We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best property on Agonda beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Agonda Villas

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Agonda
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Agonda Villas
Agonda Beach Road, Agonda, India   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 32 Specialty lodging in Agonda
Bangalore, India
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Best property on Agonda beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We chose Agonda Villas after reviewing a lot of entries from tripadvisor. The booking process was easy and done via email. 50% room rent needs to be paid in advance using electronic transfer to a bank account.
Agonda is about 70 kms from the airport and it took around 2 hours journey to reach there.
The villa representatives Shaan and Mark gave us a warm welcome when we reached Agonda.

The villa as such is exactly as described in their website. It was a Balinese style villa and it was about 6-7 steps above ground level which gave a good view of the sea. The sliding door opened into a large bedroom, a mini bar has been setup in one corner. The bathroom was one of the largest that I have ever seen, and it had open roof. It was a remarkable experience to shower under the open roof. The bath area for Balinese villa is 3-4 steps below the level of the room, but we didn't find it inconvenient at all, if fact I thought the double level arrangement made it look more beautiful. A nice collection of books were also provided along with the villa which would come handy if you forgot to pack any.

The Villas have dedicated staff for 24 hours who acts as the security. Complimentary breakfast will be served at the villa if you like so. We preferred to have the breakfast at the restaurant after an early morning walk on the beach. The restaurant is around 5 min walk from the villa. The restaurant is a little expensive, we used to have food from other restaurants around the place, especially the one at 'cupid's heaven resort'.

While we were at Agonda, there was a power outage for almost a whole day for the whole Agonda area. Backup power at our villa was not ready at that time, but it didn't affect us much since we spent the most of the day at the beach. The villa staff managed to provide backup power connection for a couple of lights by the next day, but I think they should have made the backup power in place before we checked in. We also faced some problem with the wifi internet access, but the resort authorities got it fixed soon.

The Agonda beach is calm and not at all crowded. I believe the maximum number of people along the 3 km beach at any time was not more than 15-20. You could go for a dolphin trip on a local fishing boat, the villa management could arrange the trip for you. There are a few stray cattle whose droppings tend to make the beach dirty, but workers clean the beach regularly.
Stray dogs are another issue, usually they are not harmful but after dark they could pose real menace.

Overall it was a great vacation for me and my wife. I would recommend this place to anyone who is seeking to have a calm and lazy holiday in Goa.

Room Tip: Opt for a Balinese style villa, it will give a very clear view of the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AgondaVillas, Manager at Agonda Villas, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us.

Sometimes the power is a little erratic at the beginning of season as it gets turned off a lot to allow for new connection. I am sorry that for a while our back up power supply did not work.

We are so happy that you had a great time and we would love to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    38
    10
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
6
34
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Ko Phangan, Thailand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

I stayed in the Chinese style villa because we have a small child and it is on the ground level. Our back-packing days are done and we decided to splurge a little and stay for 3 nights. The villa is stunning and hand made by Keralan boat builders. We had a fridge well stocked with beers and wine in our villa which was hand to store juice from the local shop etc, The bed was larger and of greater comfort than that I have at home. Many thanks to the women that work there that made us feel like family and the security man who had a killer smile. See you soon

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AgondaVillas, Manager at Agonda Villas, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us and taking the time to write a review.

We are so happy that you had a great time and we would love to see you again.

Kind regards from us all at Agonda Villas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

I stayed 4 nights in this heavenly spot, spoiled by Carol and Archana, the best and nicest cleaner in the world. The rooms are spacious, even so the shower, which is bigger then the most bedrooms of other shacks. You have security guard 24 hours, WiFi and a private little garden. I prefered to stay in the chinese villas.
If you have a good budget, it is defenately the one and only place to stay in Agonda, a quite beach to leisure. And also the restaurant White Sand, where the agondavillas belong to, is fabolous.
Do I have to say more???
Juri, Switzerland

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AgondaVillas, Manager at Agonda Villas, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
It was a please to have you stay and I have passed on your thanks to the staff team.

Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us and taking the time to write a review.

We are so happy that you had a great time and we would love to see you again.

Kind regards from us all at Agonda Villas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

From first glance we knew this was going to be something quite different, as you approached the villas you were met by a beach garden. We decided to stay in the Chinese villa and walking up to it the excitment was like a child about to open a Christmas present.

The attention to detail of the beach garden in front and the villa itself was amazing. Everything has been carefully considered from the constuction of the villa right through to the ornate antique padlock on the front. Inside there's everything you could ever need including a fridge/mini bar.

The highlights are undoubtedly the beautiful views you can enjoy; whether you're lying in bed and looking out to the beach/ocean on your doorstep, relaxing on the sun loungers or watching the stars whilst using the outside bathroom. Might I say what a bathroom it is - the surealism of being outside never lost it charm.

We must admit we felt like the envy of all of Agonda as the quality of the villas shone in comparrison to the rest on the beach.

The staff were really attentive and pampered us during our stay, little things like breakfast being served on the porch just made this experience all the more special. At times I had to pinch myself as I couldn't quite take it all in, experiences like these come along often and I know I will always treasure the memories here.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AgondaVillas, Manager at Agonda Villas, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Thank you for such a kind and heart felt review.

We love to watch the smiles of new guests as they see the villas for the first time.

We are so happy that you had a great time and we would love to see you again.

Kind regards from us all at Agonda Villas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2012

This place is heaven!! we stayed for 4 nights after a long journey across North India. It was a very welcome respite from the chaos and noise of the big cities. We were welcomed by the friendly staff who run the villas and from then on until we left nothing was too much trouble. The villas are definitely a step up from the rather rudimentary beach huts found along Agonda beach but I guess that is also reflected in the price. Bit Worth every rupee!! The bathroom is lovely - enjoyed showering under the stars - and the bed is huge and immensely comfortable. Favourite part of the day was opening up the sliding front doors them lying back inbed waiting for Goa to wake up. The there was breakfast!!! The paratha and masala omlettes were soooo good I ordered them every morning. I would also suggest you wander down to the main Agonda complex down the beach for dinner. The manager of the complex is very helpful and the food at the restaurant was some of he best we had in India. It is in a lovely garden setting overlooking the beach. Highly recommend botht he villas and the restaurant.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AgondaVillas, Manager at Agonda Villas, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Paradise just requires a peaceful environment, a stunning view with comfort so that you can relax and enjoy, not to mention the natural smiles of our staff.

Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us and taking the time to write a review.

We are so happy that you had a great time and we would love to see you again.

Kind regards from us all at Agonda Villas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012

My wife and I stayed in the Balinese Villa for 4 nights and we loved the villa and Agonda beach as a whole.

First off, the Balinese Villa is raised so you get more privacy. At night, we felt safe enough to sleep with the sliding doors open. That allowed us to sleep with the standing fan on low and wake up to the sight of the ocean. Two negatives about our sleep was that the ceiling fan only has one speed (very high) and in the early morning, it gets cold enough to warrant heavier blankets. We woke up every morning very cold. If they want to position themselves as the nicest place in Agonda, they should invest in heavier blankets. But that's a small quibble really. We slept with the mosquito net and each room also has a plug in repellent. We also used a coil and put it on our balcony. We did not get bit, even with the door wide open.

I guess another negative is the bathroom being downstairs, which kind of sucks when you wake up in the middle of the night to pee. When we checked in we found a rat trap in our bathroom (lovely!) but they removed it the next day when they cleaned our room. One night, a cat somehow got into our bathroom and ran up the steps and out the door. It was pretty funny.

The bed itself is huge. I think it's a king size. There is a nice changing area. The room is nicely decorated and feels very luxurious. The room includes two fans (no AC but not needed), a lockable cupboard, and real big plus - a mini fridge. The fridge is well stocked and the girls bring you two bottles of water everyday. The alcohol is the same price as the White Sands resort (about a 5 min walk away). Large Kingfishers are only 70 rupees (only 5 more than at the wine shop down the road).

