We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our 22nd Year Anniversary Lunch” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Surf Restaurant

The Surf Restaurant
369 Balm Beach Rd. W., Perkinsfield, Tiny, Ontario, Canada
705-361-1612
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Waterfront dining on Balm Beach
Wasaga Beach, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Our 22nd Year Anniversary Lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

We had a very enjoyable drive to Balm Beach along Tiny. Beaches Road when we stop at Balm Beach which is a little beach town on the west side of Georgian Bay. We sat on the patio overlooking the bay and the beach. Great view of the Georgian B ay. Very rustic with the old world charm of a beach side restaurant. Personnel were very friendly and the fish and chips were great. They use White Fish in a light beer batter. The atmosphere was great. Great little restaurant.
Will defiantly go back to this little gem. Not to mention the portions of food that I saw going to other tables were large.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    6
    12
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Windsor Ontario
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“great breakfasts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

love this place, we went for breakfast several times in our week vacation, prices are fantastic, service is fantastic and the outdoor patio view is spectacular.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Lunch Outing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Yesterday my sisters and I visited the Surf restaurant. It was a Monday, so a slower day. This restaurant sits right on Balm Beach. You can see the waves rolling in. You have the choice to sit inside or outside. The menu is varied with simple lunch items, to more seafood items. It was a quiet day to simply share conversation. The staff was friendly. Parking is limited. After the meal, we strolled along the beachfront. The surf is a perfect escape to feel like you are on vacation even if you are not. It is a great little place to pop in to for a cool one as well without a meal, The Bruschetta was a little on the toasty side, perhaps due to the fact that there was only one waitress. The restaurant was slow as it was off season. It is very full on weekends.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Ontario, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great View of Georgian Bay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

The interior of this restaurant was pleasant. We sat outside, overlooking Georgian Bay ... a spectacular view. There was only one server, so service was quite slow. Food was better than expected, however, the restroom are another story. They are outdated, needing a 'pick me up'. The smell or urine was overwhelming. The ladies' needed paper towels and my wife mentioned this to a waitress. My wife went in again to use the ladies' room and still no towels.
It'll be some time before we go back!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great little spot on the water!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

We really enjoyed our time at The Surf as a family last night. Restaurant was clean and decorated according to a nautical theme. Beautiful views of Georgian Bay from the patio side! Will definitely be back for a meal on the deck overlooking the water! Food was typical greasy spoon type food with more of a seafood flair. My wife had an amazing Greek salad that she raved about, I had a burger with soup. Food quality and taste was excellent! They have an extensive seasonal and kid's menu as well. Service was quick and friendly! I love these little spots in our new stomping grounds! We'll be back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Surf Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Surf Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Surf Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.