfortable sitting on the loo:) but I loved the decor and the mirrored walls gave it a sense of space.
Restaurants galore in .the area and great cafes and little shops. Would definately recommend if you need to be in that area or don't want to stay in the city.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne , Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

We were attending an event just up the road for melbourne cup eve and thought we would get a hotel close by to make an night of it .

The check in staff where great and very friendly . The night staff that saw us stagger in at 4am greeted us with a friendly smile :)

We had the studio room , when you first walk in very clean and crisp and actually feels quite large.

The room was well presented and everything you would need for a short or long stay ..

The view - none . except a car park and back of some old building .. we were on level 4

The bathroom was the only thing that i was a little hit and miss over.. it feels very small in there .. when you have a shower the water goes everywhere if u put a towel down it gets pushed out of the way when he door opens due to how low the door is .. and because its made of frosted class , when your out in the bedroom if the other person goes into use the toilet you can see the silhouette .. fine if its ur partner but could be a little awkward for anyone else.

We heard no noise from the bed room and the air con worked well ..

The towels were ok a little small and bit hard but nothing to moan about..

The bed was soooo comfy !! You will sleep well, plus loved the pillows !

There is parking under the hotel , i don't know about price as was included in our room rate.

Location - it was ideal for us as we were going to somewhere on glenferrie road but if i was visiting melbourne on holiday , i wouldn't think id suggest here its a little out of the way from any exciting tourist attractions ud be better set in the city or st kilda location.

Close to public transport train station just up the road and trams just out the front.

Great hotel , would i stay again - for sure.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

My family and I have stayed in many Quest properties in Australia. Quest Hawthorn recently opened for business but their team's professionalism exceeded my expectations. The staff were exceptionally helpful and friendly. Special mention to Emily and Nick who went out of their way to meet my requests (some at ungodly hours).

We stayed in a studio apartment. It was spacious and tastefully furnished. Bathroom was well appointed. Loved the strong water pressure in the shower at the end of a long day.

The location is great....plenty of restaurants, cafes and shops in the area.

Only con is the poor reception on your mobile phone. We couldnt receive nor make calls from our mobiles while in the room.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011

This was a very well appointed, decorated and comfortable hotel. It is a new hotel and is maintained very well. The room was spotless (rare in Australia). The rooms are more like little apartments with cooking facilities in a small kitchen. The bathroom is compact and the sink is a bit annoying to use to shave but overall the facilities are great.

I stayed there for work and it was good location for where I needed to be. It is a bit out of the city (half and hour or so). Although there is plenty around (walking distance) in terms of cafes and restaurants.

The staff were also excellent - the most friendly and helpful I have come across in a very long time. There is a very nice cafe downstairs that does great coffee, cakes, breakfast and lunch.

I am looking forward to staying there again.

Room Tip: Dont get one near the elevator or on the first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Quest Hawthorn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quest Hawthorn

Address: 616 Glenferrie Road, Hawthorn, Boroondara, Victoria 3122, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Boroondara > Hawthorn
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Hawthorn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Quest Hawthorn 4.5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quest Hawthorn has an edgy, New York style interior in a desirable Glenferrie Road location, just 6.5 kilometres from Melbourne's CBD. Quest Hawthorn will inspire Melbourne's imagination. A destination perfect for business or leisure travellers, this unique Melbourne Apartment Hotel boasts 119 New York studio apartments, a selection of which host private terraces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Quest Hawthorn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quest Hawthorn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.