The bathroom is huge and really amazing. Except for the first day when our hot water did not even turn on, we had hot water everyday. That pleased my wife, but honestly, if you're baking in the sun the whole day, the last thing you need is hot water against your skin. While the bathrooms have hand towels (a rarity in India) and pump handsoap (also a rarity), the villas do not come with shower soap or shampoo. For the price we paid, we expected that every room would come with some fancy shmancy soap, shampoo, and body lotion like in the hotels. For the price they charge, those toiletries should really be included.

We loved the balcony but we mostly spent our time on the loungers. We had the security men move our loungers out to the beach everyday so we could be in the sun and close to the water. If you prefer that, they will move the loungers for you. Agonda beach is very clean, with nice warm water, good waves, no hawkers, and of course random cows. There are plenty of dogs but they are harmless. Almost everyday, a dog would come over to us and sleep under our lounger - and we would barely notice the dog after he/she settled in.

Service is very good. The girls bring you breakfast (included) and a paper everyday. They will also clean your room and give you new towels everyday. We appreciated the guard but Agonda always felt safe anyway. Note that the girls however leave at 6pm so if you're hankering for tea any later than that, you're out of luck. That's why a tea/coffee maker would be a good idea. On Valentines Day, they brought us roses :)

Overall, we really liked our stay at the Agonda Villas and did not at all want to leave. It's expensive, but worth it if you are willing to splurge.

Room Tip: If you don't mind the steps, go for the Balinese Villa. Specifically, ask for the one that's...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AgondaVillas, Manager at Agonda Villas, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us and taking the time to write a review.

We are so happy that you had a great time and we would love to see you again. Following your stay the fan control was fixed and we have taken your advice and provide heavy blankets.

Kind regards from us all at Agonda Villas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

our balinese villa was romantic, with the best sunset-view... few steps from the bed to the waves... everything nicely done and clean.
minibar with beer, water, softdrinks for average prices (kingfisher for 50inr)
normally my place to stay is patnem, but agonda was also really nice... especially if you want to have it extra-quiet and peaceful.
many nice restaurants on the beach. highly recommended is the white sands-restaurant which belongs to the villas and the green valley at rama beach resort (southend of the beach).
the 2 women who did our breakfast and brought it on our terrace, cleaned the rooms and everything, were two angels. we liked them SO much. i had a scooter accident and they have been so caring and loving... thank you for everything... hope to see u next year.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AgondaVillas, Manager at Agonda Villas, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us and taking the time to write a review.

I will pass on your thanks to the staff and thank them myself.

We are so happy that you had a great time and we would love to see you again.

Kind regards and all the best from us all at Agonda Villas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Agonda Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agonda Villas

Address: Agonda Beach Road, Agonda, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Goa > Agonda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 32 Specialty lodging in Agonda
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Agonda Villas in South Goa. Agonda Villas are bringing a touch of luxury to unspoilt Agonda with 5 boutique sea-facing villas. Beautifully designed with superb attention to detail, the villas are set in unrivaled private locations looking directly over the pristine white sand of Agonda beach and the Arabian ocean. There are 3 "Luxury" villas, two of them built in Balinese style and the other in Chinese, the villas are chic and spacious with a beautifully furnished bedroom, dressing room, and semi open-air bathroom, for the magical experience of showering under the stars. The unique Chinese style villa on ground level, handcrafted from bamboo by Keralan house boat carpenters. Redefining luxury in Goa we have 2 new "Grand Luxury" villas. These villas offer an even more spacious interior for shear indulgence. We have designed these villas to be a lavish environment for 2 people but there is sufficient space should you choose to bring your children. Guests have their own shaded sun loungers on an exclusive stretch of sand at the front of the properties. Enjoy food and drinks to be served to your veranda from our nearby cottage restaurant. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Agonda Villas Goa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Agonda Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Agonda Villas to your Saves list