We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bit further than advertised” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Maidstone - Sevenoaks

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Maidstone - Sevenoaks to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Holiday Inn Maidstone - Sevenoaks
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   London Road, Wrotham Heath TN15 7RS, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Wrotham Heath
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Bit further than advertised”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2011

Hotel is quite nice has swimming pool and gym all free to guests, warm welcome at reception.
Upgrade to room and i was on 2 nights for price of 1 breakfast extra.
It is in the hotel advertisement that it was 8 miles from Kimberly Clark where i was working but shortest route in dark foggy mornings in built up areas was 13.2. I did suggest that this should be put right put i was at first told it was only 5miles which represents 62.5% + on my journies.

Room Tip: Can walk to nearby beefeater pub or nice chinese restaraunt but it is unlit and footpath overgrown
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInn_Maidstone, Manager at Holiday Inn Maidstone - Sevenoaks, responded to this review, December 1, 2011
Thank you for your feedback. I will look into the issue you raised. Your comments are truly appreciated. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future. Thank you.

Kevin Pugh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    43
    91
    47
    30
    13
See reviews for
65
65
7
45
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2011 via mobile

In the middle of English countyside there is a nice holiday inn, smart an nice, informal and warm.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInn_Maidstone, Manager at Holiday Inn Maidstone - Sevenoaks, responded to this review, December 1, 2011
Thank you for your comments. I appreciate your feedback. I hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kevin Pugh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grantham
Top Contributor
190 reviews 190 reviews
88 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2011

And very little to add to that. Location is good. Meal was very passable, service very steady!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInn_Maidstone, Manager at Holiday Inn Maidstone - Sevenoaks, responded to this review, November 8, 2011
Thank you for your comments. I appreciate your feedback.

Kevin Pugh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2011

We have been staying at this Holiday in for several years now. When we first stayed we couldn't believe how good it was for a holiday inn. The rooms were smart and the service excellent. We stayed in 2009 and were shocked at the state of the place, particularly the carpets. We were told that it was due to flood damage. When we booked to go this year we assumed it would have been refurbished in 2 years (or at least carpets replaced). We were disappointed to see the carpets in the lounge area were still horrible and stained. The rooms were quite shabby and the bathroom was dirty. The service was terrible. The harassed barman kept getting our order wrong. He was grumpy and had clearly had enough of running the busy bar on his own.

The internet access was overpriced. On the plus side it was nice to get a smoking room.

I really hope this hotel improves as we used to love staying here.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInn_Maidstone, Manager at Holiday Inn Maidstone - Sevenoaks, responded to this review, October 18, 2011
Thank you for your valuable feedback regarding your stay at the Holiday Inn Maidstone-Sevenoaks. Please accept my apologies for the shortfall in service that you received. I will be very happy to meet up with you on your next visit and discuss the many improvements made. I am pleased that you enjoyed the smoking room.

Kevin Pugh
General Manager
Holiday Inn Maidstone-Sevenoaks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
277 reviews 277 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
194 helpful votes 194 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2011 via mobile

Typical holiday inn in terms of offering and found staff ver friendly and helpful. I was actually working nights and they accommodated my nocturnal habits exceedingly well. On the one occasion I did order room service I asked if there was any chance of something that was not on the menu and chef was more than happy to prepare. One minor niggle was the bed was a little too bouncy for my liking but that's just about personal preference. Overall I liked this place and would use again.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInn_Maidstone, Manager at Holiday Inn Maidstone - Sevenoaks, responded to this review, October 19, 2011
Thank you for the good feedback. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay.

Kevin Pugh
General Manager
Holiday Inn Maidstone-Sevenoaks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2011

I booked my wedding in the hotel and took advantage of their very reasonable packages. After looking at other hotels in the area and finding packages for around the £5k to £7k mark I was sold on the Holiday Inn after one visit due to how nice the hotel is. I have to admit that I was dubious as were a few family and friends. There is a good saying of "you get what you pay for" which did put some doubt in my mind that the service or food would lack due to the low price. The rooms for the reception and ceremony are bland and more geared towards meetings but once decorated were really like anywhere else.

