We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay nothing special” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ghandi Spice

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Ghandi Spice
31 Bank St, Ossett, Wakefield WF5 8PS, England
01924 267329
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 29 restaurants in Ossett
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
yorkshire
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Okay nothing special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Food was average nothing special just okay. We ate early in the evening mid week so the restaurant was empty. After been seated the waiter went all around the restaurant spraying air freshener, not ideal the spray was so strong it was quite irritating and I had to wonder what he was trying to cover up, surely the smell of what is cooking is preferable to air freshener! We were seated close to the bar and he spent the entire evening stood feet away from us just staring at us, I found this quite uncomfortable.

We were actually intending to eat at the Massalla Lounge just around the corner but it was closed that evening hence the reason we ended up at Ghandi - have to say the food and service at Massalla is far superior.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

79% Recommend
    23
    11
    5
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Swindon, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A good curry”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Good food, good service. the staff were friendly and helkpful. Did not have to wait long between ordering and being served.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dewsbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Love it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Great food, staff, service and price. We have eaten in and have takeaways most weeks which when everyone around here is spolit for choice of other Indian's is something the staff should be proud of. Never had a poor meal and the delivery time on takeaway's has halved the last few times we have ordered. Keep it up

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west yorkshire
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Mediocre”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We visited the restaurant with friends - There were too many tables in the space - not enough room to get out of your seat without disturbing adjoining tables. We were all a little chilly but the lager was less than cool and also a little flat! The service was good but unfortunately the food was just okay - there are better restaurants within a couple of miles! All the dishes we ordered were varied but when served they all looked the same colour - (dansak=pathia=rogan josh!) - a variation of the same theme. Probably wouldnt go again!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A LITTLE GEM”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

We have eaten here on several occasions and have never been disappointed. This visit was no exception - the staff are so attentive, polite and professional. The food is of exceptional quality with a wide and varied menu. I would definitely recommend this restaurant.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ghandi Spice also viewed

 

Been to Ghandi Spice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ghandi Spice, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.