We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always recomend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Collingwood Accommodation Melbourne

Collingwood Accommodation Melbourne
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Collingwood Accommodation Melbourne to your Saves list
Collingwood Accommodation Melbourne
137-139 Johnston Street, Collingwood, Yarra, Victoria 3066, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Collingwood
Bangor, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Always recomend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2012

Admit was back in 2007 we stayed here for 2 and half months, but for people we know who are going to Melbourne or just to talk about we will always say stay here.
Had the cheapest drinks in town $1 for a coke or Solo(well good), whacky owner who picked us up from Brunswick street as was bit lost and always a help (confused hime when I asked for Duvet sheets) yes was bit dusty but was nice like that as in our room we made it a proper wee home and even left our own bed sheets there (he was bit short of em at time), the shower was bit funny but I guess it works now and hopefully the small one which was being built next to our room is finished as the bloke doing it was bit old and slow and loud.
Kitchen worked well for us as we eat lot of pasta and rice so didnt need the oven and no one stole your food.
Hope the David Beckham book I left is still on top of book shelve in big TV room collecting dust.
Great location for everything, chip shop on Hoddle St does best Flake and Chips anywhere in Oz we found.
Great atmosphere, just dont annoy Paul!

Room Tip: Top of stairs, turn right and right again, last on left (corner of front and side street)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    3
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
2
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2011

Ok, at first glance this place looks old, a bit dirty and not really organized for travellers.
And, yes, you may end up waiting for someone at the reception for a long time.
But.
This is a place for long term guests and you can see how the atmosphere is homey and chilled out. It's like living in a shared house, you get to know everybody and there's always someone organizing a dinner out, a stroll down Fitzroy or Smith street, people chatting in the tv room and someone playing in the computer area.
The owner, Rob, is crazy and kind at the same level. He even gave us a ride to the city on our departure date just because he saw us waiting at the bus stop.
The kitchen is surprisingly clean, organized, with lots of room for personal food and two huge fridges plus a freezer.
And, this is not the place where you'll get your food stolen! There is respect and kindness from everyone, either you're staying for two nights or for two months.
Internet rates are ridiculously cheap. Lots of interesting people to meet from different ages.
It's a bit far from the CBD but you'll love the neighborhood, the pubs, the art galleries, the cafes and the people in general.
Unless you are a Sydney lover.

Room Tip: Avoid the room at the ground floor. Any other room is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2011

It's not the cleanest of hostels and on first impressions it doesn't seem that great of a place in general, but it soon grows on you. The owner is really nice and helpful...if a little crazy sometimes. There's a great atmosphere. Although there are no proper lock systems on the bedroom doors you feel secure as there is a code-entry door from the street so you won't get random people coming into the hostel. There are lockers too.
The surrounding area is a bit run down but it's a nice distance away from Melbourne central and there's a bus stop right outside, a train and a tram stop within a 5 minute walk.
Although I didn't like the hostel at first, I came to enjoy it as it has a homely feel to it and you don't feel as restricted as you would in other hostels. The internet is practically free compared to most hostels.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2009

had the unusual prospect of needing somewhere to crash for one night while moving interstate. chose this place as it was closest to my house. turned out to be in a great old building that had a central courtyard. the old building has character, with comfy nooks and crannies and is quite spacious. the 8 man dorm was large and had high ceilings, so you didn't feel like you were all sleeping on top of each other. the rooms had space for things like desks, wardrobes, tables, tv's etc. also had good kitchen, internet room, free wireless, a great lounge and a house cat who was spoilt rotten! because of this homey atmosphere, the place has become popular with long-term backpackers, like the brits, who are on working holidays in australia. this makes the place more personal as people have gotten to know each other and there is a collective sense of respecting each other's need for space, a good night's sleep, etc. for instance, another guy staying at the place took it upon himself to welcome me, introduce me to others and help me settle in. what the hotel lacked was a bit of spring cleaning. granted it's an old building, but it was a bit on the lived in grotty side. overall, i prefer a place like this with character and atmosphere than some of the purpose built hostels, which can get a bit sterile and impersonal.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Collingwood Accommodation Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Collingwood Accommodation Melbourne

Address: 137-139 Johnston Street, Collingwood, Yarra, Victoria 3066, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Yarra > Collingwood
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Collingwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Collingwood Accommodation Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Collingwood Accommodation Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Collingwood Accommodation Melbourne Greater Melbourne, Australia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Collingwood Accommodation Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.