I stayed the night before with a large group of family and friends, none of which had any problems booking in or with their stay. Food for breakfast was good and a standard buffet style. Both mornings staff were helpful and made sure we could all be seated together.

The wedding day itself was absolutely faultless. I had a person on hand all day who made sure everything was fine, he kept checking with me which was really nice. The wedding breakfast was lovely and food was a very good standard, staff even gave alternative desserts to guests who didn't like what they were given, the drinks reception was lovely, the evening buffet was really good and the DJ was brilliant and again kept checking that everything was to my satisfaction.

We were also given a suite for our wedding night which was massive and a really nice way to end our day.

I can't recommend this enough staff really were lovely and helpful in every respect. And bearing in mind I could've had the same package elsewhere for double/treble the price it's really amazing. The only one downside was the price of the drinks. Being the bride I didn't buy any all night but it has been commented on that they were very steep. In all fairness to the hotel they are a business and not a charity and have to make their money!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInn_Maidstone, Manager at Holiday Inn Maidstone - Sevenoaks, responded to this review, October 19, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to give us such valuable comments. I am so pleased that everything went well. Congratulations and all the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

I love this hotel. I have stayed on business and more recently with my family. The rooms are well equipped and spacious. Great showers, friendly staff in every department and they all go the extra mile...apart from the chefs. This is why Holiday Inn frustrates me. We booked a table for two and left the kids to fend for themselves with room service so my wife and I could have a meal together. The first time in months we had the chance to just have the two of us. As we had driven that day through the Champagne region of France, we decided to order a bottle of champagne. Fantastic. Well presented, well served. I had Chicken skewers with a hot Japanese sauce. Well no I did not as it turns out. I had 4 pieces of bland chicken on a stick with no sauce. The chef forgot it. we returned it and was offered an alternative. We chose something different which when served was nothing like the description on the menu. We asked to speak to the manager who in the end was very apologetic, discounted our meal but said he was struggling to get the chef to serve what was described on the menu. General Manager, get this sorted out. I will stay here again but I always seem to be disappointed with the Holiday Inn restaurants I visit. Its not just Sevenoaks, its Edinburgh, Wakefield, Brighton, they all lack this chance to serve great food. One day I will learn my lesson and eat at a local restaurant. Anyway, highly recommend this hotel as a hotel and you will love the staff.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInn_Maidstone, Manager at Holiday Inn Maidstone - Sevenoaks, responded to this review, October 19, 2011
Thank you for your comments. Glad you had a good stay at the hotel. On reading your comments, I was disappointed to learn that the food served to you was below standard. I apologise for this. I was pleased to see that once we were made of aware of the situation we responded quickly. I hope in some way that compensated for the poor experience. We take all complaints seriously and would like to assure you that measures have already been taken to ensure similar situations do not occur for other guests staying at the hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Maidstone - Sevenoaks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Maidstone - Sevenoaks

Address: London Road, Wrotham Heath TN15 7RS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Sevenoaks District > Wrotham Heath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Wrotham Heath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Maidstone - Sevenoaks 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The pretty Kent countryside welcomes you to Holiday Inn Maidstone-Sevenoaks, located just off junction 2A of the M26 motorway. Close to the M20 and the village of Wrotham Heath, 40-min drive from Channel Tunnel, 32 miles from London Gatwick Airport and only 2 miles from Borough Green train station. Visit Brands Hatch for motor-racing events in 15 minutes, Leeds Castle, London Golf Club, Hop Farm Family Park and King’s Hill Business Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, IHG, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Expedia, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Maidstone - Sevenoaks reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Maidstone - Sevenoaks Hotel Wrotham Heath
Holiday Inn Sevenoaks
Sevenoaks Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Maidstone - Sevenoaks Wrotham Heath, Sevenoaks District, Kent

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Maidstone - Sevenoaks, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.