We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gotta love it when your 17yr old son chooses JB as the place for the one Melbourne dinner!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Josie Bones - CLOSED

Josie Bones
98 Smith Street, Collingwood, Yarra, Victoria 3066, Australia
03 9417 1878
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Contemporary
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Aldgate, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Gotta love it when your 17yr old son chooses JB as the place for the one Melbourne dinner!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Having been to Josie Bones in Jan 2013, when in Vic with the family, my son didn't even have to think for a minute when decing where to dine when we were again going to be in Melbourne for just 1 dinner.
I lost count of how many times WOW was exclaimed, and I know we wish there'd been more than just the two of us so that we could have indulged in the pigs head! Pork crackle with rhubarb, Crumbed rolled pigs head, Pork trotter stuffed with sweetbreads and Mulled wine braised beef cheeks. would also have loved to have tried the black pudding or tongue (that was my "pudding" for my Jan visit!).
But more than just amazing food that pays homage to the beast from which it came, Josie Bones is a broadening of horizons, for I do NOT drink beer! Well that was until i visited in January - there's more to beer than VB (YEH!) The staff have an amazing knowledge of the vast asortment of beer available; in January i came away in love with Traquair Jocobite (and my local managed to source some). This time its Founders dirty ba#*ard and Yeastie boys golden age of bloodshed!
Fantastic food and ethos, fantastic staff and beer.
PS LOVE the door handles too!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    14
    1
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Great experience.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

Really enjoyed the busy atmosphere, great food and wine. Our service staff were very helpful and obviously enjoy their work. We missed out on the pigs head but would have needed a few helpers to do justice to it anyway. As it was, the croquettes and the black pudding and other entree serves were fabulous. Looking forward to going back but with some hungry foodies next time.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
“Something for the adventurous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Being big Masterchef fans we were keen to try this and were really pleased we did. The menu is not overly large although the drinks menu is! The dishes ranged across unusual meat offerings like pigs trotters, pigs head and sweetbreads, but also included vegetarian dishes. We tried Lamb scrumpet ( a croquette of lamb), crumbed sweetbreads, beef cheeks in a wine sauce, beetroot carpaccio, and roast smoked pork hock. All delicious! The food is made to share and our only complaint is that the dishes arrived fairly fast giving us a lot of food in a short period of time. But all delicious.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo - SP
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Cool, trendy, with an overwhelming craft beer menu and exotic food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

I loved Josie Bones. Just enter the place inadvertently, as the street it sits in is busy with a vast array of restaurants and bars. Was blown away by the humongous variety of beers all listed in a separate beer menu. Upon being requested advice, the bartender was prompt to recommend a number of them based on my hints. I guess I had a few in two different visits, such as an oyster beer, smoky beer from 5 different aromatic woods, pumpking beer (crafted exclusively for the Halloween and so on.
Food was also something else. I had eel croquetes with beetroot and vodka sauce, Tasmanian fresh oysters, then the kangaroo carpaccion and I don´t remeber what else, but the fact is, everything tasted good.
Really enjoyed this place and will definetely go back when in Melbourne, hopefully with friends wo appreciate beer.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collingwood, Australia
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“wonderful experience again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

we had not been to josie bones for close to 3 years, but read recently that there has been a change in chef and menu, so decided to check it out again.
naturally, you go to josie bones for beer and meat. their stock of beer has always been impressive (they now have more melbourne boutique beers on offer) and so is their current menu - their tapas style dishes of modern australian are for share.
the new chef having worked in michellin star retaurant in london, you see a strong english influence in the new menu. we had crackers with very mild rubharb sauce, super moist boudin noir with sunny side up egg on a nest of crisply coleslaw of cabbage and onions, swede and turnips braised in butter, lightly crumbed with nettle emulsion and special of the night, pigs trotter with carmalised baby carrots which was so tender, it fell apart when we dug a fork in.
we ate too much, we drank too much! well done josie bones for keeping up the tradition!
our only complaint is the long hike to the freezing toilets upstairs.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Josie Bones also viewed

Collingwood, Yarra
Collingwood, Yarra
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Josie Bones, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.