We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't order Room Service!!!!!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Maidstone - Sevenoaks

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Maidstone - Sevenoaks to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Maidstone - Sevenoaks
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   London Road, Wrotham Heath TN15 7RS, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Wrotham Heath
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Don't order Room Service!!!!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013 via mobile

Staying here for two nights, the first evening I had a meal in the restaurant which was very nice. Service good. Second night I decided to order a room service. Burger, Chips and a side salat, nothing difficult. The guy on the phone told me it can take up to an hour I was ok with that. After an hour still no meal. Called room service call got diverted to reception. The girl told me she will ask and I should stay on line. After 20 seconds I got diverted back to the room service number and nobody obviously picked up the phone again. So I called reception and the same girl promised me this time to go to kitchen and ask calling me back. After 15 minutes and no call I went to reception. The girl I was taking to over the phone told me she didn't have the time to speak to kitchen or calling me back. So I asked her what she thinks is so difficult about a burger and chips to prepare. She explained to me that they have been very busy with the restaurant. At the same time the course facilitator turned up and as her over heard my complain he told me they have been in the restaurant which hasn't been busy at all and they left as after 90 minutes they still were waiting for the main course. What a bad experience. How can you behind the reception and lying to your customers. There was efidence that the restaurant wasn't busy, she just made up the story. The hotel is not that big that you can't see from the reception what's going on..... My meal did arrive on my room eventually, was ok but I didn't enjoy it. More the pint of bitter i also ordered as I needed a drink to get me over this redicolus experience.
So try to avoid Room Service


  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInn_Maidstone, General Manager at Holiday Inn Maidstone - Sevenoaks, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to reiveiw the hotel. Please contact the hotel directly and speak to my operations manager who will be happy to discuss your comments further.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    43
    91
    47
    30
    13
See reviews for
65
65
7
45
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Orlando
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

My husband, grown daughter and myself stayed in a family room. We had booked a room with two single beds and a double bed, but when we arrived, they only had two double beds available. The room was huge, and also had a pull out couch. It had a small refrigerator as well. There was a Starbucks in the lobby which stayed open in the mornings, but closed later. The espresso machine was in a back room, so we worried what the latte would taste like, but it was good. The beds were decently comfortable and we slept better than we had in the holiday inn expresses we had stayed at (see my other reviews) The staff was friendly and helpful. The drive to Heathrow airport took a little over an hour when we left, but it was at 4 am, so it would probably take longer given worse traffic. The parking is free, and there is plenty of it. This hotel is just beautiful and in a beautiful location. I would stay here again, but you do need a car, as the transportation is limited. The roads around here are very narrow, and if you are used to driving in the U.S., can be scary.

Room Tip: Ask for a family room, they are huge!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInn_Maidstone, General Manager at Holiday Inn Maidstone - Sevenoaks, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Thank you for reviewing the hotel. I am so glad you had such a great stay and would stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

We had our wedding at the Holiday Inn Maidstone-Sevenoaks and the whole day was amazing. The staff were brilliant, so helpful and friendly. So many of our family and guests commented on how good they all were and how lovely the hotel was. It is a lovely venue for a wedding; nice outside areas for photo's, great food, impressive looking reception/bar/restaurant and the best staff you could wish your on the most important day of your life!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInn_Maidstone, General Manager at Holiday Inn Maidstone - Sevenoaks, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your wedding day with us at the hotel and all your lovely comments. I am so glad you had such an amazing day and all your friends and family had a great time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Stayed at hotel after a wedding. Checked in after wedding about 01:00 which was easy considering there were a number of us doing this. Everyone was in high spirits so off to the bar we went. There was only 1 member of staff on bar who was very moody and slow but everyone get their drink eventually. Room was standard, no complaints. Breakfast in the morning was buffet style which was brilliant and just what you need after a night drinking serving tea/coffee, a full fried breakfast and fruit/cereal. Checkout was easy. Hotel also has a large carpark right outside.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInn_Maidstone, General Manager at Holiday Inn Maidstone - Sevenoaks, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Thank you for reviewing the hotel. I was pleased to hear how easy your check in was and that you enjoyed your breakfast, which is one of the things we pride ourselves on as a company. Sincere apologies for the bar staff and the slow service we will be looking into this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Goods and bad points here.

