We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inconsistent” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Trippy Taco

Trippy Taco
smith st, Collingwood, Yarra, Victoria 3066, Australia
(03) 9415 7711
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 87 Restaurants in Collingwood
Price range: $7 - $11
Restaurant details
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Inconsistent”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

I've now eaten at Trippy Taco's twice, both times I got take away.

The first time, the meal was absolutely stunning. We got a Burrito and the Mixed Tacos, along with the Paprika chips. The Taco's were stunning; the ingredients were fresh and delicious, and like the Burrito, the flavour of the food was perfectly balanced. The Paprika chips were surprisingly delicious! Loved it, and insisted we return.

The second time the meal was well, poor. This time we got two Burritos and one Taco. The Taco was poorly assembled, and two two Burritos were missing rice. Instead of rice, the chefs seemed to have filled it with twice the previous amount of black beans, which overwhelmed the meal, had an unpleasant texture and just made them unenjoyable. A good Burrito needs the rice, not just because I like the rice (I don't really, though my partner does), but it balanced out the Burrito.

If I return in the future, seeking my original experience, I'll be eating in so I can send it back if its as bad as the second.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    12
    2
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Yum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

This is a funky little place for cheap and tasty mexican food. Always busy with no frills but really yum food.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lennox Head, Australia
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Yum!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

I really enjoyed my experience at Trippy Taco. I ordered a burrito, which was full of ingredients, all very fresh and flavoursome - not to mention HUGE! We also ordered trippy fries, which were beautiful and margarita's. There were three of us, we all ordered a meal, plus fries for the table, and a margarita each and it cost $77 - such good value. No complaints whatsoever. The service was fast and friendly, and the atmosphere buzzing. Will definitely return.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“amazing value, fantastic veggo/vegan fare!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

the food is fresh and simply delicious!!!

a wonderful and varied menu and clearly the taco's, nacho chips etc are made fresh.

the place has a cool and friendly vibe... and did i say it was cheap!!! wowsa's!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Fresh deliciousness at the right price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012 via mobile

Had the tacos. Great flavours, fresh ingredients, good service, great price. Highly recommend for a casual, low fuss lunch.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trippy Taco also viewed

 

Been to Trippy Taco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trippy Taco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.