We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely meal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dimple Well Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Dimple Well Lodge to your Saves list
Dimple Well Lodge
35 The Green | Wakefield, Ossett, Wakefield WF5 8JX, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Ossett B&B and Inns
West Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Lovely meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We had a Groupon voucher for a Sunday lunch with wine for 4 (£21) and I can't fault this deal. We were greeted by name on arrival and taken to the bar where we were talked through our deal just to be sure all was clear. The food was all lovely (we had the soup, prawns and pate as starters and then beef and chicken for mains) and it was all cooked beautifully and very tasty. The bottle of wine which came with the deal was also very nice. I would definitely be more than happy to come back here and pay the £10 for 2 courses which is on offer.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    21
    14
    7
    11
See reviews for
53
46
1
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Perth australia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

I stayed for 5 nights and was given a great rate and room. The room was very clean, nice bedding, complimentary tea/coffee and wi fi was fast, the bathroom if anything was abit of a squeeze but for the rate I was paying it wasn't an issue. All staff were very friendly and went out of their way to help, I originally made the booking from my home in Australia and rang before I left to confirm the arrival and stay dates- which the lady at reception needed to check. I advised an email confirming this was fine, but she actually rang and emailed me straight back which was nice considering oz is not the cheapest place to call. Will def use on my next stay to UK!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Having a Groupon Deal for a Sunday Lunch (3 courses) and bottle of wine sounded like a good idea at the time and turned into a great meal.

Initially when welcomed we thought that our booking had not been placed on the list, but it transpired it was there afterall. We were greeted with a friendly hello and shown to our table very promptly. The menu was a choice of 4 starters, 4 mains and 3 desserts. All the food was fantastic. The roast beef was really tastey and melted in the mouth. The home made cheesecake tasted devine. We arrived at 1:30pm and did not leave until after 5pm, purely because we ended up talking to others on adjoining tables. We were not rushed at any time, or pushed to have further drinks/coffees etc although we did order some more later.

the car park is very small so be aware that you may need to park on the road, but there is plenty of roadside parking. The toilets are hard to find and not well signposted for the gents and it was off putting having to walk through an area where they were washing cutlery but it did not detract from the overall experience.

A great deal, great food and absolutely fantastic service - so friendly and happy

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

I booked a room here for my partners birthday on a Sunday night, I got a good offer on laterooms.com, it was £60 a night and an additional £10 for both breakfasts. As we arrived it was hard to find a car parking space, we had to wait outside until someone left. We checked in and shown to our room which was the bridal suite, staff were friendly and polite. The room was clean, welcoming and very spacious and nicely decorated however, as I went to decorate the bedroom with rose petals and candles I noticed the noise coming from the windows, one window was overlooking the terrace where people sat there could see straight in, and children were running around near the window, the other let straight into the reception so we could see the receptionist sat at her desk. As it quietened down we noticed noise coming from the back of the room, outside was a massive extractor fan making a right racket, although it did not disturb our sleep. As we went for breakfast we were offered coffee or juice and that was it, our toast arrived shortly after but by the time our "full English" arrived it was cold, was rather disappointed with breakfast as we were served, 1 bacon, 1 sausage, scrambled eggs and beans, would have been nice to have the option of how we wanted our eggs as my partner did not like scrambled. It was rather awkward sat at the table in dead silence with the receptionist sat across. Overall it was an enjoyable night, just not very private.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west yorkshire
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

We Came here for Sunday lunch with friends for a two course meal with wine on a groupon deal. We had great service , the staff were very friendly and helpful and it was good value for money. The food and wine was Lovely . We Will definitely return.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Went for Sunday lunch as part of the Living Social deal. Firstly, the value of the deal was superb. The food was well presented, freshly made, good quality and good portion sizes. Even without the voucher, Sunday lunch is around £6.95 one course £9.95 two courses and £12,95 three courses. The venue is lovely. Nice and clean with lovely grounds. The only downside is the service, we waited around 20 minutes from being seated to having our order taken and then an extra 5 minutes before our bottle of wine was brought (this was part of the deal so it would have been nice to have been asked what wine we wanted when we sat down). Although we didn't have any major problems, there just appeared to be a general lack of organisation.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Just celebrated a very special 30th Birthday. Could not have picked a better venue. High praise for all the staff especially Ryan who had reserved me my favourite dish of lamb shank! Everyone polished of their lovely Sunday Lunch. It was all so well presented. Many thanks to Marcus for entering into the" surprise party "spirit! Will definately go again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dimple Well Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dimple Well Lodge

Address: 35 The Green | Wakefield, Ossett, Wakefield WF5 8JX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Wakefield > Ossett
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Ossett
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dimple Well Lodge is a beautiful little hotel with 11 comfortable rooms. We pride ourselves on customer service and offering that little bit more. We are not just a typical hotel, we are very customer based and work closely with you to offer and tailor our services to suit your needs best. We serve traditional English Roast on a Sunday between 12-4 and currently run an Indian Restaurant Midweek and Weekend Evenings. We are an ideal venue for Weddings, Functions such as birthday parties and christenings and we will cater for anyones needs no matter how big or small. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Dimple Well Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dimple Well Hotel Ossett

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dimple Well Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.