Good is the Staff, they were all very polite (and no that pretend I’m paid to smile polite).
I enjoyed the restaurant and the food selection.
The location is also very good. The grounds lovely and free parking is ample and welcome.
Towels and bed linen clean and crisp

Bad are ..
Whilst the room was spacious, they and the hotel in general are on the verge of needing a refurb.
This comes into contrast when you look at the price of a room. Very steep !
Also Wi-Fi is not free, and VERY expensive (24 hours use cost me more than I pay in a month for my own package).

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInn_Maidstone, General Manager at Holiday Inn Maidstone - Sevenoaks, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Thank you for reviewing the hotel. It was great to hear how good you found the staff.
The hotel does have a redecoration plan which is continually in progress.
Unfortuantely the Wifi prices are set by our provider and are due to its speed and security. I do hope this will not deter you from returning to the hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KENT
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

I took my mum for a mothers day gift and we had a wonderful weekend. The check in was easy and the room was huge. We had a family room with 2 double beds it was comfy and there were choices of pillows! We went for a swim and a jacuzzi and it was nice and quiet... for a while just us, which was lovely. Normal extras like towels and a cossie spinner made it easy for hotel guests to enjoy. We used the garden outside the conservatory and enjoyed a starbucks chocolate and tea in a secluded sun trap. Dinner was nice with great service from all the waiting and bar staff. As i said before the bed was comfy and reasonably firm which is just what i like. Breakfast was great - huge choice and all great quality. Again check out was easy. We had a lovely relaxing quiet break for just £107 dinner bed and breakfast and £35 on top for drinks. I would definately go again with my husband or a girlie break. A comment for the hotel directly would be that u should bring back the in room paper version of the hotel details... it was such a pain having to find out information using the television such as we didnt know the pool provided towels/what time check out was/how much films were and ended up giving up and phoning reception. Something to read in the room would highlight your facilities and be a lot easier to gain information.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInn_Maidstone, General Manager at Holiday Inn Maidstone - Sevenoaks, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Thank you for your great review of the hotel. I'm glad you and your mum had a lovely weekend with us and enjoyed all of the facilities. Your comments about the information on the television have been noted.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013 via mobile

My wife, my three daughters and I stayed here for three days as a cheap base to visit London. Rome was very comfortable, staff were some of the most helpfulI have experienced and the food in the restaurant was lovely (kids ate free which was a bonus on our budget). Location enabled us to explore some fantastic hidden gems in countryside around hotel and also London. We drove in and parked in O2. We got all day travel cards for underground for just over £18 in total and had a fantastic day. Even kids (14, 10 & 7) looked forward to returning to hotel.
Only downside was , we chose our dates based on the pool being refurbished the week before, but we only got one swim on the Monday and pool closed afterwards. Spoiled it a wee bit for kids, but overall great hotel.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInn_Maidstone, General Manager at Holiday Inn Maidstone - Sevenoaks, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Thank you for your review. I am so glad you and your family had such a great stay. I do hope you enjoyed London and the other places you visited. Sincere aplogies that the pool had to be re closed during your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Maidstone - Sevenoaks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Maidstone - Sevenoaks

Address: London Road, Wrotham Heath TN15 7RS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Sevenoaks District > Wrotham Heath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Wrotham Heath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Maidstone - Sevenoaks 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The pretty Kent countryside welcomes you to Holiday Inn Maidstone-Sevenoaks, located just off junction 2A of the M26 motorway. Close to the M20 and the village of Wrotham Heath, 40-min drive from Channel Tunnel, 32 miles from London Gatwick Airport and only 2 miles from Borough Green train station. Visit Brands Hatch for motor-racing events in 15 minutes, Leeds Castle, London Golf Club, Hop Farm Family Park and King’s Hill Business Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, IHG, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, BookIt.com, BookingOdigeoWL, getaroom.com, Expedia, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Maidstone - Sevenoaks reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Maidstone - Sevenoaks Hotel Wrotham Heath
Holiday Inn Sevenoaks
Sevenoaks Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Maidstone - Sevenoaks Wrotham Heath, Sevenoaks District, Kent

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Maidstone - Sevenoaks, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.