We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heavenly - a unique boutique beach hotel experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dunhill Beach Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Agonda
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dunhill Beach Resort
Save
You added Dunhill Beach Resort to your Saves list
Agonda Beach Road, Agonda 403702, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Agonda
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Barcelona, Spain
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Heavenly - a unique boutique beach hotel experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012 via mobile

What a spot! Agonda Beach is like a little strip of heaven. And Dunhill is the crown jewel. Unlike any of the other beach hut accommodation, this place takes things to a whole new level. Designed like a mini luxury hotel room, and built from wood and glass, this place will be one of the more unique experiences of your life!

This is a new niche "hotel" experience! We really take our hat off to them!

Owner Rahul is a great guy, loved chatting to him! And restaurant is wonderful! Divine food!

Location: situated in the heart of the Agonda beach strip. Agonda is a great beach to choose rather than Palolem if you are looking for serenity, tranquility and natural beauty. 15 minute scooter ride from Palolem, we think this is the spot to stay in South Goa!!!!

Tip: unless u get a front row hut facing the sea, its not worth it. Only 3 beachview rooms so make sure you book early! The whole point of this place is the way the bed and glass windows are designed to face the sea. The value is in the view!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    39
    8
    3
    2
See reviews for
28
56
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

We were a group of three eating here and because of so many good reviews perhaps my expectations were too high. Two of us ended up leaving the majority of our food, one had a delicious meal.

First the good, one of us had a Goan spied chicken dish from the tandoor, it was delicious, succulent chicken and fantastic spicing.

The non-Indian options were much less appealing. One person had chicken satay. The chicken was of great quality and quantity, portions are massive at Dunhill. It was nicely cooked on bamboo skewers but served under a sea of sweet peanut sauce on a king sized bed of cold rice. The sauce was straigh from the peanut butter jar jazzed up a bit with some onion and a little chilli but the overwhelming flavour was that of sweetness and there was just too much of it. Scraping it off the chicken was a chore and ultimately an appetite spoiler. However if you adore sweet peanut sauce it would be a winner.

Worse were the Mediterranean crepes which I had. The menu promised a medley of Mediterranean vegetables with feta in a light crispy crepe or words to that effect. What turned up on my plate was a stodgy slab of insipid looking cooked batter. The crepe was very thick, tasted of raw flour and had no seasoning and was topped by some stretchy mozzarella type of cheese which was also flavourless. The whole package, there were two of them, had been filled with vegetables and looked as though it had been cooked on a skillet so the bottom was blackened. The filling was a lightly sauteed mix of julienned vegetables lacking either seasoning or the promised feta. As the crepe was inedible these meager vegetables scraped from the doughy inside constituted my meal.

On to desert to at least fill up, a banana split offered industrial pink ice cream which has it's place, squirty cream and varous commercilal sauces and sprinkles. Not sophisticated but sweet and cold and not bad at all. Again I came out the worst here and ordered a banoffee pie to take the edge of my hunger. The condensed milk in it had not been cooked long enough to turn it into caramel but was instead tooth achingly sweet and unpalatably slimy. The pastry casing was without either salt, sugar or shortening so was effectively a piece of cardboard. The bananas on top would have been good if it hadn't been for the chemical tasting sauce that had been dribbled all over it.

Service was OK, nothing to complain about, the outdoor kitchen area was spotlessly clean and the venue was nice enough. I'd gone, as a Western expat resident in India, looking for an International meal. I left hungry and thinking that if I went back I would order something from the Indian menu but if I wanted that I could get it in so many other places along the beach.

Looking for the positive here, it was the start of the season and maybe the start of a new menu which might improve with time. There were fabulous teak, glass and tile huts being built alongside which knock the socks off any other accommodation on the beach and are part of the Dunhill property. Here's hoping that things improve in the season ahead and Dunhill can live up to the reputation it has earned in previous years.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

Went for dinner here in Nov 2012 and one of the more posher places to eat on the beach and well worth a visit. Food was very good and staff were very helpful and the restaurant and huts were beautiful and made to a very high standard and worth staying in if you want a more up market (and more expensive) place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunny Sussex
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Visited for food November 2012 and an extremely helpful staff member (Beni~please forgive spelling!) showed us partly built huts. I say huts, these are teak framed rooms with tiled rooves. They had hot and cold showers and beautifully ornate brass (looking) sinks. Although not quite finished they weren't far off. The rooms will far surpass it's nearest competition (H20 ~ I stayed in 2011) and I think may even be a bit cheaper. H20 for me has taken it's eye off the ball and Dunhill looks to be the next top place.
I also ate there (party of four) and the food quality was superb. I had stuffed prawn rolls to start with a "swoosh" of a sauce. Really top quality cooking (and presentation) served by staff that seemed generally pleased to help. Beni even drew maps for us on napkins and suggested places to visit. The kitchen and staff can be seen from the seating area and huge stainless steel work surfaces and the fact they can be seen, suggests considerable professionalism and pride in their cooking. Not over priced and excellent value for money. (Sorry H20) you have had your day).

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Agonda is one of the secluded beaches in Goa for complete relaxation and we found the Dunhill property to be totally complementary to the set-up. A nice resort, with close proximity to the beach makes it a good choice. It has an excellent restaurant facing the sea and courteous staff to present a hassle-free stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

I have been to Agonda almost 5 times in the past 7 years now.
Dunhill is one of the places where you can go with your family.

Pros: 1> Reasonable price 2> Very good restaurant 3> Location is 30 meters from the sea which is Ok 4> Very Very very clean toilets and this is what I liked the most.

Cons: 1> Room cleaning is done only on alternate days. 2> Lot of mosquitoes and ants at night and hence it is advisable to opt for A/C room 3> Hot water is available only between 9 to 5

Overall very nice place if you don't need to be bang on the beach.

Room Tip: Go for Airconditioned rooms. Believe me they are worth the extra 1000 bucks a day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DunhillBeachResort, Manager at Dunhill Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you for appreciating our Resort and our Restaurant. We endeavor to make our Guests as comfortable as possible on Agonda which is a secluded beach with dense forest/foilage at the back. We have a challenging task of keeping the property/garden green and natural and at the same time making sure our guests are not at any discomfort.
We have noted your request and Cons and have immediately put the House Keeping staff to ensure that 'Hot Water ' is available 24 hours (we have solar heated facility) .
We spray mosquito repellent in our Garden periodically and in the evening also light a Anti Mosquito incense and Coil due to the thick forest area in the back side of the property.
Best regards
The Dunhill Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, Maharashtra, India
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Agonda is my favourite beach in Goa and the Dunhill Beach resort is THE place to stay in Agonda. A great ambiance, mouth watering food and just a stone's throw away from the beach, this hotel is a charming family run property that is second to none in cleanliness and hospitality. While I haven't been there in a while, I pray that old man Menino has recovered completely from his open heart surgery and is doing well.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dunhill Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunhill Beach Resort

Address: Agonda Beach Road, Agonda 403702, India
Location: India > Goa > Agonda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Agonda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the Pristine Agonda Beach, Dunhill Beach Resort is the perfect getaway for the quiet traveller who is looking to spend quality time in Goa. Dunhill rooms are comfortable and neatly appointed. Unpretentious and spotlessly clean. Single, Double, Twin bedded, air conditioned or non AC. All rooms have an en suite shower and bath, and a sit-out area. Our property is located amongst swaying coconut trees and plants. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Dunhill Beach Hotel Agonda
Dunhill Beach Resort Agonda, Goa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dunhill Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.