We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Ming's a traditional Chinese restaurant"” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ming Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Ming Restaurant
London Road, Wrotham Heath TN15 7RX, England
01732 883427
Improve this listing
Price range: $50 - $119
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business
Dining options: Reservations, Takeout, Buffet
West Malling, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“"Ming's a traditional Chinese restaurant"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

I go to Ming's on a regular basis and I have a food allegy they always accommodate me really well and I have never had a allegic reaction there. There food is extremely good and I would definitely recommend it.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    28
    13
    10
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Sunday Buffet at the Ming”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

My wife and I used to eat here back in the 80's, so we thought we would celebrate our anniversary here and try their Sunday buffet, Not the biggest choice, but all the food was cooked really well and the flavours were very good. If I could make one suggestion it would be to label the food as my wife bit into some deep fried squid when she doesn't like seafood. The staff were attentive without being intrusive, and overall it was a pleasant dining experience and at £13.50 per person not to bad value. We will eat there again.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevenoaks
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Muck”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

The worst Chinese meal we have ever had. The ribs were as tough as old boots and deep fried, and they tasted odd, as if they were on the turn, as did the sliced pork. The duck was extra fatty and greasy. The whole supper was vile (well apart from the rice and the wine). The service was pretty mediocre. It was empty too. Definitely don't bother visiting. Not if you're used to eating quality Chinese food!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gravesend, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“birthday dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

friend took me here for my birthday. the food and service were very good. don't know about the cost. the décor was lovely with lovely music to boot. well worth a go

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“ming”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

Family of six adults two children. Booked a table for 1300hrs sunday02/03/14 Sunday buffet wife's Birthday
The food was nice what little we managed to scrap from the self service buffet there seemed to be a reluctance to replenish the hot food containers. What little was replenished seemed to be unpopular with the guests.
My advice to any would be dinner is 1get there early 1200hrs make sure you are at the front of the queue 2Do not buy alcohol as this is well expensive 3 early to park your car very small car park.. all things taken into consideration this was a very up market restaurant once .since ownership has changed it is worth avoidance with a barge pole.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ming Restaurant also viewed

Wrotham Heath, Sevenoaks District
Wrotham Heath, Sevenoaks District
 

Been to Ming Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ming Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.