We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exactly what I expected for the price” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Dimple Well Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Dimple Well Lodge to your Saves list
Dimple Well Lodge
35 The Green | Wakefield, Ossett, Wakefield WF5 8JX, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Ossett B&B and Inns
Sheffield
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Exactly what I expected for the price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

I booked this hotel while in Ossett on a course. The reception and bar staff were friendly and helpful. The room itself was quite tired and in need of a little sprucing up, but had everything you would need for a simple overnight stay. In my single room, the shower was not in a separate bathroom, and the door opened straight onto the bedroom area, which seemed a little strange.

I would definitely recommend the hotel's Indian restaurant for an evening meal - I was there midweek and while the food was amazing, it lacked atmosphere. I'm sure it would be a very different experience on a Friday night.

The grounds of the hotel were also beautiful and I can understand why lots of people recommend it for weddings.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dimple W, Owner at Dimple Well Lodge, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Hi there, thanks for your review and kind words about the Hotel and restaurant. We understand some of the rooms may lack a little bit of inspiration in the shower cubical, however this is an ongoing project which we are in process of improving throughout the Hotel. Hopefully in a few months time or come summer you can return and be pleasantly surprised by the changes that are currently taking place at Dimple :-) Once again thanks for your review, we do take into consideration what our customers think, and do try our best to improve on these comments. Kind Regards, Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    21
    14
    8
    11
See reviews for
53
46
1
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wakefield, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

What an amazing day! Marcus, Ryan and the rest of their team of very hard workers made everything run like clockwork . The food was top notch, everyone commented on the high standard of the meal, wine and service, so friendly and yet professional at the same time. We can't praise them all enough it made what could have been very stressfull time, stress less .It was a real pleasure dealing with Marcus from start to finish . We would highly recommend Dimple Well Lodge for any special occasion.
Thanks again to all concerned

Room Tip: Our room was very nice No 7
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dimple W, Owner at Dimple Well Lodge, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
What a great day for everyone! Thank you for the fantastic comments, we are all greatly appreciative :-) We have had a lot of nice comments recently about the food, hopefully which will be taken forward into our new Sunday Lunches which will be launched soon. PS we all loved the chocolates you brought us haha! Hope to see you all again soon, Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Amazing venue and fantastic staff.

We could not have asked for more for our Wedding Day.... the venue was perfect, we had 70 guests to the day and around 120 to the evening. ( this venue could easily accommodate a larger party)The great thing about the place is that the different areas, lots of choice, from the quiet social types to the disco divas, with plenty of seating in all areas.

The food was out of this world, the beef just melted on the tongue... the curry buffet for the evening was just as divine. All our guests have commented on how good the food and service were.

The day went by so quickly and we didn't seem to stay in one place too long, yet Marcus knew where we were should anyone need either of us.

The little touches made all the difference... putting a selection of canapés in the Honeymoon Cottage for us to enjoy after the photos. Running the jacuzzi for the end of the evening.. I hadn't realised how cold I was from standing in the snow all day... the decorations were fantastic.. the tables looked great..

The honeymoon cottage is great, you have your own dining area and living room, a double jacuzzi and a lovely four poster bed. We stayed two nights to relax after the day and the service and food were just as good the next day. Breakfast is a must.. full English was lovely.

I could not have asked for more for my new husband and I... Every one of our guests are still commenting on the friendly, intimate atmosphere. Many are already planning on going back for meals.
Marcus and his team are great and friendly, nothing is too much trouble for them.. You couldn't have anyone better looking after your special occasion. Marcus is a fantastic Wedding planner. I felt confident that the day would be perfect and it was.... even the weather was on our side... beautiful snow covered gardens and sunshine all day....
Thanks guys for making our Wedding Day Perfect x

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dimple W, Owner at Dimple Well Lodge, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
What a lovely review! We are so happy you had a momentous occasaion. Everything went perfect including the weather - the perfect amount of snow dropped, the sun came out and the pictures were fantastic. Your guests certainly had a great time after nearly drinking us dry haha! Looking forward to seeing you all again soon, Kind Regards - Marcus and Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ossett, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

Fabulous service, lovely staff and excellent food. We all had a great Christmas Day here and would definitely come back again. We have 2 small children and they both had lots of fun making the most of the sweet selection that was on offer!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

I was quite specific in my requirements for Dad's 90th birthday party at Dimple Well but Marcus and his staff were so accommodating. After the initial reservation a number of amendments to the meal order were made and they were all dealt with with a smile. On the day of the party the room had been tastefully decorated with the balloons and banners requested. The food was excellent despite a power cut causing difficulty to Marcus earlier in the day.
I would thoroughly recommend Dimple Well for any functions you may wish to book

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

We had our wedding here. It was the most perfect wedding day we could have wished for. Everything went according to the plan, I can easly say that thanks to Marcus even better! The food was very good and decorations all arranged by Marcus in my chosen colour was fabulous in every single detail! He also arranged the florist for me and I could not believe how amazing, fresh and beautiful all flower decotations and bouquets looked like!! Cottage is absolutely gorgeous and romantic. All our guests were amaized with the venue and service and we must add that we had guest from England, Poland and Belgium!
Thank you Marcus for making our big day so special!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

me and my gf stayed for one night the manager was v pleasant and helpfull the rooms v clean and tidy if i was to nit pick room was abit small one of lamps didn't work and the bathroom was v small one problem was at night it could do with lighting up the outside better as it was v difficult to see clearly.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dimple Well Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dimple Well Lodge

Address: 35 The Green | Wakefield, Ossett, Wakefield WF5 8JX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Wakefield > Ossett
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Ossett
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dimple Well Lodge is a beautiful little hotel with 11 comfortable rooms. We pride ourselves on customer service and offering that little bit more. We are not just a typical hotel, we are very customer based and work closely with you to offer and tailor our services to suit your needs best. We serve traditional English Roast on a Sunday between 12-4 and currently run an Indian Restaurant Midweek and Weekend Evenings. We are an ideal venue for Weddings, Functions such as birthday parties and christenings and we will cater for anyones needs no matter how big or small. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Dimple Well Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dimple Well Hotel Ossett

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dimple Well Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.