We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good relaxing spot in Goa !” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Maria Paulo Guest House- Agonda

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Maria Paulo Guest House- Agonda to your Saves list
Maria Paulo Guest House- Agonda
near Church, Agonda Beach, Agonda 403702, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 15 Agonda B&B and Inns
New delhi
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Very good relaxing spot in Goa !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2011

We went with friends there to escape the Delhi madness,
and were very happy to find a calm spot, with a lovely family that was flexible and cooking succulent home meals and helping us with directions and buying Paos!
the beach is right in front and even during the full season its a quite calm spot for the ones who are trying to run away from Goa's craziness.
we really all recommend the place!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    18
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
8
20
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2011

Very good value for money. Simple stay but also very cheap. Not much more expensive than the huts on the beach, but much more comfortable.
Excellent breakfast and friendly staff.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katrineholm
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2010

We stayed at Maria Paulo for 3 nights and if you don't want to live in a hut, this is probably the best place to stay in Agonda. It is just 50 meters to the shoreline and they served the best breakfast we have had during our trip in India.
For 1200 rupees per night for a room with 3 beds it was definitely worth the money, although the rooms were of quite cheap standard.
I can also recommend the dolphin safari at Agonda which gave us a lot of dolphins.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2010

WE BEEN THERE FOR 3 WEEKS AND WE FELT SO WELCOMED -Henrique and Sophie are realy friendly and make the impossible to grant our requests -we become friends and if we go back we will stay there for sure -Before we left Henrique had arranged to provide internet access and he is in a process of building a bar-restaurant in front of the house -the rooms are spacious and with lovely views to the sea wish is meters a way-the food is great and prepared from scratch so allow some time ,its worth- they got a old dog "bichu" that will not pay any attention to you ...thats for sure hehehehh-
My visit to GOA was great because we found Maria Paulo --and i recommend it

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dubai
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2010

i stayed in Maria Paulo guest house and i enjoyed there some of staff are owner family member and are very friendly .the owner Mr Hendrick is so friendly he can make anything possible to make the guest happy i enjoyed the breakfast pancake which the owner prepared by himself Mr hendrick promised me that he will setup a good bar & restuarent which i can see on my next visit so i can enjoy more ?????

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2010

Maria Paulo Guest House backs right onto the beach and is just a stroll away from all your food options in Agonda (curry, curry, curry, seafood, pizza and an excellent bakery).
The house itself is divided into rooms for rent but we actually stayed in the detached room/small house out the back (has an A/C option). Our room was simple but clean, and a very good choice for our week stay since it was safe and removed from the rest of the house. (Just don't leave your shoes outside the front door otherwise the dogs hide them)
The owners are extremely friendly and I would definitely recommend eating breakfast upstairs on the balcony. Breakfast costs extra but I'm talking about $4-5 for fresh juice, coffee, porridge, toast and eggs, excellent value!!!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2010

Agonda beach is one of the quiet beach in Goa, it's amongst one of the virgin beaches in Goa, clean, not croded, and over there you can look for your stay at Maria Paulo Guest House. A beach nearby, good service, nice and clean rooms all together cool place to check in at.

Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Maria Paulo Guest House- Agonda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maria Paulo Guest House- Agonda

Address: near Church, Agonda Beach, Agonda 403702, India
Location: India > Goa > Agonda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Agonda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hendrick and Sofia and their lovely family are the perfect hosts. They are available whenever needed, yet allow privacy and comfort to prevail. The rooms are clean and have views of the sea from the balconies. Their small restaurant attached to the hotel produces a nice variety of homemade choices prepared with flavor and care. The fresh fish caught the same day was amazingly moist and flavorful. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Maria Paulo Guest House- Agonda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maria Paulo Guest House Agonda Beach Hotel Canacona
Maria Paulo Guest House- Agonda Goa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maria Paulo Guest House- Agonda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.